Gluten Free Millet Bread

in Cook and bake4 years ago

The other day I made some bread because my mom gave me some millet flour. It was actually my first time making bread, and that also shows on the end result. Sorry @apsu, your community is now ruined with bread that looks like blob fish. Actually, they don't look that ugly in their natural habitat where the pressure of the water keeps them together. Anyway, back to bread.

Recipe

  • 2.5 dl of millet flour
  • 1 dl of gluten free light flour mix
  • 1,5 dl of oat flour
  • 4 tea spoons of psyllium (fiber that improves viscosity)
  • 6 dl of water
  • 20ish grams of old yest
  • tea spoon of salt

Yeah, so the yeast was about a month old, but according to internet it's a fungi and thus doesn't really get old, albeit might lose some of its effect. And or course, we always believe everything what it reads on the internet, so that must be true!

DSC_0602.jpg

Anyhow, it seems like the yeast worked, since the above was all dry ingredients and yest water mixed, and after 30 mins it turned out as follows.

DSC_0603.jpg

Now, I'm not sure whether I should've knead the dough or something, but the instruction on the millet flour package just said that then the dough goes into a bread mold. Well, there wasn't one available so I just put it on a casserole.

DSC_0604.jpg

This is why it probably turned out looking like... well, if not exactly like bob fish, at least a bit like a deformed bread. Or maybe it was the oven. Yes, must be the oven, it's always the oven. But really, the oven seems to be retarded for reasons I don't have the energy to go into. It does taste like bread at least, but the bottom was left raw, meanwhile the top of the bread is crusty, couldn't keep it longer or otherwise it would've burned.

Well, that's about it, first time making bread, not a huge success, but edible nonetheless.

DSC_0609.jpg

DSC_0607.jpg

Sort:  

The bread looks good, especially on the inside. Those are real nice looking bubbles in there. Gluten free baking is surprisingly difficult.

Did it taste any good? :)

It has good bubbles on the top, but the bottom for some reason was left raw and without bubbles - that's what makes me think that the oven doesn't cook evenly.

Bit it did taste decent :D

That's interesting, but it might be because of the oven. But still, really good for a gluten free bread.

Onko sinulla tai jollain muulla keliakia, vai leivoitko gluteenitonta huviksesi?

Huomasin aikoinaan, että gluteenin jättäminen pois vähensi huomattavasti iho-ongelmiani ja sillä linjalla mennyt edelleen kun taipumus niihin edelleen on.

Sehän on hyvä :)
Kannattaa syödä sitä, minkä itselleen hyväksi näkee.

Oh nooooo I found the post through @apsu and hoped for a gluten free bread revelation (I find it very hard to make... ok, honestly I only believe it is hard to make, I never tried, but always want to). Yours looks good on the photo but a raw bottom is not so yummy. If you go on experimenting, I would be very interested in the outcome... Do you in general eat gluten free or was this just for curiosity?

Yours looks good on the photo but a raw bottom is not so yummy.

Yeah, it was left slightly raw, but I'll probably be giving it another go after I've moved to another apartment.

I eat gluten free because it keeps my skin clear.

I wish you a relaxed (as possible) moving and I am looking forward to further gluten free experiments