BEHIND THE SCENES – MY TINY KITCHEN & FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Friends,

I hope you are having great week so far!

I need break from recipes and instead I decided to share something unconventional. Many of you know me as a recipe creator and photographer. Recently I have also started making videos, on my son in law’s encouragement. To be honest with you, I was reluctant to get into making videos, because of my limited situation, nevertheless I did manage despite that.

IMG_1783.jpg

As you can see based on my photos, I have very tiny kitchen without regular stove and oven. Besides that, I have very limited counter space and the lighting casts shadow. I don’t have practically any daylight, because I live in the basement and since I am on disability pension, that’s all I can afford. Although I am still very lucky, because the neighborhood here is very nice and quiet. Also, since I moved here seven years ago, the housing prices increased enormously and today I could not find a place like this for the same price.

IMG_1782.jpg

I have large toaster oven, which I got from my daughter for Christmas. The previous one broke after two years, but that's another story!

IMG_1800 (2).jpg

Over here is my induction cooktop, which is very good quality and it is provided by my landlord. It is also very light so it's easy to move away before making video and photoshoot. I also have to move the dish rack to free my Ikea butcher block to be converted to a studio.

IMG_1795.jpg

IMG_1807.jpg

As you can see, the dish rack goes here for now.

IMG_1802.jpg

The next step is to place a surface I use for filming videos. It is a waterproof photo bacround that is attached to cork bullpen board. If you like, you can check these PHOTO BACKGROUNDS on Amazon.

IMG_1812.jpg

However, it doesn't look as good as the real thing, therefore, I use wooden planks I got from a neighbor few years back. I need new and lighter ones, but I can't find the right shade. My son in law had many from old fences that he demolished, but I didn't like any of them. The other problem is that I have only three and they are bending. The fourth one is a lot shorter. Oh well.

IMG_1813.jpg

And here is my lighting! One of the most important equipment when you don't have enough daylight. On the back is another photography background attached to cardboard. I collected most of these accessories and equipment over the years, and I do not splurge, but I am in debt anyway! I thought maybe I can turn this hobby into business, but unfortunately, so far I spend more than I make.

IMG_1817.jpg

Eventough, sometimes I get lucky! For example, my son in law found this lighting on the curb. The only thing what was wrong with it was false cord, but he was able to replace it. Yeah he is very handy. This is also my favorite lighting and if you can afford it, I highly recommend. They are many other brands like this on Amazon, however, this one is FODOTO and I found it for you online.

IMG_1820.jpg

One of my favorite things about food photography is creating the illusion of table setting. As I mentioned before, I have collected accessories over the years, some purchased online, some in second hand or discount stores. Few are given to me by my sister from Slovakia, which is passed to me by my grandmother. The flowers are dry hydrangea from our garden.

IMG_1821.jpg

The other favorite of mine is editing. I have couple examples for you to see the difference. The first photo is even worse then I usually take, because I was standing too far and I didn't have all the light on. I have learn to use https://ipiccy.com/ which is a free editor online. I highly recommend, especially if you cannot afford Photoshop.

COLAGE.jpg

One more example, which is the FLAT VIEW

2.jpg

At last, I had to take photo of my all equipment with my mobile, including my camera the CANON EOS Rebel T5 that I have set on auto, RAW image format. I tried manual settings, but it was disaster so I gave up! Also, I have only standard 18 to 55mm lens, which is not enough. Maybe someday I will be able to get additional lens, or lenses.

20220110.jpg

20220110 (1).jpg

When I am filming video, sometimes I am standing on the other side and I do not use the bacround. Otherwise, the setting is practically same. Well, I work with different surface, as I showed you earlier.

This is my latest video, if you haven't seen one before, it helps you to see the result. Not to forget, videos require extensive editing as well, although quite different. For that, I am using Adobe Premiere Pro except the title is done on Windows Video Editor. I haven't mastered the PRO completely yet and I did not want learn it at all, lol. I wanted something easier, but my son in law insisted and downloaded to my computer. He did helped me a lot with the basics too, because otherwise I would never get it. I was so frustrated at the begging, but I must admit, I enjoy it now.

VEGAN CHARCUTERIE BOARD

Well, I guess, this is all for now. Thank you so much for visiting and if you have any questions or suggestions I would be happy to hear them.

I wish you a wonderful week 💖😍💖

1.png

Sort:  

This was a very unconventional post Lena! And I l.o.v.e.d it! You really are creative. And can make something magnificent from the basics. And in such a small space. Hats off to you sweet lady

Awwwwwwwwwww many thanks Tracy! I am happy you think so 💖🙏💖

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10

Thank you so much 💖🙏💖

You're welcome @lenasveganliving, that's well deserved! Thanks for your everyday implication on this platform 😊🌹

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much 💖🙏💖

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much 💖🙏💖

Love your kitchen mine unfortunately it's so small

Smaller than mine? Thank you so much Dear @noemilunastorta 💖🙏💖

You have such a beautiful kitchen 🥺😍

Thank you so much @lifewithera 💖🙏💖

You're very talented! Always loved your photographs, even back from steemit days!
greetings from Romania :)

Awwwwwwwwwww, that is so nice to hear Dear @missdeli. I truly appreciate it. Thank you so much 💖🙏💖

I just said the truth! you really are passionate about what you're doing and that we all can see through your work! :)

greetings from Romania

You are very sweet @missdeli. I really speciate it 💖🙏💖

You are an absolute pro and artist. Everything you do is so pretty. I think your kitchen is really nice. One time we moved to a new small apartment the size of a bus but it was newly renovated and had no appliances. We got an old cheap fridge and a single burner for cooking. We lived there for a year and never bought a stove. I admire you for making so many amazing dishes with that limitation. My oven is broken. Can you bake with a toaster oven?
Thanks for the wonderful tour.

Oh my goodness! Far from pro, but thank you you so much Dear @carolynstahl. I truly appreciate your compliment.

And yes, you can bake in toaster oven, but I recommend buying a this large one. The smaller ones tend to burn things on the outside and not bake it inside. Especial cakes. If you just wanna bake cookies, then small one is enough. However if you decide to buy one, you can always send me a link and I can take a look before you make a purchase.

Thanks if my boss finally pays us, haha I will take a look. Much appreciated.

You are most welcome Carolyn, but what you mean if?

He is always late.

I am sorry you have to deal with that, but I hope he pays you eventually!

Thank you for sharing, that's very professional, I still have a lot to learn and by the way, you have a very nice kitchen😍

Thank you so much @proanima, you are too kind 💖🙏💖

Wow.. great kitchen with great chef!
Dear Lena, thank you for sharing of your lovely kitchen especially the photography table and set up.

Awwwwwwwwww, thank you so much Dear @cherryng! Your compliment means a lot! I truly appreciate it 💖🙏💖