Sublime Sunday out in the woods: The Secret Pond and the "blue" forest (Highlights from my Summer hike)

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Starting today in Spain we face the second heatwave in a month. Temperatures are expected to reach 47 C in some parts of the country and that is why this was my little "heaven" and a "sublime Sunday" to get ready to cope with the extreme heat of the following week. But this lovely day out in the woods enjoying crystal clear cold water ponds, lush green filtered light, buzzing bees and insects... Summer Green Kingdom teeming life.

292751125_730268434856773_1937501720491810046_n.jpg
Above some highlights of my last hike... The forest is my happy place! All locations in Quinto Real (Navarra, Spain)

First we visited my "secret pond". I call it that way because I have never seen another human there. We found it once by chance and I stepped in to refresh, thinking it was shallow. But it's actually very deep and you can swim properly in it. I have filmed several of my videos like "Gelfling Song" and "Spellbound". I never tire of the place and it's a recurrent spot to visit that shifts drastically through the seasons. But in Summer, with the canopy of the forest concealing it, it's a shady cool haven full of dragonflies and tadpoles and a gurgling small waterfall. The fact that is not a touristic place and no one seems to know about it makes it so special. My little secret corner. And I'd like to keep it that way

poza -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

I usually go for a swim there, it's rather deep, but I was a bit under the weather and even if I never shy from gelid waters I felt it was better to wait by edge and splash in the shallow parts (that were full of cheeky tadpoles). I used a little waterproof case for my phone and tried to film some videos underwater... but though they turned blurry and I need a proper action camera for that I filmed some small videos that I'll edit soon and share in forthcoming posts. :)
You can see a little fragment in this link from my instagram, it's just a small fragment.
https://www.instagram.com/yidneth

I've not been feeling at my best and I needed a day of "forest bathing". As I have mentioned in many of my previous posts this is a "therapy" that seeks healing spending time in nature. So I prepared some lunch and we headed there (one last fresh day before the heatwave strikes)

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (7) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

And the gurgling creek... Everything is so lush at the moment, like a fairytale

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (3) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

The blue forest

My favourite colour is green, and during summer, the beechwoods turn so green that everything under the canopy gets tinted by the filtered light. But something extraordinary happened just before dusk. I don't know if it was the slight haze that was building up but the light scattered different and suddenly all turned into turquoise, blue and lilacs... These pictures were taken by my phone and does not reflect the vividness of the moment, but it is not a mistake of the white balance of temperature of the camera. It looked blue to my eyes too. It was a short and ephemeral moment, and everything looked as if it were under a fantasy filter... but it felt very magical.

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (1) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

MYXJ_20220709195113988_fast.gif

Did you know that hugging trees make you release oxytocin? It's the hormone responsible for happiness and feelings of "bonding" and "belonging" so hugging trees indeed makes you happy. I already made a post about it 3 years ago but I think it still deserves a read if you're interested. https://hive.blog/nature/@yidneth/the-evergreen-oak-encounter-and-why-you-should-hug-a-tree

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (4) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

So what is your happy place?

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (6) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Some people love to stay at home and read comfortable or watch their favourite movies... some people love to go to the city and enjoy the many amenities the urban life provides... what is your happy place?
Needless to say for me that place is deep in the woods, walking barefoot on moss and bathing in hyaline creeks.
Forest is home...

IMG_20220709_201114 -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Look around you and worship the beauty that there is...
Don't miss the details

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (2) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

poza_priscillahernandez_quintoreal (5) -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Support me following on my network. Sígueme en las redes

unfurl.jpg

Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Thanks to @c0ff33a for the Sublime Sunday tag initiative and @ace108 for Beautiful Sunday

Please comment to encourage. I will upvote every meaningful feedback with proof of reading
Until next! And thanks for your support!

Until next!!

yidneth.gif

BY THE WAY DID YOU MISS MY PREVIOUS POST "RUNNING UP THAT HILL" I made a cover of the song and I'm really proud of it so here is the post as I'm still grateful for some feedback in that one
https://hive.blog/hive-175836/@yidneth/my-cover-of-running-up-that-hill-tribute-both-to-kate-bush-and-stranger-things-music-video-and-making-of

Sort:  

Looks like a beautiful place to spend a while in :) Especially on a hot day like that owch x_x

watch out for fae

Thank you. Yes it is way cooler up there. We are now mostly indoors until next monday because the heat is scorching 🥵

Beautiful, these kinds of places really cheer me up.

linebreak.png

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!

Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!

Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...



linebreak.png

Wee thanks

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupcurator(1/10) tipped @yidneth (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @yidneth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello idneth

Yesterday I was watching the movie "DARK WORLD"
The picture of jungle i similar like the move and the lead charater was also like you. She could read invisible energy. Are you the same person from the movie?

Dear @yidneth, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveBuzz proposal?
It recently lost its funding, is struggling to get back above the HBD stabilizer proposal, and is in dire need of help.
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

On behalf of The HiveBuzz team, thank you!