A sip of dreams

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


20201031_231803.jpg

This boy is the main hero in this post. I found it at home, being one of my wife's decorations. I think it is used for little succulent plants, but that's it. I don't have any more knowledge about the details. I was just lucky to find one empty :)

If you have been reading my posts, you already know that I am practicing still life photography. I try to gather items at home to create a narrative.

This trinket looks like The Little Prince of the book from "Antoine De Saint-Exupery". The way he thinks, the gesture he makes is as if he is in deep thoughts either fictitious or non-fictitious. So I decided to go for it... I have a character, who is thinking and/or dreaming.

On the other hand, I received a gift from my son (picture below). He was playing with modeling clay and made a snail. And offered to place it inside the scene. Hmmm... as we are talking about dreams, that would be great, I thought. By the way, I prefer modeling clays for kids instead of Play-Dohs since they last longer, and you can reshape them even after a long time of exposure to air. To soften them back, you just need the warmth of your palms.


20201031_232058.jpg

Now that I have a starting character and a side one. The rest is fairly easy. The question is what items can be suitable for the scene? Maybe some books and a coffee cup. This blue cup appeared to be a perfect fit. Also to bring things forward I needed a dark background. Since there are yellow and blue colors, to make a contrast, I decided to go with a red backdrop.


book lover  base.jpg

There is a "love" word on the cup. So a heart shape is great to combine with it. Maybe the character was reading some love novel. Or he just loves to read books. He sips his tea or coffee while reading. And maybe it is nighttime... Maybe he is about to go for sleeping, he prepared a relaxing tea and he is giving the last thoughts about the events in the novel or the book.


heart  resize.jpg

For the background, I chose something handmade. It matches the writing on the coffee cup: "Homemade with love". So homemade and handmade can go together. Also with a dark background, the scenery can be turned into a night scene. And hand-drawn stars can be decoration. So I found the below picture from Pixabay. And inverted the colors. I also masked out unnecessary items.

night5527428_1280.png
Resource link: Pixabay

Here is the final image with all the items and edits. I hope it is reflecting all the thoughts built until now. Please feel free to criticize me in the comments below. Any constructive one is welcome.

book lover   resize.jpg




Still not on HIVE?
Join this strong community here.