Ice! This Morning At Boca Reservoir

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

It was beautiful out there this morning. I woke up early without an alarm clock so I got dressed and drove to nearby Boca Reservoir in Truckee, California. Some fishermen friends of mine have been posting ice fishing photos from this lake lately so I knew it was going to be safe to walk on. The MySunset app was forecasting a decent sunrise so I originally thought I was going to be facing more east however, mother nature can be tricky, I ended up looking to the west for these shots. It was a much better scene.

The ice looks thin but please know that it was 4-6 inches thick and plenty safe to be out on. This area in particular looked incredibly unsafe, I thought it made for a nice foreground.

_Q1A9384.jpg

Both of these photos were shot with a Canon 5DSr and a 16-35mm lens. The ISO was 50, the lens aperture was f/22, the photo above was a 13 second exposure, and the photo below as a 30 second exposure. Both image were shot using a tripod and a graduated neutral density filter on the front of the lens.

_Q1A9382.jpg

20220114_092054.gif

The obligatory photo shoot selfie...

20220114_070857.jpg

Well, today is already going great for me. This afternoon/evening I plan on spending time at an art gallery in Reno, Nevada that I sell prints out of, Art Obsessions. Should be fun! I hope you are all having a great day out there too. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Great composition. Thanks for sharing them.

Thank you! I walked around in circles for quite some time in order to finally dial in that exact composition. Cheers!

Wow, amazing

I was super happy to find that little spot with the big chunks of broken but refrozen ice. Amazing indeed. Cheers!

Nice shots Scott, love the colors of the belt of Venus in the sky.
p.s. You're using your L bracket wrong, haha. 😜

Haha! Yup! I was indeed, I was shooting horizontals and instead of unlatching and relatching, I just flipped it to the side real quick. Cheers!

You captured some beautiful photos.
Cheers!

Thank you! I'm lucky to live in a place like this with so many photo opportunities. Cheers!

!BEER


Hey @triplug, here is a little bit of BEER from @scottshots for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.