Engaging In Rhetorical Combat

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


The other day I was reading a book, well, I was listening to a book on audible. It was a book about being happier. It may not be what you think, it was actually about quieting your inner voice through meditation.

All through the book the author met with different spiritual leaders from all walks of life. One of the leaders used a phrase that really stuck with me. It was "engaging in rhetorical combat".

It made so much sense to me, and It made me recall the number of times I have engaged in just such combat over the years. Especially when I was younger. I was more like a hammer that was looking for nails.

As the years passed though I am much less likely to actually engage in this sort of back and forth. I am sure I use some rhetoric in my vlogs and content, but not a back and forth about a point. I know that sounds one sided like I will talk about something but not engage it further with others. It is haha.

I have found that life is full of observation and opinion. There may be a pretty convincing argument made my a person or an organization, but it is for each of us to choose for ourselves whether we agree or not.

To go with this, there is the growing number of things that really don't matter. At some point it is better to see the world through the lense of a child than the worn eyes of an adult.

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Inner Blocks Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3


▶️ DTube