Overnight astrophotography hike

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

mtbakermilkywaypersiedsaugust2021.jpg
Mount Baker, Milky Way, and Perseid meteors (4 exposure stack)

A few days ago I finally got to do a trip that I have been planning for a very long time. There is a ridge accessibly by a 3 mile (but quite steep) hike with incredible view of the Cascade mountain range. The main deterrent had been the lack of streams and snowfields to get water from so you have to carry in all the water you'll need, which for this trip weighed over 12 lbs. That plus another 12 of camera gear on top of the camping gear made it an intense hike in, despite the relatively short distance.

skylinesunsetpanoaugust2021.jpg
Panoramic view of Mt Baker (right), Mt Shuksan (center), and others

After setting up camp at a decent saddle I headed up to the next knoll to make dinner at the viewpoint and watch the sun set. After dumping some gear and water at the campsite the pack was a bit lighter, but still full of heavy lenses, food and warm clothes. Incredible views only 15 minutes away from camp. The return hike was no big deal, even by headlamp at midnight. I got extremely lucky with my timing picking the only clear day between the oppressive wildfire smoke.

IMG_4441.jpg
Wildfire smoke laying low between the smaller peaks

IMG_4680.jpg
The sun and moon setting behind city lights

About 40 miles from the nearest city, there was still some light pollution and a bit of haze, but the elevation was high enough that there was minimal impact overhead. The horizon was still impacted, but overall I'd say it was a successful trip. Mission accomplished. Even got there near the peak of the Perseid shower! I'm really enjoying astrophotography now that I have some more experience; and the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 doesn't hurt. My limiting factor is now the APS-C sensor on my 70D. Next comes investments in a full-frame body and wider fast lenses.

skylinemilkywayaugust2021lowres.jpg
Mount baker and the Milky Way (11 exposure panorama)

If you stuck around this far into the post your reward is my favorite photo from the trip. For a lack of wider lenses I had to shoot this one in 11 parts and stitch them together but I am thrilled with the results. Since I was just experimenting I had low expectations and they were absolutely blown out of the water!

Sort:  

Ahh this is brilliance!! Good Job 👌

Thank you! :)

WOW. Just WOW. I WISH I was with you!!!

I want to do stuff like that- hika, camp, shoot stars...

SOOO jealous!

If you have the chance I highly recommend getting out! This overnight was relatively easy to pull off, and it never really got cold overnight. It was very hot during the day though.

Well unfortunately we're in strict lockdown with a curfew AND I don't have a proper camera AND it's still winter here so unfortunately its all going to have to wait.

So where are you? (just so I can plan for the future...lol..)

AND it's now 1.30am so I'm going to throw myself into bed.

AND I lOVE the heat!

Goodnight! 😃

I am in the US where it's summer, and most of the restrictions are lifted. Luckily the outdoors are especially low risk for covid spread so the mountains are the best place to be. With most photography I'd say gear is less of a factor than a good eye and knowing how to read a light meter. Unfortunately astrophotography requires some fast lenses and high ISO capabilities, so that advice would only go so far... Best of luck, stay safe out (or in) there!

gear is less of a factor than a good eye So very true!

I've always said I'd rather work with someone who can maximise the product from a crappy old camera with gaff tape all over it, than someone who freaks out when the slightest thing goes wrong on a new camera and they cannot cope...😱 because it's all in the eye and the ingenuity of the operator- and trust me, some of the shoots that I've been on, both in studio and on location, ingenuity has been the key to success...

astrophotography requires some fast lenses and high ISO capabilities yep. And lots of $$$$.

I became totally obsessed with both Astrophotogrpahy and light painting for about a 3month period over xmas time (I got stuck on the wrong side of the border in a snap lockdown and lucky I was in my home town out in the country) so spent hours researching every aspect of them aswell as watching hundreds of tutorials too and can't wait to get out of lockdown, get back to work to earn the money to buy those bare essentials so I can go out and have a go myself.

And took myself and the instapro 360 down the back paddock for a few test runs - will have to find that footage...

Here are a couple of the peeps that I was watching..https://www.photographers.com.au/NightscapeImages

https://www.youtube.com/user/LightPaintingPhoto

Awesome stuff! I'm thinking of selling a few splinterlands assets for a canon 5D mk iv now that they're so cheap (compared to the original price). 5 years old and still a total powerhouse. Unfortunately my favorite lens only works on aps-c sensors so I'd have get a fast & wide full-frame lens too. Maybe a star tracker someday too. Aaaaand it snowballs xD

Yeah noice. Wish I could afford one of those but we're still paying $35.-$4k- body only...and then yeah, that never ending pit of photography that you're basically throwing your money into. I did that with video cameras.

I have a
Sony z7
Sony Nx5
Sony A1p
3 gopros

then there's the sennehiser and sony lapel mics, the lighting kits...tripods/monopods/light stands and the list goes on...minidv tapes SD and HDV) now memory cards...🙄 and on and on and I haven't used any of them in a couple of years...life- lockdowns...🙄

And now who needs big video cameras like that when they only shoot in 1080p and my iphone shoots in 4k....

And now I've had 'Wilson' my mates instapro 360 and although had a bit of a test play over xmas, have been unable to do anything with him since...

Bloody virus! Bloody winter!

This is wonderful.

Thanks! :)

These photos are absolutely incredible! Thank you so so much for sharing them!

Thanks!