Marian Coffin's Garden

in Photography Lovers4 years ago (edited)

Delaware is a small state - only three counties long, north to south. It takes typically less than two hours to drive from tip to tip. With such a small state, it's somewhat surprising to find that there are still places within it that I haven't come across yet.

Yesterday my youngest and I did some exploring in Wilmington after coming across "Marian Coffin Garden." The name has nothing to do with coffin's, or cemeteries, or anything of the sort; rather, Marian Coffin was the name of the architect of this particular garden.

_DSC8216.jpeg

The garden is on the estate of a now-abandoned mansion that even has an entry on atlasobsurca. The mansion itself is cordoned off and not open to the public, but the garden is open year-round.

_DSC8219.jpeg

There was so much growing foliage that I wasn't able to get a good picture of the mansion itself, but it is visible from the garden. I'll need to go back in the autumn or winter for some more pictures. Despite that, I really enjoyed the garden.

_DSC8238.jpeg

The current owners of the garden have made effort to replicate even the statues, and what was once a swimming pool is now a flower pond.

_DSC8269.jpeg

Personally, I felt the statues and other architecture were the highlight of the garden. It was a calming, serene place to be. What is interesting is that I have driven by this place on numerous occasions and had absolutely no idea what was behind the big wall. I had always assumed it was just a mansion owned by a family who valued their privacy. You can see the wall behind the statue here.

My son was with me and refused to be photographed, though I was able to get this fleeting glimpse of him:

He was decidedly not as impressed with the garden as I was, despite all my attempts and pleas to find some intrigue and, dare I say it, even magic, in the garden. I tried to impress upon him that something amazing and magical is beyond this door; his answer was that the road we parked on was beyond that door, and that he could see it in the crack between the door and the wall.

Nor would he even look at this statue of Hermes.

And here are some other statues that didn't seem to faze him at all.

And who doesn't need a face leering at them?

Personally, I think this would be a wonderful location to relax on a sunny afternoon.

I will definitely need to go back in the autumn.

Edit: Adding to Pinmapple!


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Amateur photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. I dabble a little in a lot. General all around problem-solver and creative type.

Founder of Photo 52 weekly photography competition.

Expert generalist. Jack of all Trades.

Dad.

Tags I Use

IUR5Qh1mwwwiebe.gif

TEAMUSAhivewww.jpg

gPCasciUWmEwHnsXKML7xF4NE4zxEVyvENsPKp9LmDaFv4rFd4GjFSqgd6wMshaM2pPRU1cWcAYkTseXCjw1g3BNnem5AUvQeBfzWLo7u4wsnAfDTcRud5oKf95t64GFLoYqWHVrK4QM5aggDC.png

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovtrdY6hpB9DwvnK1CGqBZsP6rw2AVPXxC5BYEBagf3avrokm8Uc1CrWKk94WppMibYNPLgXnLDkyCJoryipDM6Yn.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Ah, a Coffin twist...

I was really hoping there'd be at least headstone in the garden. Alas.

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you!

I take it your son is quite young and find cold bits of stone boring, but not young enough to be fooled by your magical story about the door. I have to give you full marks for trying though! 😊

By the way, I'm part of the @Pinmapple curation team and we are dedicated to curate travel content on Hive. We'd love to see your post pinned to the map https://pinmapple.com/. Just click on the 'get code' at the top of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon!

Oooh, pinmapple! I used the same service on Steem. Glad you pointed it out to me! Thanks!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #881.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That garden looks like a neat spot to explore with younger kids. Your son is a bit older now and lost interest in discovering new places since there`s mo magic.

For sure. Now if it was a computer museum, he'd be all over that.