Winter Illumination In Roppongi Hills

December in Japan is usually very bright because of winter illuminations. In Tokyo alone, you could find it in a lot of places. Ever since I lived in Tokyo, I have never missed going to Roppongi Hills to see the winter illumination. Every year people gather to see it, especially because Tokyo Tower can be seen from a distance. The thing is, the crowd was 2 or 3 times more than the previous years, probably because tourists are now allowed inside Japan. Also this time, I explored the nearby garden which was illuminated too.

Winter Illumination In Roppongi Hills


Saturday and my boyfriend invited me to have late lunch with him in a nearby Chinese restaurant but when we got there, it was already closed. After thinking deeply, he told me we'll be eating at Roppongi, which is nowhere near home and people scream luxury over there! I was not dressed extravagantly but at least, I looked decent. 😅

Tokyo Tower as seen in Roppongi Hills

The building next to it doesn't look so nice blocking the view 😅

After a quick lunch at Shake Shack, my boyfriend left for work but advised me to roam around before going home since I was already in the area. I was in a dilemma if I should watch a movie or just roam around, pretending to shop. I still have a cough so the movie theatre wasn't a good option then I remembered it's December already, and an idea came to mind: why don't I visit the illumination around here for the 3rd year in a row?

Mohri Garden

Mohri Garden

I went first to the Japanese garden. The grasses were filled with blue lights looking like water. I should have brought my camera with me but my phone will do for now.

Pathway in the Japanese garden

Remnants of autumn in the sea of blue color?

Event was happening in the covered area so you can see pink lights

The Mori Tower in Roppongi Hills seen from the garden

This garden has a pond in the middle so it's nice to see the water's reflection like this.

The pondPond

When you get closer to the artwork, it's not a connected heart but when viewed farther, it's connected. It's a simple art but it's nice to look at that people take turns in taking a photo of it.

Heart in the middle

Not a heart?!

Heart

I discovered the garden was being lit with blue because of the movie, Avatar: Way Of Water. The grasses were like water, and water connects all things, life to death, darkness to light. Ooops, that's a line from the movie, not mine. Better watch it in the cinemas near you. (endorser LOL) 😅

AvatarAvatar looks creepy LOL

Keyakizaka Illumination

Love this view!

The whole street, aside from being so crowded and regulated, was being lit up so brightly. This is located at the back of Roppongi Hills.

So beautifully litted street

Cars were actually passing through here

Wonder how many lights were used in this illumination..?Oh look, there are still leaves on some trees like this

People living in this building must be so rich to be able to live in this luxurious area

The first time I came here 2 years ago, I really think it was so magical and up til now, I still think it is. Being under these trees so bright, I felt I was experiencing a White Christmas over here.

The reflection of LV shop on the right side added up to the nice illumination effects!

I just discovered the view at the top was also nice because of course, not so aerial view but for me, you'd feel overwhelmed if you're on the street than here at the top.

View from the footbridge

Tokyo Tower hiding in the tree

Tokyo Tower standing in the middleBright night

This view is really so nice!

View on the other end of the footbridge

Here at the top of the footbridge, there's actually a line to be able to take photos of the street and it's also being organized by the staff of Roppongi Hills.

Different trees on the other side

The other side wasn't so crowded like the other

Christmas Market

Christmas Market entrance

After getting cold outside indulging myself with the bright lights outside, I went inside and discovered a crowded Christmas Market. There were Christmas items that you can buy and food too! I saw sausages when I was passing by. I think most Christmas Markets in Japan are influenced by Germans, I'm not sure about this theory but that's what I have observed.

People getting food

Gift shops?

IDK what this is but awesomeCloser look

The Christmas Market is not so large. I only saw a few stores. People like Christmas Markets like this because it's intriguing for them. I saw signages of Amazon here so I think this event was sponsored by them. I was also about to get my fill of wine and sausages but I was discouraged by the crowd and my wallet too so in the end, I was just watching them until I got tired.

More people buying stuff

Spotting Christmas Trees

There were a few Christmas Trees that you can spot while roaming around Roppongi Hills.

Not so tall Christmas Tree you will see when you fall in line to take a photo in the footbridge

Will make a sound when you step on its carpet

The first one I spotted was when I was on the footbridge, waiting for my turn to have a photo. This Christmas Tree wasn't too grand but when you step inside its small red carpet, you'd get to hear sounds from the tree. There were 2 red carpets, so you'd get to hear 2 sounds as well. It's really fun and I saw some people having fun with it.

White and sparkly Christmas?

The 2nd one is grander than the first one I saw. It's located inside Roppongi Hills in the west section. The design is so unique because it seems like glass, you can see color reflections. It also felt like it was floating. It's interesting to see so I took my time to appreciate its beauty.

A closer look

White to blue?Orange now
Blue is nice color tooLooks floating, right

It changes colors reflected on the tree for every few seconds. I didn't want to debug how it does it but I can see lights being shone upon it. 😅

Cartier sponsored Christmas Tree outside

The last one I saw was outside. It's noticeable enough before taking the long elevator going down to the station. As you may have noticed in the photo, it's sponsored by Cartier.

