Rising Star: Rags to Riches, 1

in Rising Star Game3 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I last wrote something but I had been picking up on Rising Star again. I first tried it last August or so when I first started on crypto gaming but I didn't last one day there. I am more of a film buff than a musician when it comes to the choice of (traditional) entertainment and I was looking at money earning potential more than anything by then so I didn't really give this one a chance.

But now that I am interested in trying more games just to explore the whole market, I am here once again. Alien World had open up my willingness to try out a lot of the clicking-and-wait kind of game and Rising Star is certainly one of those. I figured if I am playing one, and I will need to click-and-wait anyway, I might as well play more of those.

So here I am, and I will try to explore if this game is viable as a F2P2E option. I started Splinterlands this way and I am just an avid F2P gamer. I am used to it coming from a country that doesn't have a strong economy and being from a regular family. I pride myself as a F2P, and I want to try if these games are truly "P2E" and not just having that as a marketing word.

My rules are simple: I will not put money into Rising Stars besides those I earned through Starbits. Giveaway are allowed as long as I am paying for them for more than I can afford with Starbits -- and most are free anyway, so yay!

Starting Experience

As a totally free newcomer, my first few days were spent on a lot of missions. The four free cards drop I get from 100 to 130 missions are Buster, Cheap Car, Pizza Box, and Mid Range Mic. I don't know if they are the same cards given to anyone but all I got are nothing to be overwhelmingly happy about (I do appreciate them) and I think the best card I get is the Pizza Box.

It really helped me in accumulating the drunk fans and continue to farm up missions. I started with the plain 10 (and then 20 with Buster) fans so I can only do the first mission, Illegal Busking. My whole game plan is to do it enough times that I get drunk fans then I push through to the higher tier missions. On the luckiest day of all, I was able to get to 150 fans and my go-to missions are 1x busking with a license -> mid week support slot -> 100 energy spent, so eat a pizza -> repeat.

I accumulated about 9,000 Starbits before I got to level 15 and hit a wall.

Ego

Much like real life's musicians, ego has been a true beyotch on my side. I didn't know this mechanic until I hit level 15 and it changes how I play or approach the game.

staking.png

It also doesn't help that I staked all 9,000 Starbits on projects for the extra income and now I need to wait to unstake them.

My idea is simple. I don't want to accumulate ego just by farming the first mission which is not worth the Starbit earned per Ego. Instead, I am looking to get enough fans to hit the better missions. So, I unstake all of them and I will be ready to spend them on the Fan booster cards.

I am very tempted to spend and I would do it if I am not on this self-imposed F2P challenge. I am looking at the 100 fans for 10000 Starbits but I think I will go with a 50 fans for 5k Starbits to start. As I can only do the first mission without getting lucky with drunk fans, it will take too many ego for me to farm up another 700 Starbits to get the 100 fans card right away. So taking 50 fans and starting farming the higher tier missions is the way to go for me just for more bangs on the bucks.

To get ready for the increased fans count and eventual missions grinding, I am doing a lot of skill improvement missions while I wait for my Starbits to unstake.

grindon.png

F2P start is always slow and patience is super important for this playstyle of mine. But I look forward to eventually get the fan boost and be ready to earn more Starbits.

You know what they say -- It's a long way to the top if you want to rock'n'roll.

#RisingStar

Sort:  
Connect

Trade


@goliathus! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!

Congratulations @goliathus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

!PIZZA

!BEER

Connect

Trade


@goliathus! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @nupulse.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @goliathus, here is a little bit of BEER from @nupulse for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post original high quality posts once a day and use the #risingstar tag to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@goliathus! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @risingstargame.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @goliathus, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.