Starting New Cannabis Seeds

in WeedCash Network3 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone,

Tonight I planted some cannabis seeds for the next round of plants.

I should have done it about a week ago at least, but sometimes I procrastinate with things.

This is an assortment of bag seeds, no known strains. I'm planning to acquire some known strains, either from someone on the blockchain or wherever I can get them.

If that tickles anyone's fancy, perhaps we can arrange something ;D

Here's some photos of my process for planting bag seeds currently:


image.png


I'm utilizing two 3D printed seed starter trays that I found on Thingiverse.

I'm fortunate to have a 3D printer, and find it opens up all kinds of possibilities for gardening. My blog @print3dpro is not active right now but I intend to get back to it, and just ordered some filament.

I use PLA (Polylactic Acid), a really cool bio plastic (Wikipedia polylactic acid) that will break down over time with this kind of use, but I imagine it will take a while, as I've already used these trays a few times and don't see any noticeable breakdown in with the material.


image.png


I've been using this medium called Pro Mix for a couple of years now, and have no complaints with it. I recycle it in a 20 gallon bucket with blood meal, egg shells, and Jobe's organic fertilizer, but for seeds I never use the fertilized medium because it's not necessary and will burn the seedlings from too much nitrogen.

I'm getting low on it and am undecided if I will use the same brand again, but overall I like it and feel it's a decent compound.


image.png


The six seeds on the right are all from the same plant, so I will plant those in a tray and label it. I feel confident that the cannabis the seeds came from is Indica, which is preferred in my small grow area, even though I prefer Sativa.


image.png


These are all of my cannabis seeds right now.

The fat bag in the middle was given to me, and I have had a zero percent germination success rate with these, and have tried at least twenty seeds. This doesn't happen with seeds I pick out, and plenty of them looked burned. I can deduce that half the seeds in this bag were in joints and cigars and whoever was collecting them must have thought burnt seeds were acceptable to keep :/
Someday I will probably just plant these all outdoors somewhere and see what happens.. but it's doubtful that I will ever try growing them in my home again.

The bag on the right is my main stash of seeds I've collected for the past 4 years, and are completely random with many different unknown strains.

The one labelled purple cheese is not purple cheese, I'm pretty sure of that.. It was just labelled as such from the person who sold the cannabis to me at that time. This is the seed bag that yielded me the nicest plant with my current harvest though, and I have over 20 of them left. I intend to pollinate some females with males out of the bag and obtain more of these seeds. I sure do wish I knew what it was, but I'll probably never know. I can just have my own special unknown strain. Don't really care if it's fire, which it is..


image.png


I pop a pinky down in there, and then drop the seed in. (ensuring to dampen it a little first with a spray bottle)


image.png


I don't bury the seeds very deep, and have always felt cannabis is pretty forgiving whether or not you go too shallow or too deep. My germination rate is usually around 70-80%, which I feel is pretty good!

I've never tried any other methods for germination, but maybe I'll try some different methods in the future. It seems like a lot of seasoned cannabis cultivators like to germinate before adding to the soil medium. I could imagine a few different reasons why this might be preferred over putting an un-popped seed in the soil.


image.png


I never would have guessed how hard it is to spray a bottle and take a photo at the same time so the stream gets captured.. it took a lot of tries, and we were getting close to saturation point so it worked out perfect.

I like to keep the medium close to saturation during germination, and these starter trays make it really easy to maintain that saturation.


image.png


I placed them on my work table for now while I get my tent ready for the new round, and labelled one mm for mini mart, because it's all the same strain. The unlabeled tray will likely have vastly different types of plants. I find it exciting, because sometimes really cool and unique plants come out of that assortment bag.


image.png
Amazon product


Just ordered another one of these these LED lights too. 145 warm light + 5 blue light , considered a full spectrum LED lamp light, and currently priced at $18.99 USD.

It's only my opinion, but for what this lamp is capable of, it's well worth this price. Especially for someone on a budget who can't afford expensive equipment or high electric costs.

I really like this grow light. There is no comparison at all to the small red/blue spectrum panel LED's that I have, and I'm willing to bet adding a second one will give me a substantial boost with bud thickness, density, and overall yield.

I was able to get this light for free, with sat rewards from this site I use called Bitrefill. I bought my entire grow set up with crypto through this service actually, and when you buy gift cards, it gives you sat rewards that just build up, then eventually you can cash out a new gift card with just the sats and buy stuff :D
https://www.bitrefill.com/buy/?code=lzozpxak
https://www.bitrefill.com

That's a ref link and a link without the ref. If anyone uses the service and uses my referral link, I'm very grateful thank you. I've been using this service for a couple years with Eth, and it's very easy to use, and generates instant gift card codes after transaction confirmation, with no need for human interaction on the other end. It comes in handy for those times when dipping into crypto might be necessary, while cutting out trading for fiat (which might be problematic for some) and getting a direct payment method for the products you're seeking.

That's all for today.

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you're all having a great day! -@futuremind

Sort:  

Another great post bro, and I like those little cups!
Have a great night : )

We have a seed bag.. no telling what's in it lol. I told Doug the other day I wanna try growing again. We'll see.. maybe it'll go better this time. My last attempt didn't go so well lol

I wish you the best if you decide to do it! Yeah there's never any telling how bag seeds will go 😅 I hope you get some nice ones!

Promix is great stuff. Especially for the fact to start seeds in, and to give you more control since it is not loaded with nutes.

Yeah it's been pretty good to me, especially with the seedlings.

where do you live?
murica?
how many plants are you allowed to have?

America , New York State.

New Yorkers 21 years and older can grow up to six plants in their home for personal use (3 mature plants and 3 immature plants) and a maximum of twelve plants per household (6 mature plants and 6 immature plants), even if there are three or more adults over the age of 21 in the residence. source

Misdemeanor offense if this is violated, and enforced.

Not likely to be enforced where I live in this state, and it's likely I will continue to break this unlawful law.

I like the term, break the unlawful law 🤪 looking forward growing more crispy pizza material.