[PHOTO SERIES] A 7 picture long artwork in the harbour close to my home

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

F5F00E99-1180-4571-958A-25519DBCE224.JPEG

I live close to one of the last places in Rotterdam that's not yet gentrified, but will, in the end. The neighbourhood is one of the important 'fruit harbours' of the city, and part of it is still in use - and will be for at least the next decade.

But, since part of the government's leases will end in the next year or two, plans exist to turn some of the harbour into housing - mainly focusing on creatives and all kinds of 'makers'.

B5902659-2E72-4745-ACB9-C65D63E59E80.JPEG

Although I see huge problems with gentrification I do see how I profit from it, as I would love to live in this very interesting piece of the city and feel like it's going to be build with 'me' in mind: where living and working will be intertwined and I will probably be able to meet many many neighbours who are as creative and entrepreneurial as me - at least, I hope by then I will have finished my studies and hava started my own practice.

7313BC1B-1C1D-4C3F-8776-B35A7A8B21B7.JPEG

De Fruitvis is how the building is called


48E36C32-E1E4-485A-9EF6-B8E8813CF5ED.JPEG

As a 'single' this is probably my favourite picture from the series, seeing as it shows some details that are incompatible with the fish theme, namely the people (posters) behind the window


561DAA19-97DF-4D97-8581-810DBE834E5A.JPEG

As you can see, way before any real investments have been done in this neighbourhood, some have already taken the plunge and set up some kind of business in the old fruit harbour storage building that are scattered around this place. And yes, where there's the beginning of gentrification there will be artist removing the grey from the buildings and adding colour to it.

290EAE71-DE65-4FE2-A3AF-0DCDAA5F9D96.JPEG

Last time I walked around here I noticed this new piece of art - it's gorgeous. The building already was stark blue - but now that was used as a canvas to add the brilliantly coloured fishes to them - fitting for the sea theme that's such an important part of the story of the city of Rotterdam and its harbour.

64CEC6F2-C9FF-43D8-B52A-C16E9576D62E.JPEG

I walked past it, took the photos, and hope I will be able to print these for my home, someday in the future, possibly only meters away from this building :-)


If you've found these pictures somewhere on the internet please contact me through my website or Instagram so we can discuss possible licences.

Sort:  

Beautifull

Thanks :-)

Those murals are so cool. I am so fascinated by street art and what it says about a community and the people in it. I am starting a collection of cool street art posts from around the world.

It's a pretty challenging mural since they really had to paint between all those white pieces of the building and still make it 'whole'. Curious how they took on that challenge :-)

Curious to see your collection, you're good at it, I'll have fun browsing the posts! :D

It is still a small collection. I have been bookmarking the ones I have seen.

Yes, painting between the bars and in that space and for it to look so cool is talent!

of course your Swoon post will be in the collection!

Ohhh that's one if my personal favourites, I'm honoured! :D

Would like to visit that place.

I think in a few years time there will be even more like this :-)

Amazing! :)

Thanks! :-)

You are welcome!

Now I have to go to Rotterdam again!

Do you know ninapelirroja on instagram?
A fellow Rotterdammer like us who makes AMAZING work! I am pretty sure you'll love what she makes