You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor Garden Update - Cannabis, Venus Flytrap, Devil's Ivy

Hey Jacob, I'm glad I saw this before I fell into a food coma after MY day of yard work (two days actually, gonna try and hold out long enough to fix a proper blog post... did you see the pic I sent you in Discord DM?)
I really didn't know there WAS any other name but Pothos for that vine, and currently I am not sure if I have any... I have a heart shaped vine that my niece says is a type of philodendron (sp?) but yes, I draped it around the window over winter.
Now it is draped over a wooden limb I saved last year for just this purpose
20220430_180726.jpg
It's not looking very healthy. I've got some English Ivy I'm gonna start in a separate pot to train over that.
In the Air Force, my roomie and I had pet Boa's, kept in an aquarium. (dry of course) when it came feeding time we'd charge 50¢ per head for the guys to come in and watch the snake catch and eat the rat we'd bought for it!
Ah.... those were good times!
Be well my friend

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

Sort:  

The Pothos and Philodendron are closely related in the Araceae family.

Initially @owasco helped identify that it was this type of vine, and in its early development stages it did resemble a Philodendron a great deal more than a Pothos, but as a fully developed plant now, it's undeniable that it is a Pothos when inspecting photos on the internet.

In the photo you shared, I believe your plants have a war going on at the roots, and one of the plants is clearly winning.. but that vine doesn't die easily, and with your green thumb there is no doubt you will revive it to its full beauty and good health.

In the Air Force, my roomie and I had pet Boa's, kept in an aquarium. (dry of course) when it came feeding time we'd charge 50¢ per head for the guys to come in and watch the snake catch and eat the rat we'd bought for it!

That's a really cool and creative way to cover feeding expenses 😂 and well in line with your creative ingenuity.

I hope you have a beautiful day ahead my friend 🤗

PS. Some interesting information I found:

Philodendrons are an popular container plant that can cause poisoning in humans and pets because of the oxalates they contain. General symptoms of contact dermatitis with the plant juices are erythema (reddening and inflammation of the skin), itchiness. Ingestion will quickly cause painful burning and swelling of lips, mouth, tongue, and throat. -source link

😲 I shore t'ain't tinkin' 'bout munchin' on any of dem!
ha ha ha thanks @futuremind

!1UP

Not sure what that means

Araceae family

I almost thought that's Arcane you wrote, funny me.

!1UP

Not sure what that means

I curated your comment from one up cartel.

Well, in that case, thank you very much