Left Alone

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

IMG_52792  resize.jpg


The full resolution (3163 X 4745 pixels) NFT is available on Lensy.


This is the story of the shot about a stray cat. The picture is taken around mid-December 2018. There is a man walking on the breakwater. I was chasing a cat on the side of the wall. It was moving without any aim, jumping here and there.

I was out with my DSLR looking for some frames to catch on that day. As I was taking some rest close to the sea near this breakwater wall, I realized the man coming behind me. First, the cat was not around. Of course, there are always some of them wandering around since people tend to leave some food after their time off on the rocks here. But the cat was not in sight as the man.

I was thinking of alternative views that I can catch with the camera. And this figure could be useful to create a composition. I readied my camera, placed my finger on the shutter button, and started to gaze on the LCD screen. The only thing was the colors. I didn't like them much.

Below is the original frame. Nothing interesting in the sky. Also, the shapes on the ground are not really eye-catching. The left side is completely in gray tones. The walking figure is also in black. But still, I thought it is worthed. Maybe I could wait this guy, on the way back there may be another composition.

822020194735.jpg

Then, baaammmmmm!!!! The cat which was stalking around started to come closer and closer. I surely took the attention. Maybe the hope for free food arose 🙂. Oh, man! I found the real focus in my composition if only I capture the right moment.

After several trials, gestures, confusion, and diversion, I took the shot. And during the post edit, I decided to mask everything in black and white, except the cat. I put some exposure adjustment as well.

By the way, did you notice the ship on the horizon? It feels like the figure is abandoning the cat, not just by walking, he is planning to sail... Far away...

Ok, ok, ok... Maybe this is a little bit exaggeration. But it could be, no? But don't you get the same feeling as if the cat is LEFT ALONE???

I hope you enjoyed the story. Please feel free to put any constructive criticism on the comments.




If you are interested in tokenized art, and
would like to get one of the 3 editions,
this photo is listed as
"Left Alone" on Lensy.io




Still not on HIVE?
Join this strong community here.

Sort:  

Who looks at the ship if there is a cat on the photo? :p
Such a cool shot... sad though...

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 27/45)

Hmmm, good point 🙂


Congratulations @m1alsan!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day