Re-editing Old Images From 2008!

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Yup, I've been at this photography thing for a while, Scott Shots Photography was started in 1998, I moved to Tahoe in 2002. 35mm slide film was my usual until Canon broke the 20 megapixel mark and I decided to go digital. I liked the images better than the scanned 35mm slides that I would print (using a 44" wide Epson 9600 printer). My editing skills have gotten a LOT better and Photoshop has had a few updates since 2008 so I thought I'd start re-editing my older images that I still like, they just are lacking...

I hope to have time to work on more older photos now that I'm in my "slow" season. Here's a few from 2008, about a year prior to buying my first smartphone (Motorola Droid 1) to give you an idea of the era.

Re-edited photo of Sand Harbor, Lake Tahoe:
_E2B1966.jpg

Here's was the image looked like on my website until today. Still a cool shot, but it definitely needed some love.
Sand-Harbor-Lake-Tahoe.jpg

YUP! I was taking selfies before smart phones, lol. I had to use the good camera (a 21 megapixel Canon 1Ds Mark III) so the camera and tripod obviously weren't in the selfie shot then. Was it even called a "selfie" in 2008???

E2B1981.jpg

Another one of Sand Harbor in the morning, the top image was re-edited, the bottom image is the old version. Also 2008.
Sand-Harbor-Morning (1).jpg

Sand-Harbor-Morning.jpg

And one more re-edited 2008 photo below. This is the first one I worked on and I forgot to save an older version it. Take my word for it, the re-edited version is much better.

Chair-at-Sand-Harbor.jpg

Ah, memories... Once upon a time, I worked with a Samsung Colorsync CRT monitor, it was a decent monitor for photographers. But compared to the beast of a monitor I work on now, well... there is no comparison. Having a monitor that covers the whole AdobeRGB profile and is calibrated with modern tools is "life changing" for a photographer. It's a BenQ SW321C monitor, if you happen to be a photographer in the market for a new monitor, I would HIGHLY recommend it.

Anyway, more re-edited photos coming soon as I add them to my website... Thank you for looking and I hope you all are having a great day!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Now and then i revisit some older works as well. It can be so much fun 😉

Right on! It is indeed. I have a lot on my to-do list now...

Canon 1Ds Mark III must have been a beast back then. bet it would still work great.

I was a bit younger and so was my back... The tripod I used to carry was a beast as well. And yup! I still have it and it still works. However, the LCD monitor on it sucked and I don't see myself ever using it again.

Wow such a big improvement. Just proves it was better in the old days lol just the photos couldn't capture it

It used to be easier to get a photo of Lake Tahoe with no people in the shot. So... yeah, it may have been better the in the old days indeed.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.