Last Night's Incredible Donner Lake Sunset!

Last night's sunset at Donner Lake was a stunner! I wasn't originally planning on going out but I looked at the Skyfire app while cooking dinner and decided it would not be a movie night at home. I was going shooting!

You can see the sunset forecast down below, it was looking about as good as it gets. My first location didn't work out. I went to a spot above Downtown Truckee, however there was a house in the foreground with a big construction project going on so I had to quickly rethink my goal and drive down to Donner Lake for an easy shoreline shot. The color ended up exploding soon after I got there and I was very happy I didn't make it a Netflix night. When I get three keeper compositions from one sunset, well, I call that success. Panoramas are pretty popular when it comes to prints, verticals are often licensed to publications, and it's hard to go wrong with a traditional 2:3 ratio horizontal.

_Q1A1454 Panoramadonnersunset.jpg

_Q1A1472.jpg

_Q1A1502.jpg

All three photos above were shot with a Canon 5DSr and a 16-35mm lens. The ISO and camera settings varied but I did use a graduated neutral density filter on the front of the lens, and a tripod for all three. The top photo is a stitched panorama photo, where multiple photos are stitched together to form one very wide angle photo.

I thought I'd take a couple screen shots of the Skyfire app while out there. That dark red color for Tuesday evening is what originally got me excited. It's not often that dark red. The left screenshot is Donner Lake, the right one is zoomed out a bit, you can see where Donner is compared to Sacramento and Reno. The crosshairs is where I was standing for the shot, dock #2. That was a big sunset area!

Untitled-1.jpg

20220816_202805.gif

Happy photographer:

20220816_200155.jpg

Thanks for looking and I hope you are all having a great day!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Nice Sc(H)ott Shots! hahaha

Really beautiful images and mesmerizing sunset...

Thanks @priyanarc! It was a nice one to see.

Yes, the entire moment was relaxing and very enjoyable to experience...I bet you had a great day...

Busy day, great evening. Cheers!

Wow, insane sky!!
Congrats on the photos, really tip top. (And I'll be checking that app as well, thanks)

Thank you! Happy to let others know about Skyfire. It's not perfect but it's the most accurate one I've used.

yeah , di dit changed the name of the app? I'll look into it, I got presented with another app on their site. - But hey, on all honesty I got inspired by your sky and instead of staying doing some video edtiing, I went out looking for a sunset... no clouds however heheh

Incredible sky !

😍 cool also neat screenshots of skyfire. I have heard you talk abnout it but never pulled it up.

It's not perfect, but it's the best sunrise/sunset forecast app I've used over the years. And I've tried many...

Love your shots.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Super

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Glad you like it!