Crosses in St marys Cemetery

in Photography Lovers11 months ago

Crosses in St Marys Cemetery

St Marys Cemetery in Dartmouth MA, it is a Catholic Cemetery that had headstones going back to the 1800s, Now I know some find walking in a cemetery Morbid or scary, but I actually find them interesting myself especially older ones, I Like checking out the headstones for both the style of them, but also reading the names and thinking about their lifes at the times they lived and how different it is from nowadays.

That said I have read of a couple of incidents happening in Cemeteries near us recently, an older couple accosted by some youths who tried to rob them and steal there car, sadly my wife read about it also and now isnt keen on me visiting the cemeteries, but one or two isolated incidents will not keep me away from them, and often I visit them early morning when they are quiet and I tell myself safer.

Anyway enough of a waffle to start the post lets get to the headstones that caught my eye for this post, which are all headstones with Crosses on them


St Marys crosses_.jpg

Sony A7iv 49mm F11 1/80 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This first one for Donovan is from the 1920's I believe

and this next one for Kenney and Keavy, I love when there are fresh flowers growing by the headstones


St Marys crosses_-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 46mm F11 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and another one, you may note that all of the names so far are of Irish Descent, that is because when it was opened originally it was for a predominantly Irish Catholic Community, and with me being of Irish Descent myself perhaps thats why I find checkign out the names particularly in this cemetery so interesting


St Marys crosses_-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 37mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And Sullivan another Irish name and this one has a celtic style cross and is perhaps my favorite of these


St Marys crosses_-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 38mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Closely followed by this cool cross


St Marys crosses_-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 75mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/tattoodjay/re-leothreads-dey8413a
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tattoodjay ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I love walking in the cemetery. When you think about it, you can almost feel the reverberating grief and peace and the history cannot be denied. Nature is trimmed back a bit but the birds and squirrels have their way. Most of them up here are like sprawling back yards with chunks of stone scattered and make for great walks.

thats how I feel about cemeteries,

Nice classic headstones. I like the old ones like this. Sometimes modern headstones are a little too much. Great photos 👍

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.