Seascape Photography: the extreme tides of Zanzibar

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

Originally, I thought this post would be about two things that Zanzibar is famous for: the extreme tides and the tradition of seaweed farming that is actually related to the tides but after sorting out and editing the photo material for the post, I ended up with almost 40 images, which would be too much for one post so I decided to separate these two things. Therefore, in this post, we will take a look at the tides and next time (probably next week), I will introduce you to the tradition of seaweed farming on Zanzibar ;)

So the tides. You may wonder why I´m referring to the Zanzibar tides as extreme, right? Every sea and ocean have their tides, I know. I have already swum in many seas and oceans around the world but honestly, I have never seen such massive differences between the low tide and the hide tide as I just did on the Unguja Island of Zanzibar, an amazing tropical archipelago that is a part of Tanzania. I have already mentioned this phenomenon in my post with beach wildlife close ups last week and in this post, I will show you what it actually looks like through a series of a kind of time lapse shots.

The tides on Zanzibar are so important that there are actually several different websites where you can check out their times every day, like this one which says that today, on Tuesday, February 7, the first high tide is at 5:11 AM and the first low tide is at 11:28 AM while the second high tide of the day is at 5:34 PM and the second low tide is at 11:31 PM. That´s right, there are actually two high tides and two low tides on Zanzibar every day and it´s very important to know the exact times of them for the locals as the tides have a great influence on many activities and aspects of their life, especially on two of the traditional local jobs: fishing and seaweed farming.

However, tourists and visitors of the island are usually also interested in the times of the tides because it´s impossible to do any "water requiring" activities such as swimming, snorkeling, kiting, boating, paddle boarding etc. during the low tide because, well, there is no water by the beach and you would literally have to walk up to several miles into the ocean to find some deeper waters. On the other hand, these "walks into the ocean" are actually very cool and you can see a lot of interesting things and animals in the little natural pools and shallow waters along the way as I showed you in the above mentioned post with the wildlife close ups.

But enough talking. Without further ado, here is 16 pictures featuring the different stages of the tide. I took them at different spots and on different days but I tried to order them "chronologically" from the low tide to the high tide. Enjoy! :)


IMG_20221225_141520.jpg


IMG_20221222_100728.jpg


trojecka.jpg


ctyrecka.jpg


IMG_20221222_103517.jpg


IMG_20221225_141337.jpg


IMG_20221222_102942.jpg


IMG_20221225_145526.jpg


IMG_20221221_161108.jpg


IMG_20221227_160956.jpg


IMG_20221227_160754.jpg


IMG_20221225_145205.jpg


IMG_20221221_160721.jpg


IMG_20221227_160528.jpg


IMG_20221227_155925.jpg


IMG_20221227_160106.jpg


I hope you liked the pictures. I said I took them at different spots but all of them are from the same coastal little town of Jambiani that is located on the southeastern coast of the Unguja Island. From what I have read on the internet, it seems that this particular area has the most extreme tides on the whole island and that´s probably also why Jambiani is the center of the seaweed culture that I will tell you more about in the next post. Until then... Hakuna Matata! :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

More je more, ryby jsou ryby💙🙏🇹🇿

Odliv je odliv :D TZ

Super fotky! Mali by ste cestovat castejsie 🙂 Mna ten Zanzibar teraz tak velmi laka, len neviem, neviem ako presvedcim manzela, kedze sa mu do Afriky velmi nechce 🤔

Ta modra je taka krasna. Najviac sa mi paci ta posledna fotka. Keby bola voda trosku modrejsia, tak by ani nebolo vidiet, kde sa konci more a zacina nebo 🙂

Děkuju :) No snad ho nějak přesvědčíš, nám se tam opravdu líbilo hodně. Tak moc, že už tam trochu pokukujeme po dlouhodobém nájmu :D Navíc hned vedle přes průliv je pevninská Tanzanie, která prý nabízí nejlepší safari v Africe, to je taky velké lákadlo... Btw jsi asi první člověk, který řekl, že bysme měli cestovat víc, to musím říct doma :D

A preco nie.. ved ked tam rozpravaju slovensky, cesky a polsky, tak sa tak ci tak budete citit ako doma 😁

Tak doma na to budu mat urcite iny nazor. Predpokladam, ze oni by boli radi, keby ste nechodili nikam 😉

Tak víš co, my se tam teda přestěhujem a vy přijedete na návštěvu, platí? :D

Doma z našich cestovatelských dobrodružství moc nadšení nejsou, to máš pravdu :) Je fakt, že za posledních 12 let jsme víc času strávili v zahraničí než v ČR...

Dohodute!!! 🙂

Na druhej strane zijeme len raz, takze ked cestovanie je to, co vas naplnuje, tak je to presne to co by ste mali robit 🙂

Přesně ;)

These pictures are amazing! 🤩 I can't even pick a favourite, they are all perfect and full of character. I truly believe you had a wonderful time 🍀

Thank you for your kind feedback, it was a pleasure to share the pictures with you :)

Jiný kraj, jiný systém parkování :-)
Ještě pár takových článků a budeš mít i na ten dlouhodobý pronájem :-)
!LUV
za použití #aroundtheworld

Díky moc :) Jak říkám, na ohlasy svých zanzibarských článků si zatím rozhodně nemůžu stěžovat :) Uvidíme, jestli a případně na jak dlouho se tam vrátíme...

:-)
Jasně, taková věc se musí promyslet.

Wow this was really enlightening, i know about tides but honestly speaking i never new there was a timing attached to it, Lol i would always think it is just the weather that determines the tide.

I guess that's what Hive is for, you are constantly learning from people's post

Thank you @phortun for always educating us on the lifestyle of the Zanzibar people, each time i read your post i get to learn a thing or two of the Zanzibar people.

Hehe, there is actually much more "science" behind the tides than just this, especially with their relation to the moon etc. Pretty facinating natural phenomenon indeed. Thanks for your feedback, I´m really glad to hear that people also learn new things from my posts :)

You're most welcomed

I really enjoy the photos you share here, @phortun. That's all very cool!

Your first six photos have shown how far the seawater retreats when the tides occur. Their traditional boats literally drifted far away and "lived ashore."

I think you are absolutely right; it has influenced the activities of the unique Zanzibar people. Their activities depend entirely on the high and low tides, aptly called "the extreme tides of Zanzibar."

(I've heard the word "Hakuna Matata" before, but I can't remember where)

Well spotted :) The boats "parked in the sand" looked funny but just a few hours later, they were all floating on the sea and everything looked normal :D

I think you heard the words (Hakuna Matata) in the Lion King movie, it´s actually a very famous Swahili phrase meaning "no problems" or "take it easy" :)

I think you heard the words (Hakuna Matata) in the Lion King movie, it´s actually a very famous Swahili phrase meaning "no problems" or "take it easy" :)

Yes, I see.
and that famous word perfectly describes what happened to the people of Zanzibar. Everything is fine, so take it easy!
!LOL

Exactly. I think it was also quite obvious in my photography series dedicated to the people of Zanzibar :) They may be poor but happy and relaxed ;)

Beautifully captured @phortun 😊
Such a difference. And 2 of each in one day.
Yes, I can imagine that everybody has to check out the times so they know at what time they can do what.
Very interesting. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Looking forward to the rest 😎
Happy Tuesday 👋🏻

Thanks for your kind comment Little Bee! Yeah, it must be interesting to have your daily life scheduled according to the tide but this is how these people live and they seem to be perfectly ok with that :) Have a nice day too!

You are welcome, always 😊👋🏻
People tend to adjust… and do so well.
Thank you so much, enjoy yours 😎
!PIZZA

Great photos as always man. This shows how local people get the benefits from the nature to the fullest.

Thanks buddy. I have been thinking of you and our other fellow Hivers from Turkey a lot lately. It´s heartbreaking what´s happening in your country :( I´m so sorry. Are you and your family ok?

Yes we are pkay for now as we are far way from the zone :/

I know, Istanbul is far from the most damaged area but I read some articles that more earthquakes might hit other parts of the country too. I hope it doesn´t happen... So many people aready lost their lives, homes and everything :( So sad. Stay strong guys.

There is an expected earthquake above 7 mg for Istanbul as well.

Yeah, I know :( Stay safe.

I think, that is the place where new technology will die within this beauty strengh of human work.

Interesting thought. Hard to predict when modern technologies get adopted in places like this. Hopefully not too soon so that the unique atmosphere and traditions of the island are preserved as long as possible. They are beautiful. Thanks for checking out my post :)

@phortun Absolutely amazing and truly breathtaking captures, so very cool. Loved them so very much !
Feels like being there and just enjoy this moment! Doesn't seem like Earth at all !!!

Thanks for you kind comment but these shots were actually just to show and explain the extreme tide phenomenon :) Pictures showing the beaches and the ocean (from the most beautiful parts of the island) will show up in some other posts so stay tuned :)

Hola @phortun. Sorprende la poca profundidad con marea alta porque es igual un espacio seguro para caminar. La diferencia es que durante la marea baja los barcos están encallados en la arena y con la marea alta los barcos flotan. Pero durante las dos mareas se puede caminar sin peligro de oleaje ni profundidad en el agua. Que esplendido lugar para explorar su ecosistema marino mientras se camina. Muchas gracias por tus magníficas fotografías!

Tu publicación ha recibido un voto de parte de "Autismo: Un Mundo Excepcional" ahora con presencia en HIVE, gracias a su Proyecto @mundo.autismo.

anigif.gif

Hello @phortun. It is surprisingly shallow at high tide because it is still a safe place to walk. The difference is that during low tide the boats are beached on the sand and at high tide the boats float. But during both tides you can walk without danger of waves or depth in the water. What a splendid place to explore its marine ecosystem while walking. Thank you so much for your great photographys!

Your post has received a vote from "Autism: An Exceptional World " now with a presence in HIVE, thanks to their Project @mundo.autismo.

Conoce nuestra Comunidad / Meet our Community
Bienvenidas las Delegaciones / Welcome Delegations

Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thank you very much for your support and recognition guys, much appreciated! Well, in fact, you can only walk into the ocean during the low tide ;) With the high tide, you are waist deep after just a few meters :)

Beautiful pictures! The situation is also very particular, since I can’t believe you have to walk so long to find some deeper water over there!

Right? I thought the same when I first read about the tides. I was like ok, so we will just walk a bit further into the ocean to enjoy some nice swimming and snorkeling. But no, it doesn´t work like this on Zanzibar :D You can only swim during the high tide. If you want to do that during the low tide, you first need to go for an "ocean hike" :D

Wow! That's stunning ocean view. My neighbors and I used to pick up shells in the evening when the tide gets so low and wide, had spot light on our forehead and fishing net with handle. T'was another 'fun level' hobby. :) especially when you discover ponds with lot's of different coral fish trapped in it. The only creature I don't like to touch is octopus because of its alien look haha. And hey! Shrimp is very easy to catch and to spot on in the evening because their eyes reflects the headlight were wearing. I have lot's to blahblah about ocean stuff.

Hehe I know exactly what you mean :) I didn´t grow up by the sea like you but every time we went for a seaside holiday, I did just what you described :) I was literally fascinated by the marine wildlife and exploring the beaches, cliffs and shallow waters was such an exciting activity for me :) I actually still do it :D

People living in such a place are very many and they don't know anything about technology, they just work hard and eat bread and live life. These people also have the right to know and use the new technology, it is our duty to inform and explain it to them. Natural sights are very beautiful to the human heart. Some time ago today I also went for a walk with my friends and there we also sailed a boat. It was very fun. Visiting such a place in summer has its own fun as one plays with the cool water.

Well, I´m not sure if people living on these islands would be happier with modern technologies and western lifestyle. From what I saw there, they are happy just like this, even though their lives might seem rough and simple to us. It was actually pretty fascinating and inspiring to watch the locals doing their things, maybe you noticed that in some of my posts dedicated to the people of Zanzibar...

Wow! Amazing photos @phortun !
On the one hand it shows nature at its best and on the other poverty, but in both cases it is something to become aware of what is happening in the world. Thanks for the pictures!

Thanks man :) Well, this particular post was just meant to show and explain how the tides work, I talked about the people and their lifestyles in my previous posts but I can see you still found it there in the pictures here. Thanks for your visit, observant reader :)

Zanzibar Island is one of the beautiful Iceland I have seen. The atmosphere looks enjoyable . Looks like you had a great time there. I enjoyed each and every photo you have shared in this post.

Thanks for your comment, we did enjoy our time on the island. But I haven´t even started to show the real natural beauties of the island, you better stay tuned for more :)

I'm here ;)

AWESOME SHOTS

@phortun friend... Thanks for sharing!!!

!discovery 37

!PIZZA

Thanks for your support man, always appreciated :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for the retweet! :)

Saludos, son hermosas tus fotos, parecen una pintura y otra como portada para un libro, muchas gracias por tus fotografías, a través de ella podemos conocer parte de este hermoso planeta.

Muchas gracias por tu amable comentario, saludos :)

First of all, the downvote was an unintended, careless mistake. I have had this problem with other posts --including my own --and I can't for the life of me figure out how to remove them. I have tried reclicking on the downvote to fix the error. I have tried hitting upvote to fix the error. Nothing seems to work. Again, I am sorry.

No problem :)

wow, the scenery there is very beautiful, especially on the sea coast with a very cold wind. thank you for sharing

Very cold wind? Man, this place is located just a few degrees off the equator. It´s as tropical as it gets :)

Looking amazing with different scenery in beach

Right. Different scenes at different times of the day :)

Amazing place and wounderfull photography .thanks for sharing these pictures.

Thanks for checking them out :)

I do not like your photos - I love them. Wow - I thought I saw extreme tide action but this is special. Gorgeous photos - thank for sharing them. I plan to go to Zanzibar one day - so this journey with you is perfect. Thank you.

Thanks for your feedback, I´m glad to hear that my posts inspire travel plans :) There are actually even much more beautiful beaches than those featured in this post, I will show you some of them in my future posts ;)

Aww wonderful - thank you - I will look forward to it.

!WINE


Congratulations, @timehacker You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @phortun.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.200


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Dík a na zdraví :)

Even for the fact that I have never been to Zanzibar before, you make me feel like I have with the beautiful pictures.
So I can say that Zanzibar is full of seas.

Well, Zanzibar is an archipelago so naturally, it is surrounded by sea (the Indian Ocean to be precise). Thanks for stopping by, I´m happy to hear that you enjoyed the photos :)

the view of the sea, the boat and the little kids in the water..they looked happy to see the water.
It's very traditional. It's nice to be in that place with such a beautiful view.

Thanks for checking out the pictures and leaving this nice comment here :)

I really enjoyed reading your article and looking at the pictures.

Cool, thanks for swinging by :)

You're welcome, I love everything beautiful

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
littlebee4 tipped phortun (x1)
@jlinaresp(9/10) tipped @phortun (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program