Seascape Photography: seaweed farming on Zanzibar

in Photography Loverslast year (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

As promised in my post about Zanzibar´s extreme tides that I published here on my blog last week, I´m finally coming with a post that will shed some light on one of the most famous and interesting traditions of Zanzibar and that is the seaweed farming. This tradition is closely related to the extreme tides phenomenon described in the above mentioned post so you might want to check it out before reading this one.

I haven´t really found out how old this tradition of seaweed farming on Zanzibar is but I guess it must be going there for at least decades, possibly even centuries. What I do know though is the fact that Zanzibar, a relatively small Tanzanian archipelago, is currently one of the largest seaweed producers in all Africa and that this industry employs mostly women who make for almost 90% of the people involved in this business.

Let me start out by showing you what these seaweed farms (or seaweed fields if you will) actually look like.


IMG_20221227_122230.jpg


dvojecka.jpg


trojecka.jpg


ctyrecka.jpg


IMG_20221227_121337.jpg


sesticka.jpg


IMG_20221227_131404.jpg


I took all of the above featured photos in the shallow waters just off the beach in the little coastal town of Jambiani in the southeastern part of the Unguja Island of the Zanzibar archipelago. As you probably noticed, it was during the low tide when the pegs are sticking out of the water. I learned that this traditional technique of seaweed farming is actually called "peg and rope" and it´s quite accurate as there are only these two things (pegs and ropes) used to hold and grow the seaweed.

It´s also during the low tide when the (mostly female) pickers come to the farms to harvest the seaweed. I don´t know how fast the seaweed grows but I guess pretty fast because we saw the women doing this job in the shallow waters of the ocean every day.


IMG_20221222_101441.jpg


IMG_20221222_101319.jpg


crop.jpg


z dvojky.jpg


Some farmers even you these little boats to pile up the seaweed before carrying the harvest to the shore to dry.


IMG_20221222_102718.jpg


IMG_20221222_102731.jpg


Then, the seaweed is transported to the shore, usually in bags. When I saw the women and even little girls carrying those heavy bags with the wet seaweed, I offered them my hand and they gladly accepted so this is actually me carrying one of the bags :)


smiley.jpg


These two little princesses first got some candies from us and then I took their bag for them. The smaller one couldn´t be older than some five years of age... Pretty sad sight to be honest.


IMG_20221227_111433.jpg


IMG_20221227_111555.jpg


Once on the shore, the seaweed needs to dry. The locals just hang the clusters on the ropes and let them dry in the scorching equatorial sun and fresh ocean breeze.


IMG_20221221_155021.jpg


IMG_20221221_154858.jpg


ze ctyrky.jpg


z jednicky 2.jpg


And this is where my photo documentary of the seaweed farming process on Zanzibar comes to an end since I didn´t get to see the next stages of it unfortunately but I think this might actually be it. From what we learned from the locals, most of the dried seaweed is then sold and transported to other countries (mostly China) where it´s further processed and where cosmetic and pharmaceutical products are made from it. But some of the dried seaweed must be processed on Zanzibar too because we saw some souvenirs (for examples soaps) made from the locally grown and harvested seaweed.

The seaweed farming is a really interesting tradition and a form of aquaculture that we haven´t seen anywhere else yet. I think that Zanzibar is a great place for this practice because of the extreme tides that allow the locals to grow and harvest the seaweed even far into the ocean, far away from the beaches. The tradition may look simple and easy to keep but it definitely includes some hard work too and honestly, I don´t know why the local men don´t help their women with carrying the heavy bags. As one old Czech saying goes: "Different regions, different manners."

Thanks for your attention guys, I hope you learned something new from this post. More stuff from this amazing Tanzanian archipelago called Zanzibar coming soon so stay tuned. Until then... Hakuna Matata! :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

Brigada 😂 Ake tazke boli tie vrecia? Aspon priblizne.. strasne, ze sa s tym tahaju zeny a deti. Co robili muzi?

