Altering Light using Lightroom's Graduated & Radial filters

I guess I'm enjoying Lightroom so much that because it allows me to even made some alterations to the lighting of my photos.

Let me show you the final result and then discuss how I did the editing.

DSC03033-pc-1.jpg

And then here's the raw or untouched image:

image.png

As a result, I have pushed the contrast of the image to the extreme. The lighter areas have reached about 92% brightness while the darker areas have reached almost 0%. This kind of lighting spread only applied to a picture where there is a visible effect of direct light. In this case, it's on the leaf.

To attenuate the source of the lighting, I added 2 layers of Radial filter with the center at the top-right corner of the image.

image.png

I have the Radial filters to be 1.30 brighter on the affected areas.

And then to create the contrast, I have added the Graduated filter on the bottom-left corner of the image. Set it to be -1.0 darker on the affected areas.

image.png

Once again here's the final image:

DSC03033-pc-1.jpg


Have a great day!