Newly opened

Like a movie theater I've seen in movies

They just recently opened here in Roppongi Hills and the store was so grand. Many ladies people have been taking photos of its unique layout, and of course, the handsome man outside.

The handsome man everyone was looking at

The handsome man was attracting a crowd

Darker


Christmas is felt here in Roppongi Hills. I personally enjoyed looking at the decorations they did. Actually, Christmas in Japan is for lovers which are so different from what I have been used to in my home country, which is for family. Here in Roppongi Hills though, I get to celebrate it even alone because of the illumination and the events here and there.

Even if you're not a Christian, I'm still wishing you a merry merry Christmas! Happy holidays to you and your family!


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my iphone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  
What beautiful things you saw! Love all those lights! You got some wonderful shots of them, too! Funny thing — right after you mentioned not having your camera and the cell-phone would have to do...? that next shot is one of my faves! 😁

Wow really?! Thank you kittygirl! I thought my phone couldn’t give justice to the beautiful illumination here but I guess it did. ☺️
Happy my phone was able to capture it beautifully too.

I’ve always known there would be an event in this place but I’m always trying to avoid coming here. But everytime I avoid it, I always end up coming 😂

Wow 😍😍😍@wittyzell . The place looks incredible and amazing.
It's fascinating to see those illumination of lights around😉.

Thank you! It's so magical, right?

Yes indeed, it is😊😍

Oh wow! All those lights look absolutely amazing 🤩 The first picture (and a few others like it later on) looks like the whole city is covered in snow ❄️ 💙

IKR! Even when I have been here 3 times, I'll never get tired of it. I think it would look more awesome if snow is falling.

I’d love to visit Japan one day 💙

I hope you can come! 😌

Cool to see another perspective of the Roppongi Hills illumination. It really has been my favorite so far this year. The shot from the pedestrian bridge of the lit up trees and Tokyo Tower is one of the best scenes in Tokyo.

I forgot to mention the indoor, light reflecting tree in my post. I liked how they put that together and the color changes it would cycle through.

Wonderful pictures. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Oh wow, I have not been so online lately I might have missed your post about it.
The shot from the pedestrian bridge takes a little while because there were many people waiting in line 😅 but waiting is so worth it! Love the view from there!

Merry Christmas!!

Looks dope witty😃 .
The blue really catches the eyes...

Santa may think Avatar is trying to outshine him😂😂😂
Guess all people in Roppongi is going into the naughty list 😂😂
untitled.gif

Hahahaha! Santa wasn’t informed Avatar is trying to steal all the attention 😂

Not Santa climbing down the chimney expecting chocolate chip cookies and milk...
But getting a half leftover movies🍿 popcorn and a water bottle with avatar's face on it😂😂😂😂

My gosh! It's beautiful! That effect woth Winter Illumination is a perfect place for a proposal to a love ones. Like, they are just walking then all of sudden the boyfriend bend his knees, get the ring in his coat and then kabaam! WILL YOU MARRY ME? KYAhhhhhhhhh!! My imagination 🥴🥴🥴😍. But seriously, ang ganda ganda jan, you are so lucky to witness all this in flesh, me is so inggit!!

Hahahahahahaha ruffa talaga oh with her wildest imaginations but can’t blame you though! I think it would be a great spot for a proposal but I have yet to see one!! 😂

Hahaha, ehhhh, pero why, baka mga shy type pipz jan gusto private haha. Sayang naman ang ganda ganda pa naman ng place aguyy

Hahahah! Di ko rin sure pero baka nga shy type! Gusto ko pa naman makakita ng may lumuluhod dito hahaha

I enjoyed looking at each photo. I love the trees, they really look magical. Have a happy holidays!

Thank you! It’s really so nice looking at them.. Enjoy your Christmas!

Christmas in Japan is so bright with these illuminations everywhere! Merry Christmas, @wittyzell !! 🤩

Merry Christmas guys!
I think Midosuji Illumination is the best in Osaka.. or IDK hahaha

Huhu lingaw gyud kos imong mga Japan blogs ay. <3

Hahahaha naabot na pud ka dire 😅

naabot pod ko sa roppongi pero sa omotesando hills ko ato nag picture2 haha

Wow po sis @wittyzell very impressive beautiful gorgeous amazing po ito. I loved all the photos

Thank you! I couldn’t believe my eyes too when I went there 😉

The lights and decor are beautiful and fascinating. Thanks for sharing and the virtual tour. Happy holidays and Merry Christmas. Stay safe.😊

They were incredible, right? Happy holidays to you and your family too!

So interesting to see two Christmas places in time so different in temperatures... just realized.

You get the beautiful frozen climate... me, 20-30 C and amazing beach time... 😂👉😎

Can we make a fast maglev between Japan and New Zealand please!

That would be awesome! To escape the cold, I could go to NZ in an instant 😂
I miss beach time.. Right now, it would be too cold to be in the beach 😂

Wow - the trees look spectacular - that must take them ages to put up !!!
Merry Christmas !
!PIZZA
!CTP

Nah, I doubt.. The Japanese are known to finish work overnight 😂 But maybe designing it took time. 😅
Merry Christmas @hoosie!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@hoosie(9/15) tipped @wittyzell (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal