Hustling for dramatic photos at a farm.

A lovely variety of pictures in here and even a runaway mule.
004.JPG

The first part of the strawberry field has now been planted, and they are busy preparing the second field for planting.

Interesting to know why black plastic sheets are rolled out on the lanes, prior to the planting of the strawberries.
The black color of the plastic absorbs the sunlight, and it keeps the plantings moist and warm. But before the plastic is rolled out, black pipes are buried in each line to irrigate the plantings.
Then holes are made in the top of the plastic lanes and the strawberries are planted in the holes. The plastic also protects the plants against pests, such as bugs and weeds.

Here below you can get a better look at the holes that are made in the plastic for the plants.
016.JPG

These are not small lands, and you can also see the long irrigation pipes that they bury in each new lane.
031.JPG

On a road of the farm, we had to stop, as this mule decided the grass is better on the other side and the lady was coaxing the mule with sweet tidbits for him to reconsider and to come back home.
030.JPG

A wonderful picture of love for an animal.
026.JPG

And now we took a walk to one of my favorite spots on the farm.

Oh yes, a new surprise for me as I got an entire Amathyst Sunbird family in a Wild Dagga bush. The bush is also known as Lions Tail (Leonotis leonurus)
316.JPG

Two babies were squealing for food and it was the first time for me to hear them.
244.JPG

This is the dad, Amathyst Sunbird (Chalcomitra amethystina) and he ignored the babies.
056.JPG

The mom below also ignored the babies and birds are like that, as they will feed their youngsters up to a limit. During the feeding they also teach the children what to eat and that's it. No more feeding and the babies are on their own. I think that they call it tough love, and it is very effective.
258.JPG

I asked my wife to stand next to this Aloe to show you it's size.
011.JPG

We also spotted two little bunnies.
216.JPG

And finally, here is the king of the sunbirds. The Malachite sunbird (Nectarinia famosa), and I was so glad to get him.
305.JPG

I know that it is wide range of different pictures, but that's how my mind works at times. I also took many other pictures here, and I will show them to you in some other posts. It is always a pleasure to come out to the farms, and we have many farms here. The benefit to me, is that it also exercises my legs and I do not struggle with cramps anymore when I walk, but the treatments have left my legs very weak. Amazing what a critical lack of iron can do to one's body, but thankfully it cannot affect my determined mind. So I endured the lack of iron since 2018, and I am still going. Just the way that life is at the moment.

I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

it is extraordinary that the pictures that you present are very eye-catching, and I really enjoy them, as if my soul is calling to immediately go to nature to see the scenery around.

Thank you and I am glad that my pictures motivate your soul to visit nature.

Animal kingdom a lovely relaxing way to express ones emotions, vitality found visiting wayward farm life which is delightful to witness.

!LUV
!LOLZ

Oh yes and my emotions always scream: "freedom" when I am out there.
So many farms and so little time, but life is very interesting.

!LUV
!LOLZ

Such lovely beaches majority simply no longer go down not able to cope with the stench, still much the same as a year ago.

!BEER

Not according to the government there, as they claim that everything is back to normal.
!PIZZA

Never believe liars and fools....

We live here, it stinks everywhere on roads between the freeway and beach. Now back on normal power outages this will only get worse!

Also bragging they have rail system running, well to Winklespruit station no further, the Illovo River bridge is still down as it has been for over a year now.

!LOLZ

That's why they have spindoctors, as they can make a rose out of a khaki bush.

Sad to hear this, but such is life.

!LOLZ


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I always seen that black plastics in most of the farms these days. It also helps to stop the weeds around. It lessens the filed maintenance in terms of weeds.

I love the picture of the bird, the details is so clear.

Oh yes, glad that you have also seen it and I mentioned weeds in my introduction paragraph.

Thank you and the Amathyst Sunbirds are very shy, it is a first time for me to get a family, as normally I could only get the males alone.

!PIZZA

Wow! So it is so satisfying having all of them. Atleast at last you captured their family.

Oh yes, I am very happy ton have them all now and it took me a very long time before I got them.
Now my record is complete!
!PIZZA

Natural photoshoot. This is so beautiful and amazing. I love them

Thank you for your appreciation of the post !LOLZ

This looks more beautiful than a farm
It should be a tourist center
Hahaha

We have more than 3oo farms here and they all qualify as tourist centers !LOL

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
papilloncharity tipped djbravo
@papilloncharity(4/15) tipped @joanstewart
papilloncharity tipped jenthoughts (x2)

You have captured all these pictures on perfect time. All these places looks so impressive. Natural beauty always attracts the people's attention. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you and yes, natural beauty is the best!
!PIZZA