Temple Companions.

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

One common thing you would find in temples besides the god's statue in Nepal is Pigeons. Pigeons are the symbol of peace and are considered holy. The reason for them to be around the temple is that they get to feed on the grains offered by the pilgrims. Also, I have seen them mostly around old pagoda-style temples in Kathmandu. It just fills the rooftop of the temple. Pigeons are beautiful free, roaming and feeding on the grains.

1648953054002.jpg

1648953048171.jpg

1648960547614.jpg


These pigeons were less shy/scared of humans, as they usually do. Maybe they are offered love in the temple region. It's good for them to be able to feed around humans. Luckily, I was able to get some close-up shots for that reason. They would live below the roof of the temple and would dive onto the floor as they see the grains. It's a continuous observable sight around temples here in Nepal. However, the pretty little ones are caught and again freed. It goes on a continuous basis in some temples as freeing the birds is considered holy in some parts. I usually don't get the point of this.

1648953045400.jpg

1648953028910.jpg



But, they took care of themselves pretty well. Living in the flocks, these are friendly birds and it's a delight to feed them. The local region pigeon has a mix of purple, green, and blue colors with black strips on the back. Here, the pigeons looked fluffy and used to make strutting noise quite often. Temples are a place of peace, and to hear them echoing the temple with their song is healing.


Hope you enjoyed going through the blog and photographs.
Regards


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

These are some really beautiful shots of the pigeons. I have seen a lot of photos of pigeons before... but these are by far, some of the best. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for such a compliment. Really got lucky to have them close for the capture. So glad you liked them.

You are welcome, and i genuinely meant what i said! Keep up the great work.

Thank you again for the support. Means alot.

You are very welcome!

Great close ups, I always found the pattern of a pigeons feathers to be quite interesting.

Thank you so much. Its multicolor with the fluffy body is definitely a watch. A pleasure to capture these beautiful birds.

Awesome photography here, I particularly like the contrasting colors of the blurred background. It brought out the beautiful colors of the pigeon.

I was surprised by the background colors as I took the photo. Temple was in colorful ambience, and luckily the camera got snappy quick with the shot as well.
Thank you so much for the compliment and getting connected with the photographs.

They're a joy to look at, snap away and keep 'em coming 😊

Thank you so much again. Sure I will keep trying to get such shots.

In my country, pigeons are considered as symbol of peace, and yeah, they usually live in peaceful places.

Indeed. They are seen around the peaceful & soulful environment. Same here as well.
Thank you for connecting with the blog.

My younger brother is so scared of pigeons it's not even funny \o\

Makes me think... are pigeons a world-wide animal or did people introduced them into other countries, because every-single-place I've been to has pigeons.

I guess it's the flocks they come with makes him scared?
Pretty much global I suppose. Which part of the world do you live in?
Particularly here, they can be seen mostly around the temples and some people keep them for a purpose of 'animal husbandry". Specifically, they can be seen pretty much if households/farmers keep grain somewhere outside in the large amount.

I guess it's the flocks they come with makes him scared?

I asked him. He says it's because they can transmit a lot of diseases. Go figure... he's 27 now, I guess it's way past the age to be scared of pigeons \o\

I'm in sounthern Brazil

That's an interesting take on the pigeon. Looks like it's from some bad old incident>
Brazil sounds cool. A foreign land that I heard about during my very early childhood. (football craze)

You'd go nuts here with the football. I'm not really into it, but not gonna lie.. the atmosphere inside a stadium is awesome.