Rising Star: Rags to Riches, 4 (Reflecting on First Month)

in Rising Star Game3 years ago

image.png

Hello everyone, I can't believe I had played the game for a month now as time truly flies by in life and yet I am here as a slightly more developed musician than ever.

As one would expect from a F2P2E player, the progression is slow, but honestly? Very doable. If you had read my first entry, you will know that I had tried this game last August or so but decided to not play on because it seems like too steep of a curve to start as a F2P2E player who has absolutely no plan to buy in for more than the bare minimum -- which in this game, is no cost at all. I think I just did the first missions a few times and then just decided it's not worth it, not with the STARBITS price at that time. It was a different time where I put money earning potential far above everything else and that's just the wrong way to approach the game.

I think another unhealthy mentality, and I think it's one that a lot of people have as well in the current time, is the expectation of instant gratification. I was like "yeah, this game ain't worth playing cuz a pack is worth freaking 10,000 STARBITS and I am earning freaking pennies over here with 10 STARBITS per mission". Yeah, no shit, what do you expect without giving up anything?

I might be going off-topic a little bit here but I think this mentality is a big thing in real life as well. I have seen too many people want to get everything but not do anything. Shit, I have worked for bosses who think like that, and color me no surprise that their businesses didn't advance at all. Personally, I think this is that kind of mindset that makes scammers thrive in this world.

Credit

Ponzi scheme exists for how many years now? Yet, it's still taking money away from people everyday. What about all those scammy "guru" lessons where I see on Youtube ads every single day? Easy money for those gurus as well. And there are products like fat-losing pills and etc as well, that all abuse the fact that people want to be rewarded quick and easy.

As I cut myself from this mentality, and just play the game to play the game, and not to "get rich quick", I easily stuck with it. That's how it should be, play the game for the game. To be fair though, Rising Star does allow instant gratification if you are happy to invest on cards, but that's another topic.

My point is that (many) things do take time and effort. You can only reap the rewards if you start. I can admit that I am the kind that struggle with consistently doing the same thing for a very long time. But I have been also been trying to tell myself that a lot of great things come from a long build, be it a fitness goal, or even acquiring the skill to do something at a very high level, or even to write a fiction book (or any kind of creative project, really).

When you just do and don't overthink, things do really get easier to get into. The starting part is obviously slow but it's not as hard to get into as I thought. The next few missions have much better payout and I just farm up everything I got until I hit level 15. Then, it was much slower, as I suddenly have to go into skilling to cut down my 100% ego. But anyway, my point is that things aren't as daunting as one imagined when one starts trying it for real.

Thank you for coming to my TED Talk.


Credit


But to bring it back to the game, last week's been decent for me. Though I will admit that I think this is the point where the game goes into a stagnant phase where there's nothing huge happening for a while and I will be sticking and grinding for a bit.

I did open one hell of a pack - and forgot to screenshot it - that contains R55 Bruce, 17 Moon Child, and 15 Limey. All these cards have been really great so far. With a single drunk roll, I can get my fans into the 500 range and do Radio Studio Session, which I think is far as I will go for a bit. I am happy that I have progressed much further than I initially targeted -- my first month's goal is to get Saturday Headline done and I am way over that.

And one final shoutout to all the players doing #RisingStar giveaways out there, as starting the game wouldn't be as easy as it is now without all your help!



Interested in becoming the next Rising Star? Start your journey right here!

Sort:  

Glad you are enjoying Rising Star Game for what it is 🤘

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post original high quality posts once a day and use the #risingstar tag to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@goliathus! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @risingstargame.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)


Hey @goliathus, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @goliathus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your post was manually curated with a 100% upvote for playing Holybread