Worklife - So how is work at the moment Zak?

in WorkLifelast year


Source

It is AWFUL to be a Safety Officer.

Well... I don't really believe that completely, but today it really had some awful things happening at work. At the end of the day, I think that my problem with today was that after all the goodwill that I have for the "working men" of the company, I find out that not only do they not have much respect and goodwill for ME, there are actually some of them literally trying to bring me down!

At first, I was appalled.

Then I was sickened and felt nauseous.

And finally, I felt rather angry.

All in the space of around 30-45mins. Then I had a meeting with my boss and the consultant and I felt a lot better. This is because these geniuses are making claims and accusations that cannot be substantiated at all!

After all, I have been battling against the production side of management to ensure their safety!

sigh

I will continue to apply the correct laws and ensure that people are working correctly. Basically to be a Safety Officer is to be disliked by your bosses because you need to stop them from working incorrectly and that costs money, and the workers do not like you because you need to stop them from working incorrectly and that is extra effort!

FML right?

I will soldier on! It pays the bills!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

Sort:  

I have also realized in a workplace not everything is perfect. There are times when I am trying to so a good deed and others see that I am trying to brown nose upper management to make myself look good. When as a matter of fact I was giving suggestions on how can we all improve on the teams well-being at the work place.

It truly upsets me when with good intentions sometimes the results has more harm than good. I realize... to just move on and hopefully people can understand. Tomorrow is another day~ Let personal emotions go bye bye and say hi to the next new mornings. :) Keep up the good ethical work @zakludick ! Thanks!

Thanks @whangster79 I appreciate it !PIZZA

That really sucks being a the 'bad' guy coz people think you're just over reacting and being too strict with everything. They probably don't see your value because there's never been an accident at work

Indeed. Look, it is impossible that nothing happens. But then you get another layer of nonsense where I have done the training with the staff members, I have provided them with a risk assessment and then they still decide to behave in a way that puts themselves in danger.

They then turn around and are appalled that nothing happens to ME and that THEY get into trouble.

A Safety Officer ensures compliance and informs people. I cannot manipulate their actions or stop them from being stupid. I assess, inform, train, collect evidence of assessment, inspection and training and then when they STILL tresspass the rules, then they must be held responsible.

Golden rule of any safety or compliance type job is... document everything !

I've done compliance, and I admire your commitment, I don't think I could do it again. You're right that you end up being caught in the middle as everyone's scapegoat.

The HR guy (he's on retainer from a company) said that Safety Officers tend to "break" all the time!

Well, you are doing your work right, that matters more. You are not doing a very likable job as you have admitted, so I guess it's something you have to come to terms with at some point

Indeed. Either that or break!

A tough gig stuck in the middle between the workers, production and management. I deal with 2 safety officers, one at the factory, I usually work at and the other with company I work for, It always makes my life easier if I try to keep everyone happy and work with the rules and guidelines.

Indeed. But no more moddly-coddling from me... non-compliances are going to flow.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@zakludick(1/5) tipped @whangster79 (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!