Spearmint plants - Macro Photography

There is a section of mint in my yard, no matter the weather... it does great. It has seen frosts and temps down into the 20s and usually is still perky and strong. Only once during the winter did I see them droop, and it was only for an hour during the coldest part of the morning. I think because these plants grow up against the house, they have protection from the wind. Which can go a long way for plants protection, having some cover helps keep the wind-chill at a minimum.

Since they reached the wall now they must go a different direction, wonder how long it will take them to get around the next corner. Seems they prefer to grow along the wall.

The density of the mint has increased as well, last year they were kind of sprawling out but now its growing more tightly.

A Hoverfly was spotted hanging around the mint, maybe its looking to lay its larva (offspring) on the mint plant somewhere. These little larva are great, they will eat Aphids. So I am happy to see Hoverflies hanging around my garden.

The little bug finds a leaf it likes and hangs out there for a minute, maybe its laying its larva while I watch. I did not disturb it to find out.

A minute later it moves onto another leaf, I did not get the focus on the insect though.

These little bugs look like bees, but if you look at their eyes and face its a fly. And a very useful one at that.. Just like how Dragonfly larva is also predatory but in the water instead of on the ground.

Pretty amazing how quickly they spread up against the wall of the home. I started them in a small patch by the house and they quickly spread out over 10' in one year. Glad I put them somewhere I do not mind them growing, they would have to cross my walkway to become an issue, hoping that does not happen. If it does ill just have to go to war with the mint plants again...lol

Sort:  

Great photography sir thanks a lot for sharing, the mint is really useful and this is one of the most common that is grown here in my area and really love the taste of this

Much appreciated, it sure is! I like putting it in my water. Good to hear yall are making use of it too.

yes it really taste great then indeed, you should try to make the paste of that if you are used to eat spicy food

this post will help you to make the chaatni/paste

thanks

oh cool! Ill keep that in mind. I think in thai food they use mint to cool down the spiciness.

ya sure they do, I think they use only the mint paste to do that.
it seems they don't use other spices to it

I love my mint in the garden too!

We have 4 varieties in Spearmint, Peppermint, Chocolate Mint and one other one that escapes me. Not only do they cover the ground well and smell nice, we use them as well. My little one picks and cures them all year around to make mint tea which she says also helps with upset stomachs. The guinnea pigs also like a treat of fresh leaves from the garden and mint is like a little dessert!

A war with mint plants will smell awesome and is a problem you don't mind having!

Oh very cool, I have three kinds of mint.. Lemon balm, Catnip, Spearmint..

Spearmint grows the fastest but the others are pretty hardy too.

Great yall are making use of them, so far I have only steeped them in my water. Hah yeah, ive learned where I can and cannot plant them as they tend to conquer the area.

Mint serves different purpose and its actually interesting to see how it grows, I am actually chewing gum containing mint and I do that alot 😂

Yeah mint is a pretty amazing plant, I need to find more ways to make use of it for sure.

hope your gum was tasty :-)