Vancouver and its dark city nights

"'Vancouver Commute'"

I love the rain, which is probably a good thing because I live in Vancouver, British Columbia. Sometimes it feels like it rains for months on end here. Recently it rained so much, so quickly, that all of our arterial highways suffered catastrophic failures, cutting us off from the rest of Canada by ground.

Thankfully things are normally not quite so severe. The rain is refreshing and soothes the soul, and though nothing will beat a rainy hike in the forest, I love to wander around the city when it's pouring! I find it's a nice way to shake things up and cleanse my creative palette.

"'City Streets'"

The pouring rain transforms the mundane into the magical. Colorful reflections are everywhere and cars kick up mist and illuminate the falling droplets. And of course, all the umbrellas come out. I haven't yet figured out why umbrellas are so compelling in photos and videos, but I'm always on the lookout for the perfect moments with them.

"'Rain City'"

Light softens, and everything begins to feel straight out of a movie. I find it to be a very nostalgic sort of feeling. It's comforting.

"'Lamplighter'"

It's a great time to observe people. Most people become hurried, eager to escape the unrelenting soak. I feel as if I'm the odd one out, taking my time. There is no rhyme or reason when I go for a walk in the city in these conditions. Sometimes I'll loop around an intersection or block a few times. Sometimes I'll sit in one spot and wait for the right elements to fall in place. For the above image, I stood near this crosswalk for about ten minutes, waiting for events to line up, which feels like an eternity in the cit. A car, just out of frame, suddenly illuminated the heavy rain and person waiting to cross. I love these beautiful, fleeting moments.

"'Better Days'"

The approach I take to city photography is both similar to the way I approach my landscapes and very different. I focus on atmosphere and depth, but that's where the similarities end. I shoot with a 50mm prime lens, often with the aperture wide open at f/1.8. Getting everything in perfect focus does not matter to me here. I skip the tripod. The ability to adjust and compose swiftly, in low light, is paramount. The inclusion of people is critical to providing a sense of immersion, compared to my landscapes which rarely feature anybody.

Thank you for reading. I have a selection of city images on the blockchain: click here if you'd like to take a look!

Sort:  

Nice shoots! Ohh man, I'm in love with this city!

I've only been in Spring-Summer Season and that year, it hadn't rain more than 3 times, in 2 months. So I didn't get the chance to feel those rainy vibes, But I guess its nice although I'm not much a 'rain lover'. :d

Glad you love Vancouver :)

Unfortunately these days summer can be quite dry. This summer we went a record 52 days without rain... we were devastated by heat and fires. And then all this crazy rain happened, destroying all of our highways to the rest of the province. Nature is crazy!

Those lights in Gastown 🌟😍 Beautiful photos

The photos are very beautiful

Congratulations

So cool, I miss Vancouver but not how much it was to stay there. This reminds me of Taipei Taiwan rainy nights. Very similar vibe!

Amazing pictures. Remeber me the cyberpunk style at Vancouver Commute & City Streets.

You are a Great photographer.

Congrats!!!

Wonderful rainy day street shots, @tristan.todd.

Congratulations @tristan.todd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @tristan.todd! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi, i read that you shoot with the 50mm lens in aperture f/1.8, i think you do it that way cause the low light at night so you don't get a huge contrast, but i do think that for this kind of images we need to shoot in aperture f/8 and use ISO to get more ligth, maybe you can try it and tell me if it work for you.

Hi! Unfortunately there is not enough available light for me to stop down to f/8 and crank the ISO, especially since my lens does not have stabilization. It would result in extremely noisy images with very little dynamic range. I already have to raise the ISO a bit, even at f/1.8. I actually prefer the shallower depth of field for these images anyway. It's one of the ways in which my approach to city photography is totally the opposite to my landscape photography.

That used to happen to me, think about changing to a mirroless camera. Check my latest post, i writed about my Canon RP

Yeah, mirrorless cameras are really good for that. Unfortunately cannot afford one yet! Maybe if I sell more NFTs, lol.