Ten Random Photos #tuesdayten

in Photography Loverslast year (edited)

Here are ten random photos for #tuesdayten

20160212_111345 copy.jpg
This first photo is the ceiling of a large greenhouse in Chicago. This is just one wing of the Garfield Conservatory that has plants from all over the world. I also like the architecture there.

20220222_121043 copy.jpg
I found these jaw bones while hiking in Arizona. At first I thought these were cow jaw bones but then noticed the size was much smaller, they are probably mule deer jaw bones.

P8152465 copy.jpg
Now for a strange chicken warming itself in the sun.

20190222_201330 copy.jpg
This is Carl the vinegaroon digging a tunnel in his cage. Sadly Carl recently died after eight years, I think the longest a vinegaroon can live is 10 years. I'll try and preserve his exoskeleton in some resin.

P9165987 copy.jpg
Here is a sunset I captured off Elk Lake in Michigan. Summer sunsets in the midwest have lots of color because of all the humidity in the air.

20150918_192809 copy.jpg
Speaking of humidity, this is a typical rainy day in Chicago. Always remember to bring an umbrella with you.

P2194242 copy.jpg
Here are a couple of great blue herons raising their young in some well established nests. Sometimes cormorants and other large water birds take over these nests.

P1099990 copy.jpg
This is a California Scrub Jay scrounging around for food in the Jack London park in Glen Ellen. That place is great for birdwatching.

P1090127 copy.jpg
Here is another bird I found in Glen Ellen. I think it might be Swainson's Thrush.

P6106673 copy.jpg
Lastly here is a strange castle shaped school. I wonder if they theme the classrooms like medieval times inside? Perhaps there are swordfighting classes and jousting tournaments there too...

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Gorgeous shots browski!

Thanks :-) they are a fun trip down memory lane.

untitled.gif

Haha that reminds me of this

The ones of the sunset and the city are just beautiful man! i loved those colors!

Humidity splits the light in intersting ways.

Great pics. I like the greenhouse colored glass and always like your city scapes. Scrub jays are probably my favorite bird. They are so active and curious and of course pretty. I always called them the hardest working bird in show business. Yeah that saying would be better if I tweaked it to apply to birds... 🤔

Corvids are definitely hard workers and smart too. When it comes to food jays are very smart at stealing what they can. Hardest criminals in the bird mafia kingdom.

That Chicago photo fits the city well - almost impressionist in a bit of a way

I shot that one through a wet window, made the light look more interesting.

The ceiling is stunning… so much details.
The chicken is funny… but when they warm themselves… it can be in awkward positions hahaha 🤣
Aawwww rip Carl. That’s a long time he lived. Cool.
Have a wonderful day today!

I kind of want to get another vinegaroon or possibly one of those cave spiders to replace him. Odds are though the next pet will be chosen by my daughter when she's old enough to be responsible for a critter.

Yep, I can see where that goes 😉🤓 maybe you find one in the meanwhile. It would be great for her to grow up respecting creatures like that. Without being afraid of them. 😊

very nice picture. I really like to see beautiful birds

I want to go back to California to take more bird pictures, so many are out there.

The beautiful combination of photos makes me love seeing birds standing on dead trees.

Thanks :-) one of these days I want to try and get a photo on the inside of those Heron nests.

That's a very good idea,if you manage to get a photo of those in his nest hehehe

I might need to get a drone to fly it up there and look down into the nest. The birds might attack the drone though lol.

Yes, of course, if the crane nest is too high, indeed we have to fly the drone up.
I wish you success in doing his

Birds are the second biggest subject I take pictures of, besides mushrooms of course lol.