Inak, ja som vobec nevedela, ze riasy sa pestuju aj v Afrike. Jasne, ze chapem, ze tam riasy su, ale myslela som, ze sa pestuju niekde v chladnejsich podmienkach.

Ako vzdy, super fotky!

Ano ano, jel jsem si na Zanzibar zabrigádničit :D Ty pytle jsou různě velké, těžko říct. Ten, co nesu na té fotce, mohl mít tak 20 kilo... Když je odliv (což je doba, kdy ženy chodí ty řasy sbírat), tak muži o kus dál poblíž podmořského útesu loví v mělčině ryby a chobotnice. Těch řas je spousta druhů, určitě se některé pěstují i v chladnějších vodách :)

Moc hezky pan zberatel!!🙂😎

Asante sana! :D

Wow!... Every day I learn something new at #Hive.... And I've found this seaweed cultivation thing absolutely fascinating!... And every photograph is a marvel, just like the article... It seems to be taken out of a travel magazine!... Excellent work @phortun friend!

Thanks for sharing!

!discovery 37

!PIZZA

!BBH

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and support as always my friend! Really happy to hear that people learn new things from my Zanzibar posts :) Cheers!

@phortun! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (3/5)

That’s so interesting to see 👋🏻😊
Very cool.
Thanks for sharing their way. It looks like it goes back a long time.
They are fully living around the tides and the seaweed farming. Not easy in my eyes.
Have a wonderful day further @phortun ☀️🌺

Yeah, I wonder how old this tradition actually is, pretty fascinating they still keep it in this simple but very cool form until these days :) Thanks for stopping by Little Bee, I need to check out your blog too to get some updates on your moving etc :) See you there in a while.

It is indeed fascinating to see… to bad we don’t know how long this tradition actually exist. It is cool in every form @phortun 😎

You are welcome 👋🏻😊
I did post the end destination last Thursday : it’s part 6 winter wonderland 🤩
And today a walk around the house in the snow ⛄️
Thanks my friend. Enjoy your evening…
Talk in a bit.

So I just checked your blog and I didn´t even know where to start commenting so let me put it here :D Your "move journey" from Spain to Scotland was absolutely epic and so was your incredible effort to capture and document all of it for us through your photos and write ups. I cannot imagine how you made it among all the rush and chaos, wow, really impressive. Your new home in Scotland looks absolutely fantastic, I love the remote and wild feel of it :) Hope you will be happy there. Btw I didn´t know it snows so much in Scotland but I can imagine that you are enjoying it after living in Spain. Well at least until you start to crave for some warmth and sunshine again :D

Hehehe thanks for that! Here will do just fine. 😉😎

Thank you so much, happy you came along on our long journey and saw some adventures. Especially the driving over snow and ice hahaha 🤣
I wished I could have soon it all sooner but the lack of internet and mobile reception made me stop for a while. Only when we got Starlink I could post again.
Will share our walks out soon.
Truly, everywhere you look is stunning. The raw nature, the peaceful spaces. The lonely back roads.

Thank you, let’s hope we will settle down for once 😄🤓
It does snow, but this was a lot for Scotland. Soon it’s spring… can’t wait for the seasons to turn and show all their beauty.
I missed the 4 seasons a lot, and greenery… nature and wildlife. Here it’s everywhere.
Hahaha we can always go on holidays. Think I will root better here @phortun 😎
Thanks for checking my posts out.
Have a nice evening, good night 😴

I´m really glad that your first impressions are so positive, that looks promising :) I read in one of your posts that you have moved about 50 times already and lived in 6 countries. These numbers are very similar to ours and I think that after living so nomadic for years, it can be difficult to settle down for good somewhere but if you feel like this might be the place, I cross my fingers for you that you really make it happen :) Have an amazing weekend in your new lovely home!

