Why I share my art on Hive

Art is in the eye of the beholder says a German proverb. I don't know if the translation of the proverb fits. My English is too bad for that. Rarely have I heard such bullshit. Art is not in the eye of the beholder. Art is in the soul of the artist! So first of all I am an artist for myself. It is first and foremost a question of what I do satisfying me. I don't have to make a name for myself with my art. I have no competition. I don't have to be better than other artists, other light painters. With very few exceptions, I am on friendly terms with most light painters. The others are mostly consumed by envy and resentment and probably think that I am harmful to their business. For whatever reason.

Kunst liegt im Auge des Betrachters sagt ein deutsches Sprichwort. Selten habe ich einen derartigen Bullshit gehört. Kunst liegt nicht im Auge des Betrachters. Kunst liegt in der Seele des Künstlers! Ich bin also erst einmal Künstler für mich selbst. Es geht in ersten Linie darum, dass mich befriedigt was ich tue. Ich muss mich mit meiner Kunst nicht profilieren. Ich habe keine Konkurenz. Ich muss nicht besser sein als andere Künstler, andere Light Painter. Bis auf sehr wenige Ausnahmen bin ich mit den meisten Light Paintern in Freundschaft verbunden. Die anderen sind meist zerfressen von Neid und Missgunst und meinen vermutlich, dass ich für ihre Geschäfte schädlich bin. Warum auch immer.

001_9804_v2.jpg

A light painting is good if I like it. Whether the picture has thousands of likes on Instagram or Facebook is ultimately completely irrelevant, at the latest when the important followers are bought or come from robots. For this reason, I deleted my Instagram account a few years ago. This stupid fuss was just getting on my nerves. I haven't been active on Facebook for a few months now. I have (hopefully) deleted all my posts. Unfortunately, Mr. Zuckerberg can't make any more money with my pictures. I could have just deleted my account there too, but for one thing, there are some very friendly people on there that I can't reach any other way, and then I have two groups there that I still have to give to someone else.

But of course, as an artist, I need applause. Otherwise, what kind of artist would I be? But what is important for me is only real applause, real enthusiasm for my art. And I've been getting this applause here at Hive for a few months now. In the first few days I was speechless at how much feedback I got immediately. Hardly anyone here knew me, and light painting is not exactly the most popular art in the world. A lot of people can't imagine that you can create such pictures with moving light in front of the camera and dismiss it as "computer tinkering" that is not worth paying attention to.

Ein Light Painting ist gut wenn es mir gefällt. Ob das Bild bei Instagram oder Facebook tausende Likes hat ist letztendlich völlig bedeutungslos, spätestens wenn die wichtigen Follower gekauft sind oder von Robotern stammen. Aus diesem Grund habe ich meinen Instagram Account vor einigen Jahren gelöscht. Dieses bescheuerte Getue ging mir nur noch auf den Sack. Beit Facebook bin ich seit einigen Monaten nicht mehr aktiv. Ich habe (hoffentlich) alle meine Beiträge gelöscht. Mr. Zuckerberg kann mit meinen Bildern leider kein Geld mehr verdienen. Ich hätte auch dort einfach meinen Account löschen können, aber zum Einen sind dort einige sehr freundliche Menschen unterwegs, die ich auf anderem Wege nicht erreichen kann und dann habe ich dort zwei Gruppen, die ich noch an jemand anders abgeben muss.

Aber natürlich brauche ich als Künstler Applaus. Was wäre ich sonst auch für ein Künstler? Wichtig ist allerdings für mich nur echter Applaus, echte Begeisterung für meine Kunst. Und diesen Applaus hole ich mir seit einigen Monaten hier bei Hive. In den ersten Tagen war ich sprachlos wieviel Feedback ich sofort bekam. Mich kannte hier doch kaum jemand, und Light Painting ist jetzt auch nicht gerade die populärste Kunst der Welt. Sehr viele Menschen können sich überhaupt nicht vorstellen, dass man solche Bilder mit bewegtem Licht vor der Kamera erstellen kann und tun das als nicht beachtenswertes "Computer Gebastel" ab.

002_2454_v2.jpg

Of course I am happy to earn money "on the side" by sharing my art and knowledge here. And that is also quite useful for me. Due to the mass psychosis called "Covid 19", I have not been able to do workshops for two years. Besides the financial losses, however, it hurts me much more not to be able to share my knowledge with the interested participants of my workshops. In a way, I can compensate for this here. There are many people here for whom my contributions are helpful and serve as inspiration. And above all, I get feedback from them here. On Facebook, my link to my homepage is clicked 300 times and the knowledge imparted is immediately absorbed, but the post only has 20 likes and 3 comments. It gets to the point where a light painter in an interview can no longer remember from whom he adapted the tool or technique. I don't expect eternal gratitude and eloquent tributes, but a little respet for my work would be good for karma. So not for mine, but for the forgetful one's. And I'm almost certain that such colleagues also read this without being registered here and contributing to this network themselves.

One of the most important aspects for me is to increase the reach and acceptance of the special art form of light painting. There are so many tanlent light painters in the world who present many very impressive works of art. Most of the time, however, the recognition for them is limited because the colleagues don't rattle loudly all day long and permanently emphasise their own magnificence but simply dedicate themselves to their art and not to marketing.

