Droning on....

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

A good few years ago, I photodocumented the construction of my football teams new home.. Rotherham United's - New York Stadium..
dji_0235_edit_edit.jpg

I spend many hours around the ground, getting inside with contractors and shot it from above with friends in a little Cessna 172 plane..

new_york_stadium_ts_aerial_shots_7791379664_o.jpg

new_york_stadium_1st_july_7482903298_o.jpg

One thing we never got round to, was taking to the air in the dark, which was something I really wanted to do to get some images of the ground from the air with the floodlights on.

However, one thing that this bloody pandemic has been useful for is the chance for me to get my drone near(ish) to the ground... With no crowds allowed to the game, I was able to get my drone up in the air to take a few images of it...

I couldnt pilot it close to the ground, we've still got to stay to the rules, but its easier when theres not 12000 fans and staff dotted around the place.

With game's running out this season, and especially night games where the floodlights were on, I had to get these images, hopefully fans will be allowed back into stadiums next season, if that happens, I wouldnt be able to do this...
nys_social_.jpg

Shot using DJI Mini 2, height of around 300ft.

Sort:  

Nice shots moth your mini. I recently tried to see how close I could get to my local football stadiums. Seemed to let me get close enough to get a good shot before warnings started flashing up on my screen.

yeah... youve gotta be careful.... hence why i did it now with no fans about..

theres no warnings on teh dji ap for this place however.. That said, I was all within limits

You picked a good time especially with the floodlights. I’ve got a Mavic pro and there seems to be warnings for everything! I only remember my height restriction and just use common sense with the rest.

Congratulations @richgaynor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 4000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi @richgaynor,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @richgaynor! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!