Rising Star: Rags to Riches, 2 (First Pack Opening!)

in Rising Star Game3 years ago

Hello everyone, it's time for another weekly report of my rags to riches challenge in the world of music.

ego.png

This is my progress so far into the end of second week. My ego is currently at 264 after a lot of missions throughout the week. I got plenty of STARBITS, sunk all of them into fans (so I can eventually get to the 300 fans for the final mission of zone 1), and I am skilling up at the moment to get ready for further grinding.

Admittedly, playing this game F2P2E is slow, which is as expected and my bad luck in "E-bagging" 😆 didn't help. I got no hit in all the giveaway so it's all honest work.

But I do think that playing this game F2P2E, or really just any F2P game out there, provides a whole different experience, which I will illustrate better in an image:

f2pexperience.png

You see, when you are starting in these game with a solid budget, you are like the protagonist of a movie. You might be new to the scene, but you are ready to go and you got all the talent in the world to eventually get to the top. In The Maze Runner (2014), where the picture is from, it took the protagonist just a little bit of time to solve this maze where the others were stuck there for years -- and that's how easy you feel when you start this game with cards ready. It's like being 0-0 as Mike Tyson, you are a legend in the making, you just aren't there yet. In Rising Star, you still have to grind up some mission counts on zone 1 (Home Town) before you can move on, so you got everything and you are really just going through the process.

Me? I am like that dude on the back in this picture, not even a face cuz who fucking care about a sidekick with limited talent? And that's how it feel starting without anything in this game. You truly feel like a busker - and not a very talented one at that - and you are just doing everything you can to get a chance, to find a stage to perform. That kind of reflects the entertainment industry very well in a way. I might not be the most involved or knowledgeable in the music scene, especially the indie part of it, but I know there are hard working people who work for their dream everyday. They might not have the budget, or the luck to hit it big just yet, but they are talented and they are doing everything they can to eventually hit it big. Sounds like how I feel playing this game my way and I like feeling that when I play a game, nothing beats starting from the bottom to the top.

And the best news of this week? I somehow got 8 VIBES on my wallet from...I don't even know where I get them, but I assume it has a lot to do with me blogging around here. I see those as money I earned with the game and I am allowed to spend them in this quest so I went and buy my first pack! I know it's more economically-viable to sell the VIBE and buy STARBITS as I think the 10,000 STARBITS are cheaper in USD value but hey, I want to stick to my own self-imposed rules here and I am buying that pack with 8 VIBE itself.

FirstPack.png

The most exciting moment of my play time so far is rather...unhelpful to me at the moment. I am hoping for fans or skill boosts that can provide me with instant help but this not it. Still, cards are cards and I am happy to add some to my collection. I can probably sell them for more immediate help but I am a fan of just have them stay in my collection, for now.

That's all for my sharing this week. I hope I can get out of the first zone in a month and I am half way there. Let's see if I can truly be on target with that goal next week.



Interested in becoming the next Rising Star? start your journey right here!

#RisingStar

Sort:  

Packs are like that. Sometimes we love the open sometimes we loathe it. It's a risk we take. That's why some players prefer only to buy cards in the market. I like taking the risks though in hopes I find a legendary card. Hasn't happened yet but we keep hoping!

Yup I play enough cards game to know that usually packs are -EV (Some games have +EV in the cryptospace though, another reason why crypto is wonderful) but it's just so fun to crack them. And I don't really mind whatever I get, just a little sad with no fan or skill boost.

I know right. When you get those super rare cards it makes 8t all worthwhile. I buy then in case I find epics or legends. I'm yet to find a legend.

Have you gotten straight fan and skill booster cards in packs though. Or are they just available on the market.

I bought them from market straight up. It's the safest way to hit what I need to get out of Home Town. I could be gambling for weeks if I want to do it the pack way.

Indeed. I like the gamble for the epics. But I have been buying a few on the market as well.

Your current Rank (83) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 49%

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post original high quality posts once a day and use the #risingstar tag to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@goliathus! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @risingstargame.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @goliathus, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.