A few canyon favorites

Below are three favorite images from photographing local canyons this year. Hopefully you like green!


The View

This is a composition I've been playing around with for a few years. It's a fairly obvious shot when you visit the location, so I think it really benefits from nice conditions, like heavy fog. I think I've finally settled on one that I like... Although the lone, skinny tree still distracts me somewhat.

Image settings: 20mm, f/10, 1/10s, ISO 200



Canyon Song

I shot this while testing a pre-release lens for Venus Optics and it's one of my widest portfolio shots at 12mm! I'm often hesitant to shoot ultra wide in the forest because it can pull too much sky into the image. However, this was a fairly narrow canyon with incredible textures everywhere so it worked quite well!

Image settings: 12mm, f/13, 1/4s, ISO 200



Verdurous

Another image I created while testing the aforementioned lens. Also shot at 12mm, the big difference here is that I actually brought in some sky. Typically on a sunny day this is something you'd want to avoid, but there is one thing you can do to make it work quite well: incorporate the sun and diffraction spikes! And just like with the previous image, there was a ton of beautiful texture to pull in and incorporate.

Image settings: 12mm, f/13, 0.6s, ISO 100

An additional exposure was blended in for dynamic range.


If you liked these photos, let me know which is your favorite and don't hesitate to let me know if you have any questions!


Find me elsewhere on the web:

$5 editing tutorials - use code BLACKFRIDAY22 at checkout!
Tutorials: https://tristantodd.gumroad.com
Website: https://www.tristantodd.photography/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tristan_todd_
IG: https://www.instagram.com/tristan.todd/

Sort:  

This scenere really suits for 12mm lens I think, cool shots!

Yes, I find it's quite fun in canyons! I've tried to use 10-12mm for forests but I've found it extremely difficult.

Green canyons seem to have more going on! hahaha Awesome shots!

It's actually a struggle. They often have too much going on in the tighter sections. Usually in the form of giant, unsightly log jams!

I love greens!
Excellent images Tristan

Thanks Casey :) You came to the right blog for greens lol

this one is really stunning man! that long exposure worked really well

Thank you! I really want to shoot more canyon images like this. Shooting into the sun is a lot of fun.

These are magical

Thanks my friend :)

Beautiful photos! This place is definitely heaven for the soul in my opinion. The place you go to recharge your batteries.

The healing effects on the mind are real. I love it so much.

Congratulations @tristan.todd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 42000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.
You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.
You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.
You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!