Virtual fame with Rising Star

in Rising Star Game4 years ago

I am now a couple of weeks into playing Rising Star. This game has been built on Hive by @risingstargame, aka @atomcollector. It is still an alpha, but very much playable. There is a good community building around it who are very active on their Discord channel. There is even a live video show every week featuring music by people involved in the game and card giveaways. Just writing this post puts me in the draw for a pack.

Busker

Founder players get to choose a different card to use initially and I decided to switch the the female busker for a change. Those cards to the right come into play later when I need to form a band. I have various musician cards already from packs I have bought using funds from powering down Blurt as well as with the Starbits tokens I earn by playing. I get more of those if people play after using my referral link.

The numbers below this card are important. You gain fans from cards, as well as 'drunken fans' who hear you perform, but may forget you the next day. More fans means more Starbits per mission, but if they outnumber your skill level then the 'ego' in the top left comes into play and reduces your earnings. You gain skill from cards and also from music lesson missions. The latter reduces the time you can be earning, but the game needs some ways to slow down progress. At times I have to put cards back on the market to reduce my fans, but I post them at silly prices so they do not actually sell.

The IM (income modifier) points will come into play later on.

The energy bar determines what missions you can do. It recharges gradually, but you will need the beer and coffee cards to give you a quick boost if you want to play all day. The game does favour those who can check in every few minutes as the quicker missions tend to gain you more. Log in is usually via Keychain, but there is a way to do it on your phone too so you can play when out and about.

I am on the second phase of the game called Local Gig Circuit, but have not reached a level that allows me to do all the missions yet. I can still play the earlier Home Town missions. If I am away from the computer, or just sleeping, I kick off a longer mission to keep things going.

Some of the cards will end up quite rare, so it is worth getting into the game early to have more chance of getting them. I find that the potential value of cards in a pack can be more than the cost of the pack.

It is not a particularly interactive game, but the strategy and trading aspects keep it interesting. You can also listen to music from the community and I have heard my own song on there.

If you are a new Hive user you can join in and earn some extra crypto with no requirement to spend anything to start playing. It is possible to make enough to buy the pizza and coffee cards that will prove essential. You get free card packs after 100, 500 and 1000 missions. If you have other Hive Engine tokens you may be able to use these too as cards can be listed using any of them.

Will you join the game?

Rock on!

Sort:  

I was just looking at dcity but it seems I might need to make an initial investment on that to get going. It also looks more complex, though I love strategy games in general so I'll eventually check it out.

This seems more doable for now, think I'll take a look!

It's not exactly deep, but strangely compelling with a very active dev (who's English), and an evolving roadmap as you play. It also takes up little time which is why I like it.

Get yourself on discord for the full experience.
https://discord.gg/RpPvRA

Lord knows I sink enough time into gaming as is (Civ 6 has me in its grip atm) so little time needed is good for now.

Screenshot 20200804 at 17.22.09.png

Indeed I am! :-)

!BEER


Hey @slobberchops, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I've not looked at dcity yet. I also play Splinterlands which requires you buy a starter pack, but I got a free one when I went to Steemfest. I've still spent a fair bit on each game, but it comes from my crypto earnings.

To start with you can just do the busking mission. Keep doing that for a few days.

Yeah I just started my first busking mission, woohoo! Hope I'm a better singer / musician than I am in RL. 😄

Seems nice and easy, bit like a mobile game. Suits me for now!

I've sent you a couple of Fan Boost cards I don't need any more. You may need to use the blue Refresh button on the cards screen to pick them up.

Thank you! That'll help. I've just managed to complete my first open mic night. 🎸

Cool. With the busking you do more missions, so have more chance of finding pizza and coffee to keep you going. I've done 540 missions so far and I know someone who has done over twice as many in the same time. I try not to get too addicted to games.

I did join the game :)

It's just the right pace for my taste. For the moment it is more entertaining than Splinterlands, for example.

You gave us some great tips, about fans and ego and putting cards to the market, ...

I am at the level 15 with just 90 permanent fans so I have a long way to go to reach your level.


Hey @ervin-lemark, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The drunk fans become more of an issue as you go on. I have given away some fan boost cards. Lessons are essential.

You can work through the levels fairly quickly if you can keep doing missions. Are you buying any cards or packs?

I bought just two so far. I'll buy some more. Thanks again.

I haven't heard of this game, but it would seem the Hive is getting increasingly creative. Games like these bring a lot of value to the blockchain. Thanks for sharing.

We have games based around music and !BEER. What more could you want?


Hey @justinparke, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

the mid range guitar seems elusive! i suspect that certain players have been buying multiples with the intent of limiting access to the second phase unless you pay over the odds and restricting progress of the newbees

I would hope that is not the case. The community has generally been supportive. I will sell mine to someone who needs it.

There are a load more guitars on the market now from the main account at reasonable prices. I would hope people don't hoard those. If you need any cowbells I have plenty :)

I may keep my one acoustic as I'd like to have one of each card.

This post gives you one entry into next week’s prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post one a day and add the link to eh #hive channel in our Discord to get more entries.

!BEER

Entries so far this week:
1 @ervin-lemark
2 @itharagaian
3 @nastyforce
4 @ervin-lemark
5 @steevc

I'm yet to actually give any chain games a decent try. Might give it a go

Nothing to lose with this one. They are very open to suggestions on features at this early stage. Lots of potential with the music industry such as festivals, drug problems, groupies :)

i just got myself out of the local circuit and needed the mid range guitar for that but yessss. Im doing radio interviews now heheh

Cool. It gets more interesting as the drunken fans build up and you need lessons to keep the skill up.

I totally would, but I just don't have the time these days. I can barely keep up with my daily quests on Splinterlands. Maybe once school gets going I will have some time, if it isn't too late by then. Maybe it will be in Beta by then too!

It could be a fun thing to get more people onto Hive. We can create accounts for them. Not everyone is a blogger. Playing this game does not eat up too much time. You can do the longer missions and then it may just be pressing a button once an hour or so. I play it as I do Splinterlands battles too :)


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.