July 2021 Buck Moon and camera

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

While the official July 2021 Full "Buck" Moon was last night, I had clouds. Lucky for me, it was still almost full tonight. @traciyork thanks for the good luck, it worked, I woke up at 3:30am, (not intended) looked out window, decided to take my shots, and then it went behind clouds 30 min later.

KMoon-921-2021-07-25.jpg

I've been aching to get the new camera out again for another moon shot, and tonight was my night.

KMoon-921-2021-07-25-Heavy-Crop.jpg
This is a tighter crop in Photoshop, same picture as the first and third.

KMoon-921-2021-07-25-OriSize.jpg
This was the original uncropped shot, the other two were Light crop and Heavy crop. That's one of the things I love about this camera, the original Raw file was 60MB, which allows me to do a pretty heavy crop without losing detail and still having a quality image.

For you other photo geeks out there, here is my setup for this shot.
This was at F14 1/60 iso125 and a -3step adjustment to keep the bright spots from blowing out the detail.
Sony A7R4, with 200-600mm lens + 2x TeleConverter, giving an effective 1200mm lens. Vantage tripod with swivel ball head (love that swivel ball and quick trigger to adjust). I also have a micro-adjust on the top it allows me to make micro-adjustments left-right and up-down that really helps center shots. @galenkp I also use this at the range on my spotting scopes, it's awesome for bringing targets into view.

I learned a bit from my last shooting, and this one went a little more smooth. I used manual focus this time instead of auto, and also shot off a tripod with a remote trigger mechanism.
Here's what the setup looks like:

PXL_20210725_101721161.jpg

A little closer view:
PXL_20210725_101645622.jpg

Here's the remote, it's pretty handy. It has a remote shutter button, a 2 second timer button, and can even work the video (I haven't tried that yet).
PXL_20210725_102014640.jpg

And here's the top of the camera, with the stop adjustment knob on the far right. It's very handy, I often shoot my regular shots at -1 or -2 stops. This helps keep the meter from blowing out highlights, and then I can always easily adjust to lighten things up a bit in PS if needed.

PXL_20210725_111207843.jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This is just jaw-dropping! Amazing shot. And that camera... 😲

Thank you. Been on my list for a long time. Both the pic and the camera!

Amazing setup! Love youre shots, keep it up!
!BEER 🍻
My bigest lens is a 300mm so fare away hahha I uave to crop so much for shots like this 🍀

Posted using Dapplr

Great shots and a great set up Kris...You're trying hard to get me to spend my hard-earned money aren't you! 😄

Hehe, we can join each other in our self-induced poorness! Will probably be the last camera I'll ever buy, and wanted it to be a nice one! (Although I am drooling over the new Sony A1 that came out a month ago.) Drone first!

You will love the drone!

Posted using Dapplr

Yes, I've got the drone, and do love it! My comment was a dig at @galenkp who keeps postponing his acquisition! I've been prodding him for months now lol.

She's a beauty man, and I'm looking forward to what you'll produce with it.


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow superb Snaps and totally worth waking up :))

Thanks, and Yes, it was! But I may have a nap later.


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

No wonder why you get great shots.. a cheater lens 🤣

Good to see the reason of my poor sleep in such a detail :) Very impressive captures.

Thanks, it shines right into our window at certain times as well. Even when it's not shining, I find that I don't sleep well under full moons. Maybe the tidal pull throws my brain fluids out of whack, lol.

Same here. Cannot sleep (well) during the full moon, no matter if it shines into my room or not. Noticed this thing a couple of years ago already and after doing a little research on it, I figured there are actually many people with the same issue all over the world... Quite creepy (yet fascinating) lunar phase :)

YAY! So glad you were able to give that awesome camera a shot (pun intended) with the full moon, and talk about a score!

Speaking of your new toy...

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I missed this post! :((

Sorry about that. I wandered over and saw you had posted, but, what a great post! You really nailed this one and what luck to wake up to it. The manual focus was the thing I found the most helpful and it was someone on here that suggested it when I was photographing the eclipse a few years back. I have yet to try the remote, but, everyone says it is best to avoid shaking.

Great shots and the blown-up detail is amazing! I look forward to more of these shots! :)

Have a great Sunday. How is the move/sale/packing going?

Thanks, it was one of those satisfying moments when I knew I had it. btw, a remote is nice for convenience, but most cameras also have a self-timer that can be used to allow the camera to settle before the shutter goes off.

Still packing, been nice I suppose to do a little at a time. Feels good to purge a LOT of the "stuff" we accumulated and let go of some things, but getting tired of having everything boxed up or in plastic storage crates and walking around them. Really looking forward to getting the move and drive over with. Looking forward to the fun part of exploring and making the new place ours. T-minus two weeks now, everything still on track, just waiting for appraisals to come back on both sides for final loan approvals, and then closings.

Yes, the last few are the hardest, but, soon this will be behind you. I know you are going to love it, once you get over the fact that you left the beauty of Colorado! :)) It is going to be amazing and I envy you the thrill of the exploration. Life is good.

Good luck, moving forward! (and thanks for the info on the remote!)

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking