Wildlife Photography: froggy love is in the air

in Photography Loverslast year (edited)

Hey there my Hive friends and followers!

I thought I would finally get to working on those few remaining posts from Zanzibar that I´m still yet to share with you but earlier today, on my walk out there in nature, I happened to witness what I simply have to make a post about :) What am I talking about? Frogs! Hundreds of frogs! And most of them were actually... let´s say... enjoying their very intimate moments! :D

Now let me put a little warning here and I don´t mean the NSFW warning :D The frogs that you are about to see below are all toads who are not exactly the most beautiful animal species and I know that some people find the toads downright ugly or even disgusting so be warned that a lot of detailed toady stuff is following :)


IMG_20230321_123201.jpg


IMG_20230321_123417.jpg


IMG_20230321_111932.jpg


IMG_20230321_123505.jpg


IMG_20230321_123154.jpg


IMG_20230321_123809.jpg


IMG_20230321_123523.jpg


IMG_20230321_122951.jpg


I hope that you enjoyed the shots (or that you didn´t get disgusted with them at least :D). All of the frogs featured above are the European Toads that are very common in most European countries. They are quite big, the females can reach up to 15 cm (6 in) in length and they are very robust in appearance. Males are smaller but I guess you already noticed that in the pictures :D

Now in late March and also in early April, the frogs get out of their winter hideouts to reproduce and they obviously do it on a large scale. I mean we must have seen hundreds of frogs today and it was not even a long walk, we just followed some of the hiking trails in the Prokop Valley here in Prague, Czech Republic for a few kilometers.

Unfortunately, we saw a lot of dead frogs too. The toads cannot really move fast so they are very prone to being hit by cars and bikes, especially when crossing roads, which is something they do quite often. So please be careful and drive slowly when you happen to be in an area where the toads reproduce after the winter. They are usually these "frogs ahead" road warning signs in such areas. Toads may not be pretty but they eat a lot of annoying pests in gardens, fields etc.




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Traveling, Photography, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Sport, Fitness and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

Ropuchy sú pre mňa ako hady a pavúky. Stále sa ich tak zľaknem, že sa čudujem, že som ešte nedostala infarkt 😁 Nevadia mi, ale objavia sa, keď ich nečakám.

U nás sú pre nich budované take tie múriky, aby neprešli cez cestu a pod cestou majú tunely, aby mohli prejsť na druhú stranu. Niečo také som videla už aj na Slovensku, tak snáď to máte už aj v Čechách.

Pamätám si ako sme už dávnejšie boli na Slovensku a boli ich na ceste stovky a všetky boli prejdené autom. Asi prechádzali vo veľkom počas noci a šoféri ich nevideli.. smutné

Tak trochu jsem tušil, že tento post tě asi úplně nenadchne, ale vážím si toho, že jsi ho i tak přečetla a podívala se i na fotky :D Není žába jako žába. V Kostarice jsme třeba viděli ty malinké pestrobarevné žabičky, které jsou fakt roztomilé (ale prudce jedovaté, místní Indiáni si z nich vyrábějí šípy :D) a pak tady jsou ropuchy, které se můžou líbit asi fakt jen těm nejzarytějším milovníkům (veškeré :D) přírody :) Jo, vím, co myslíš, ale tady jsem žádné takové opatření ještě neviděl. Prostě tu jsou jen dopravní značky upozorňující na zvýšený výskyt žab v dané oblasti. No, snad se jich tu víc narodí, než kolik jich přejedou auta :/

No mne sa tie pestrofarebné páčia, ale utekala by som asi rýchlejšie ako keď by som videla ropuchu 😅 Safety first 😁

Ako dieťa ťa stále strašia, aby si sa nedotýkal ropuchy, lebo dostaneš bradavice a ono ti z toho niečo zostane aj v dospelosti 🙂

Podľa mna sa ich narodí strašne veľa. Teda, neskúmala som to, ale v jazierkach sú tisíce žubrienok, tak si myslím, že ich je nakoniec dosť 🙂

Inak, úplne z iného súdka - chystáte sa tento rok na HiveFest?

No, abych řekl pravdu, když tak čtu ty tvoje komentáře, kde píšeš jak bys reagovala na různá zvířátka, tak nevím, jestli by byl dobrý nápad, abyste někdy vyrazili někam do tropů :D Tam je těch "problémových" zvířátek fakt hodně a vlezou fakt všude :D Mám pocit, že jsi někde zmiňovala, že se letos chystáte do Malajsie nebo Indonésie, je to tak?

HiveFest? Zatím vůbec netuším, ještě je to daleko :) Ale samozřejmě bych rád jel... Uvidíme :)

Ooó, parašutisti!!😉☀️

Škoda, že se mi "parašutisty" nepodařilo při tom tandemovém seskoku z hráze vyfotit :D

Ooo I love frogs! I used to work with them when I was still doing Zoology. We had a few within our workplace that we took care of!

These are some great photos! 🍀

Thank you for your kinds words and also for being one of just a few frog lovers here :D Glad that you enjoyed this little photo collection of some very busy frogs :D

Příroda si žádá "své" :-)
!LUV
za použití #aroundtheworld

To každopádně :D A dík ;)

I used to get into with frogs in my childhood. We were afraid of touching them as they told me that if you touched a frog, you got zits on hands. 🙄

I am not sure whether they are enjoying or not because they try only one position 😁

Haha, I think we had similar frog fables here :D Toads did´t have the best reputation in my country either but that was just because of their appearance I guess. In fact, they are very beneficial to humans...

Hola @phortun. Vinimos por más de Zanzibar pero ha sido fascinante ver estas fotografías de ranas. Vaya amigo, sí que te topaste con ellas y de qué manera. Fueron amables al dejarse fotografiar en esas circunstancias :D Saludos y que estés bien.

Tu publicación ha recibido un voto de parte de "Autismo: Un Mundo Excepcional" ahora con presencia en HIVE, gracias a su Proyecto @mundo.autismo.

anigif.gif

Hello @phortun. We came for more from Zanzibar but it has been fascinating to see these pictures of frogs. Go friend, yes you ran into them and in what way. They were kind enough to let themselves be photographed in those circumstances :D Greetings and be good.

Your post has received a vote from "Autism: An Exceptional World " now with a presence in HIVE, thanks to their Project @mundo.autismo.

Conoce nuestra Comunidad / Meet our Community
Bienvenidas las Delegaciones / Welcome Delegations

Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thank you for this kind feedback, always a pleasure to have you stopping by my blog :) Saludos!

It's always a pleasure to visit your blog and appreciate your content, your blog is a relaxing, even therapeutic, very natural place.

A hug 💙

Wow, that is a lot of toads. I can't say as though toads are my favorite, and I am glad I haven't seen any that big around here. I am sure they exist out in the woods and stuff, but if I saw one in my yard I'd probably freak out. I have a feeling one of the hawks that fly over would probably snatch it up.

Well, this particular species is the European Toad that is native to Europe only but I just checked it out and you guys in the US have some toad species over there too. Interesting ones actually :) Yeah, not many people´s favorite animals for sure but in fact, toads are very helpful in gardens as they eat a lot of pests...

That makes a lot of sense. I know I have seen them around the yard, just never that big. Usually they are tucked under a rock here or there or something. We get quite a bit of water in the yard behind us, so I am sure we have all kinds of amphibians back there!

Well, you are right, they are not the most attractive species of frogs of all that exist, but they are also living beings and deserve respect, besides you are also right in saying that they are very important for gardens with many pests, but above all shown I do not know why I was surprised that the female is much larger than the male, I guess it is the one that defiernde creas of predators.

Thank you very much for your feedback, some very wise words here :) Oh yeah, the females are much bigger than males. Sexual dimorphism can work the other way round too sometimes :)

I didn’t find them disgusting (or ugly) enough to not continue reading this post. Lol nice photos.

I’m not a big fan of frogs, especially in rainy seasons when I’m walking near bushy areas and they jump on me all soaked in water at night. That is what freaks me out or should I say disgusts me about them. The thought of wet frogs on my legs:(

Well, the thought of wet muddy frogs jumping on me is not really comfortable to me either :D I know there are some giant, like really giant frog species in Africa so I can imagine some people out there see these animals in their nightmares :D

I used to be afraid of frogs when I lived in the tropics. I did not mind them croaking outside because it added to the charm of the night but I just did not want any to hop into our home and it happened once to often. I have even had one on my foot - gosh I was screaming blue murder. Hilarious now when I write it but it was not funny then. I think I would still want to keep away if I see them.
They are beautiful in their own way - so I looked at the whole post. Just do not want them hopping on me. lol

Hehe, another one who doesn´t mind looking at the toad unless it wants to jump on you :D Here in my country, as little kids, we would catch them and hold them in our hands... But not everyone of course :) But we have "cuter" frogs here too, like the tree frogs etc...

lol - I am happy that you could do that as a child. I think I just learnt to dislike them back then. Now I will continue to admire their uniqueness from afar. 😄

Glad to know that this post helped improve your attitude towards frogs :D

These frogs look really old haha. I am not disgusted by frogs and I don't think they are disgusting animals. I hope people are more careful with them and don't hit them.

Looking old, that´s an interesting observation :D I was already feeling a bit awkward and inappropriate taking these pictures of them so I didn´t ask them how old they were, they all looked pretty busy :D Thanks for stopping by man!

They definitely look very busy so I don't blame them or you haha. At least you took the photos without disturbing them. That's the good thing 🤣.

Who knows, maybe some of them were exhibitionists so they may have even enjoyed the presence of me and my camera :D

Looks like your hundred frogs are about to turn into a few hundred soon. They are cute in their ugliness but I wouldn't kiss one of those tho...eww😆

BTW...Guess who?

Thanks for this comment Lady Bug, I mean Lady Rainbow :) I wouldn´t know about your new "identity" otherwise... :)

You are welcome!! Well I just sprouted up last night like a dandelion in concrete, I wanted to chase down my old faves, of course you are one of them! I'm glad your still here. 😍

Well, you know... us Hive fulltimers (or wannabe Hive fulltimers :D), we kind of have to bere, no matter what :D

I wish I made enough to be here all the time!! Maybe someday I can win the lottery and be a full timer too. Works sucks the fun out of everything 🤣 I'm probably gonna have to go ghost again for a month or 2 in a couple weeks now that I just got back.

Wow, 15cm?! That's a massive frog! I love frogs tho! ☺

To jsi už zapomněla, jak můžou být staré dobré české ropuchy velké? :D

:D zapomněla no :D ale teď jak jsi to zmínil tak se mi vybavují vzpomínky :D

No vidíš! :D Mám pocit, že jsi byla taky "devadesátkové dítě" a k takovému dětství chytání ropuch patřilo :D

Přesně. Jsem devadesátková :D

A omylem jsem downvoted tvůj koment :-O A nechce se mi to vrátit :( Jak z toho ven? aw

Všiml jsem si (toho downvotu) a říkal jsem si, že to byl asi omyl :D V pohodě, klidně ho tam nech :D ;)

Joo, vyrůstání v devadesátkách bylo fajn, rád vzpomínám ;)

mělo by se to vrátit když na downvote kliknu znova nebo když kliknu na upvote ale nefunguje to :((((
do prkýnka :X

  1. léta a začátek 2000 byly nej! :)
  1. léta a začátek 2000 byly nej! :)

Oh God! How much i hate them, but from photographic point of view, excellent shots! This is the second post today with them 😁.

Oh really? Would you mind dropping a link to the other one? I would like to check it out :) And thanks!

Thank you! :D

My pleasure. Are those the same as yours? 😀

No, it´s a different species :)

Buenas fotos de las ranas! pero debo confesar que si les tengo un poco de asco jajaja! al menos disfrutan de su momento intimo jajaja! pero lastima que algunas de ellas mueran porque las personas no tienen cuidado.

Nice pictures of the frogs! but I must confess that I do have a little disgust for them hahaha! at least they enjoy their intimate moment hahaha! but too bad some of them die because people are not careful.

Thank you amiga! So kind of you to feel sorry for the frogs even though you find them disgusting :D That´s what true nature lovers do. We love all animals, no matter how beautiful or ugly they are :)

What captures, haha! They are the spring messengers! :D Somehow reminds me of the blue crayfish you posted before...

Thanks Donica! :) But honestly, I cannot really see much similarity between a toad and a crayfish :D

😂😂Both unique-looking creatures from your nature-loving posts.

Ok, fair enough :D

The pictures you used to share outside of Zenzibar were so lovely and so heartening to see people living so simple a life to this day. When we also lived in the village, whenever it rained there, after this barley So they used to come out and people were very afraid of them because they could jump very high. Sorry to hear you've seen a lot of dead frog's out there too.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. This species cannot jump high, the toads are too fat for that :D

You are right but the way it jumps fast people go scared.

Frog love is beautiful! I've got curious if the third frog in the picture would join the game hahahahhahahhaha

Actually, he was trying to join but when I approached them, he started to be more curious about my camera than the (already occupied) female :D

Ohh, we call them American frogs in my place in the Philippines. Im glad you were not disgusted by them. Frogs are huge help in nature

Really? These are actually the European Toads, they don´t live in the Americas. The American toad species are smaller :) This one is the Bufo Bufo species. But you are right, they are actually very beneficial to humans...

Opravdu krásné fotky.

Díky :) Nový přírůstek do české Hive komunity? Máš v plánu sepsat nějaké intro? Je dobrým zvykem takhle začít, ale je to samozřejmě na tobě :)

Ano, jsem nový přírůstek. Ale intro asi úplně v plánu sepsat nemám.

Jak chceš :) Prozradíš alespoň, jak ses o nás (Hivu) dozvěděl(a)?

Byla jsem na steemitu a tam mě oslovil @jjprac

you managed to shoot during a very good moment

Not sure if the frogs would agree with you but thanks :D

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

 last year  Reveal Comment

Thank you! Glad that you enjoyed the photos :)