Natürlich bin ich glücklich darüber "nebenbei" Geld damit zu verdienen, dass ich meine Kunst und mein Wissen hier teile. Und das ist auch ganz nützlich für mich. Aufgrund der Massenpsychose namen "Covid 19" kann ich seit zwei Jahren keine Workshops machen. Neben den finanziellen Einbußen schmerzt mich allerdings viel mehr nicht mein Wissen mit den interessierten Teilnehmern meiner Workshops teilen zu können. In gewisser Weise kann ich das hier kompensieren. Hier gibt viele es Menschen, für die meine Beiträge hilfreich sind und als Inspiration dienen. Und vor Allem bekomme ich hier Rückmeldungen von ihnen. Bei Facebook wird dann zwar mein Link auf meine Homepage 300 Mal geklickt und das vermittelte Wissen sofort absorbiert, aber der Beitrag hat dann nur 20 Likes und 3 Kommentare. Das artet dann soweit aus, dass einem Light Painter im Interview nicht mehr einfällt, von wem er das Tool oder die Technk adaptiert hat. Ich erwarte keine ewige Dankbarkeit und wortreiche Huldigungen, aber ein wenig Respet für meine Arbeit wären ganz gut für's Karma. Also nicht für meins, sondern für das des Vergesslichen. Und ich bin mir fast sicher, dass solche Kollegen das hier auch lesen ohne hier angemeldet zu sein und selbst einen Beitrag zu diesem Netzwerk zu leisten.

Einer der wichtigsten Aspekte für mich ist es die Reichweite und die Aktzeptanz für die besondere Kunstform Light Painting zu steigern. Es gibt auf der Welt so viele tanlentierte Light Painter, die viele sehr beeindruckende Kunstwerke präsentieren. Meist hält sich die Anerkennung für diese allerdings in Grenzen weil die Kollegen nicht den ganzen Tag laut klappern und permanent ihre eigene Großartigkeit betonen sondern sich einfach ihrer Kunst widmen und nicht dem Marketing.

_0033739_1_v3.jpg

I don't need to explain this to all those who know me personally, but many here don't know me personally (yet). I am not a bitter, epochal artist who walks through his castle exclaiming "As an artist, I am two Germans". The most important thing about light painting is the fun of working together. I've done a lot of paintings on my own too, really good paintings too, but in the end it's all about the fun. I wouldn't want to miss very many outings with esteemed colleagues, even if not a dozen "epochal works of art" ended up on my memory card. For these unforgettable experiences, I thank you friends. I hope we can experience the next Light Up together soon in Görlitz or wherever.

Allen die mich persönlich kennen brauche ich das nicht zu erklären, aber viele hier kennen mich (noch) nicht persönlich. Ich bin kein verbitterter, epochaler Künstler, der durch sein Schloß läuft und ausruft "Als Künstler bin ich zwei Deutsche". Das Wichtigste am Light Painting ist der Spaß bei der gemeinsamen Arbeit. Ich habe zwar auch viele Bilder alleine gemacht, auch wirklich gute Bilder, aber letztendlich geht es um den Spaß. Sehr viel Ausflüge mit den geschätzten Kollegen möchte ich nicht missen, auch wenn nicht ein Dutzend "epochaler Kunstwerke" auf meiner Speicherkarte gelandet sind. Für diese unvergesslichen Erlebnisse danke ich euch Freunde. Ich hoffe, wir können recht bald das nächste Light Up in Görlitz, oder wo auch immer, gemeinsam erleben.

divider_1.png

WHAT IS LIGHT PAINTING?

Light painting is a unique form of art. The darkness is illuminate by the artist with diverse light sources and light traces are paint into the picture with various light tools. Various techniques are use, such as camera rotation or other movements of the camera during the exposure. The creative possibilities are almost unlimited. All the pictures were taken during one single exposure. Apart from denoising, sharpening, cutting and possibly adjusting the white balance, the pictures are not processed on the computer.

divider_1.png

LICHTKUNSTFOTO

If you like my art visit www.lichtkunstfoto.de for more Light Art Photography and informations about Light Painting. Join me on

Flickr Twitter

divider_1.png

For more great Light Art Photography, Light Painting and inspiration check these light painters: @marlasinger666 @fadetoblack @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau @gunnarheilmann @neilru75 @maximepateau @ryuslightworks @lightstabeu

divider_lp_1.png

WE ARE LIGHT PAINTERS

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture. @lightpainters

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Sort:  

YES
That's why I think we are friends! Shed the layers of greed, envy, and ego.

Prost! Und bis bald.

What a superb post Sven filled with wise words and beautiful art. Top man and Happy Days.

Well it is true that what defines art is a decision of the artist. But the viewer of it still has to accept it as such. I don't view some stuff as art while others do it, and I respect that (best example is Picasso, I think his stuff is close to child drawings, others praise it to heaven).

Sure. But if you don't do what is important for yourself, for your soul, heart and mind it doesn't matter how many people like your results. And there are some Light Painters out there doing pictures without any part of there soul only to please there groupies.

Yeah. That's what I meant. You can't please everyone, and you don't have to either. Do what you think is right and that is enough.

I think the American or English equivalent to that proverb is that "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder." Everyone sees beauty differently. But i agree with you art is from the soul of the artist. I think the artist is the guide for expressing the beauty in a way that the beholder can truly behold the beauty being put forth. Really interesting shots too by the way. Cheers

Thanks for the explanation. My English lessons are some time ago (1987).
Let's do more beauty to the world.

Your English is still better than a lot of Americans i know! hahahaha More beauty.... YES PLEASE!

Thanks for your kind words, but I think it isn't. 😂

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for your support 🙂

Very beautiful photography it is an Awesome post and deserve for selection of curators.

Great post @lichtkunstfoto❗️"Wise" is the right word 😉

Ein sehr schöner Beitrag und eine Sichtweise die ich teile.

Fantastic words from a wise Lightpainter. With this Attitude I’m wondering why you didn’t came earlier over here. How ever. I learned a lot from U during our time together. If I would call somebody „Master“ then U. 😉

Great U are here now. Hopefully more Lightpainters will follow.

!discovery light


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Lightpainters United community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @lichtkunstfoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more