Thank you kindly @phortun it does look promising.
You are right, I moved that much and this is country 6. I think I am tired from all this moving… and want to grow some roots for once. Now we are in a rental and our plan is to search a little cottage with some land to buy.
Maybe that will help to settle. So at least one more move 😉😎 we will see…
Let’s hope we find the right area, this will take some exploring, as we know it won’t be on the west coast. We were looking more towards the east coast. Just none rentals available there.
Thank you 🙏🏻 let’s make it happen…
Have an amazing weekend too my friend! Enjoy.
!ALIVE

Sure it's not an easy life, but despite the fact, glad they have that farm to somehow provide their needs, at least. On the other, I see it as fun activity to harvest seaweeds. :) and yes maybe right that they're the biggest supplier of China, from food to cosmetic. I've read about this weeds it has sea of benefits.
thanks for sharing this, it's my first time to see seaweed farm, though I'm a bit disappointed that I didn't get to see what's behind the smiley emoticon ;) 😂.

Well, it looks like fun indeed, being in the ocean etc. but carrying those heavy bags is not fun at all, unless you take it as a workout, which I did :D What´s behind the smileys? A big secret :D

Thanks for checking out the photos, it was a pleasure to show you what a seaweed farm looks like :)

I really enjoyed reading your post. Cause honestly?...Other than its location and the fact that my best friend was saying she really wants to visit Zanzibar, I know nothing.
So I'm happy that I learned something about this country and also, for seeing such a beautiful and unique landscape. 😊

Thanks for stopping by and leaving this nice comment here :) In fact, Zanzibar is not a country, it´s an archipelago that is officially a part of Tanzania. I have already published many posts about this amazing place so in case you decide to go there with your friend, you might want to check out some of them. So far, the most informative was probably this one ;)

I dont know why I wrote country. I think I wanted to say island...😁🤔
I know its part of Tanzania and actually when I think Tanzania I think of Zanzibar and lions. And now sea weed too. 😋

I've seen all your posts about Zanzibar, but didnt read them all. I've read now the one you sent me the link for. Great writing description.

Ah, thank you! I thought this one was the first you saw. So you alredy have some idea of what the place looks like and you can be a guide to your friend when you get there :D

Yeah. That would be cool, lets hope we'll go together. Who knows? 🤔🤔
If I ever go, I'll definitely read all your posts a few times. 😋

Haha ok! :D You will have a lot of time to read on the plane, the flight was like 9 hours :D

Well...it should be enough 😅. Though I'm gonna read them before that. I always do my research before. And I like to think I do a good job with that. 😁

The way we see adults and children working together, life here is not that easy, everyone has to work together, still life goes on. If there were such a place, it is very beautiful and a person gets a lot of peace. Those who are used to living in the city find it very difficult to live in such a place.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your observations with us, have a nice day :)

I didn't know that there is a special method to farm seaweed in water, I used to know it was grown up naturally. Do you know for what they farm it?

As mentioned in the post, the seaweed that is grown on Zanzibar is used to make cosmetic and pharmaceutical products. Some seaweed species are also edible and thus used in certain cuisines ;)

Parádny post... je zaujímavé pozrieť si, ako sa živia ľudia "na druhom konci sveta" :) Vyzerá že úrodnej pôdy tam veľa nemajú, tak sa vynašli.
!WINE


Congratulations, @timehacker You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @phortun.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.160


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Dík :) Ale jo, mají tam i normální zemědělství, tropické ovoce, zelenina a tak... No a ještě samozřejmě rybolov. Oběd si musíš sám ulovit :)

Tak to by som sa veľmi nenajedol pri mojich loveckých schopnostiach :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @liltammy.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yay! Thank you @ecency and @liltammy :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@jlinaresp(6/10) tipped @phortun (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 79000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
 last year  Reveal Comment

Oh you grow seaweed in your region too? In a different way? Man, I would love to see it. If you ever make a post about it, please let me know, I would really like to know how this form of aquaculture is done somewhere else...

 last year  Reveal Comment

Yeah, from what I have read, the seaweed farming is an important part of local economy so for many of those women, it´s also a way to make a living. Thanks for swinging by man :)