Sunset of Southwestern Norway

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

I enjoy taking photos but never feel like I snap any photos good enough to post and show off. I don’t have a proper camera either so I don’t feel like I can come here and compete with the big boys. I have an iPhone 11 Pro Max which has a pretty decent camera for a phone and I’ve been fiddling with the camera settings for a bit lately. I finally managed to snap some photos I was well satisfied with.

We’re visiting the southwestern part of Norway this weekend to celebrate my dad turning 50. We’re renting a spectacular apartment by the sea and was immediately stricken by the seaside view. A couple of hours after arriving the sun was setting and the view became even more spectacular. The horizon turned a bright orange and I was able to partially capture the view with my phones camera. It doesn’t do it justice though.

Changing the format from 4:3 to 16:9 and lowering the exposure all the way down turned the photos from very bland and disappointing to something great. At least in my opinion. I would probably have been able to capture better photos with a camera. Of course I would have.

012D1000-96E2-45EE-AE05-2583AD3CAA9E.jpeg

20C4867B-42ED-49C8-AE39-B4A662EC1A4F.jpeg

B4777B3F-2102-46EF-8710-A6A342AE6C22.jpeg

248B637B-2AED-48FA-9709-40BF8D956160.jpeg

CFD56AC0-89EC-421F-BA16-94B765484D27.jpeg

4AF8974F-5BA9-431C-8539-0A87927E06D4.jpeg

ABFD4AB0-2837-42D4-87E6-1ACF51D1E0C1.jpeg

1E6F63FB-7316-4B42-8F93-9AB99E423E02.jpeg

I’m very satisfied with the composition of the fourth and second to last photos. The last one probably has my favorite color palette. I wish I had used that same angle, motive and color palette when the sun was still over the clouds. We can see the sun progressing down and setting throughout the photos as well which I thought was pretty cool. I was probably up on the balcony for 30 minutes to get these.

I’m definitely gonna be messing more with the camera settings on my phone going forward instead of just snapping on auto.

I’ve been wanting to get a proper camera and get more into photography but I already have enough hobby’s that are total money sinks. If anyone can recommend a relatively cheap starter camera that would do the job I would love to hear it. I’ve always had an attraction towards macro photography as well if that’s relevant information. Some of the coolest photos I’ve ever seen are macro photos.

Signing off with some bonus photos from the beach we visited today.

0C4332C5-3B1F-4BA0-BDC4-03528D970EC8.jpeg

131C7253-CABE-4F62-A2B9-0395AABF1C20.jpeg

Sort:  

These are beautiful! It is amazing how much you can accomplish with just an iPhone now. I have been using my iPhone as well. If you find any good resources I hope you'll share, I am feeling the photography itch myself lately. I've been trying to figure out some photo-editing on GIMP with little success so far. I even pulled out my camera to try to learn the ins and outs of it all. It's a hobby I lost time for and set aside years ago, I'm excited to get back to it!

I hope I can use some of the photography theory I learned in high school this summer. We have some trips plan and now that I know how to use the camera more I want to get some nice shots. Which iPhone do you have?

I use Lightroom for some light and easy editing of some pictures. Didn’t do it with any of these though, they’re all raw.

Just an SE, @oblivioncubed is always on my case for my little out of date phone, lol.

I will definitely look into lightroom, so far all my editing is just done on the windows photo editor and GIMP. I had used GIMP previously to design all of our wedding stationary and invites etc. and am trying to learn to do photo editing on it now. I love the way the different layers work, it gives a lot of flexibility, but it is taking a bit to figure it out. It is what both oblivioncubed and I use for all of our post title images.

Mate, I think you are quite picky but that's ok when doing photography work. Your photos are quite beautiful and the colors of the sunset you captured are brutal, just looking at them relaxes you. Thanks for sharing it!

I'm picky with most stuff tbh. Glad you liked the photos! Thank you mate!

Very nice pictures, you have unlocked "new hobby". They really capture the attention. The sunset is magnificent and the angle facing the sea, even the boat gives personality to the photo as well as the lifeguard in the penultimate photo.

I don't really know much about cameras and stuff, I would confirm with my phone but I hope you get a camera that meets your requirements

Cheers! Glad you liked them. We were quite lucky with having this great motive from our balcony. Just unlucky it was cloudy the next day so we didn't get to see the view again.

A natural gradient and a sea painted with the colors of the sky, fantastic photos bro, you are putting your iPhone to good use, it's great to save and share these scenarios.

Thank you mate! I was quite happy with discovering the iPhone could do this. Hopefully there's more to come! Cheers!

I love the color in that sky. This place looks so relaxing. I would love to visit there.

This place is great. I was just sat looking out over the sea for a while. It was really soothing.

I'm a big fan of staying late on the beaches of my beautiful island where I live and seeing landscapes like this. Really your photos were great my friend @pusen I LOVED THEM SO MUCH, Norway and its beautiful nature is the best. Love for these landscapes.

Cheers! We're quite blessed with our coastal landscapes, fjords and mountains up here. Hope to see some photos from your island one day.

Well, I'll write you by discord to show you some pictures, ok?

Very good photos!

I love scenery of the sea, it's always so relaxed and calming.

Good job!

Thank you! Quite the nice motive from the balcony here. I was just sat there for an hour watching the sea yesterday. Very relaxing.

Yeah... It's so good we forget about time ;)

This is totally beautiful, a marvel!

Thanks man! Appreciate the reblog :)

I remember telling you before that you use to be retailer in your post, the dedication you put into them it can be seen, but I must admit that I just noticed that you put that dedication to everything you do.

The photos are beautiful, my favorite one is that in which everything looks redder because the sun is at its best point, I think. You made me fall in love with that beautiful place.

I understand the slight insecurity we have when we are trying to do new things, but each artist has their beginnings and they are not always excellent, that is understood, but to be a beginner, your work as photographer was very well done.

I loved your post and I also loved discovering a new place to fall in love with, thanks to the fact that you caught the beauty that this place has. Keep creating! regards!

Thank you! What can I say. I don't like to half ass things. I'm glad that you can see my effort and your comment makes me happy!

I had a few photography classes in high school which helped me. Especially when it came to composition and playing with the exposure.

This place was really great. So beautiful. I'm sad that we had to leave already but it was a great weekend!

Your photos are great. Don't you think it's time to write a new one? Considering it's been a year since you wrote this.