play ball

in Photography Lovers11 months ago

play ball

On the weekend i did a visit to Buttonwood Park as it was a nice day and finally I was feeling like my energy levels were picking up, I took a nice hour long walk and felt good afterwards, so I thought great I am finally getting back to normal

The blossoms were out and I took a few photos of them which will be another post, but it seems as well the pollen levels were high I woke up the next morning suffering from allergies and feeling like someone had hit my head with a baseball bat, which is a good way for me to transition to what this post is about in the park a group was playing baseball and I got a few shots which I will share today

Starting with a couple of shots of the catcher, first standing up


baseball in the park_.jpg

Sony A7iv 245mm F8 1/500 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and then crouching down waiting for the pitcher to throw the ball


baseball in the park_-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 329mm F8 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And one of the batters, this time when the ball came low and made him jump to avoid it, you cant see the ball hiding in the flying dust.

Speaking of the ball I did try to get a few shots of the batter hitting or close to hitting the ball, let me just say there are no clear shots of the ball in this series and you will have to wait and see if I do a follow on post or not to see if I had any success


baseball in the park_-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 174mm F8 1/500 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Same batter as he came back down from his jump


baseball in the park_-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 174mm F8 1/500 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Another batter, clearly about to swing but no ball in sight in this shot


baseball in the park_-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 218mm F6.3 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and yes another battery all set to swing


baseball in the park_-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 209mm F6.3 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


and a shot of the field and small crowd of players and supporters to finish off the post


baseball in the park_-7.jpg

Sony A7iv 50mm F6.3 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.628254 lat -70.952496 long Buttonwood Park New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/tattoodjay/re-leothreads-ditntt3v
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tattoodjay ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 610000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 620000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Getting action shots is tough. You basically have to take a burst of shots as the ball is coming and hope you catch it. I have tried to get the perfect shot many times while watching my nieces play softball. It's a lot of luck honestly. Mostly because you never know if they are actually going to hit the ball or strike out!

yes indeed it is tricky, I took burst shots and will try and catch another game soon and may try another lens and different settings, but was fun to give it a go

It looks like you did really well!

I really like the way you managed to capture the player in the air, I never manage to do it in my photos, I would like to learn how to do it 😅. good shots anyway. 👍

thanks I got lucky with that one of the guy in the air, I had mu camera on continuous burst mode which helped to get it

even though there are safeguards, you have to be careful, the pattern is very hard and the blows are very strong

Aw man, this reminds me of my own boys playing baseball in little league. That was always fun and has some good memories.

glad it triggered nice memories for you :)

The all American sport 🙂 Good to hear you are out and about even if the allergies made you pay for it haha

ohh yeah was cool to watch the game for a bit, i ended up with getting an infection in my sinus so am pn antobiotics but soon I will be out again

Wow! Even though you couldn't get the ball in one of these shots, you've got some great action shots here!

thanks it was fun to try it

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.