Free street open brass concert at the lovely downtown spot

"Sveta Nedelya" square, or as a literal translation into English would say "Saint Sunday", is a beautiful old square in the center of Sofia, the capital city of Bulgaria and this approximately small square is surrounded by other beautiful and important city building.

Thus said, it is a lovely place for a quick walk or just going on foot to a meeting or taking care of some papers, as there are lots of governmental and state buildings in a close proximity.

Anyway, on that beautiful day I stumbled upon an open free street concert of a small brass band, sponsored by the county for celebrating the "Day of Europe".

To be absolutely honest, I was more than surprised.

Of what, you may ask...

While the musicians were brilliant the their repertoire was rich in styles and genres,

the audience was not quite present.

I would say, there were more journalists and photographers that some real audience.

That really puzzled me.

It was about 6 PM, an hour when the business day of the people in the capital usually ends and a lot of people pass by.

Only a few tens of by-passers took a moment to enjoy that musical performance.

There were more people entering the nearby church having the same name as that of the square than people who would listen to that great concert.

This did not matter to me as I know how to appreciate good music. Especially when it is free :) In that moment I remembered a small social experiment by the great violinist Nigel Kennedy who played for free in a subway and most of the people have been passing by... Do we have to pay a lot for something in order to be able to appreciate it? I'd say, yes, most of the times :)


Thank you for your time and support, please check out below few other ways to encourage me in my endeavors and stay in touch!


You could get a license here for some of my visual works approved by the quality review team of Adobe, Inc.: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured


I use and recommend those services below, following my referral links is a win-win for both you and me:


Copyright: Light Captured
For licensing my photos, please contact me!

lightcapturedbanner.jpeg

Have a great day, stay safe, stay strong and let your muse be always on your shoulder!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@pixresteemer(4/5) tipped @lightcaptured (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

These street musicians often play the best songs one could hear, they really are very talented.

when I see one on the street I stop to enjoy their music for a moment and of course I tip them, doing that for a living is brave and they really try hard

Indeed! I stopped giving money to beggars long ago, as I have seen some quite disturbing things, but I often tip the street musicians, some of them are really great :)

Cool stage on the street and the open brass concert is welcoming any traveler to stop and enjoy some great music.

True! :)
Thanks for stopping by!