My Response To Steemit Inc. And the witnesses 3/2/2020

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


My response to Steemit Inc's announcement today 3/2/2020.

My response may not be what many would imagine, but crap, maybe it is. I was imagining this exact scenario since the top 20 Steem witnesses made their first move.

Let me recap for all of you that are not on the Steem Blockchain.

The Steem Blockchain is a blockchain that is ran by witnesses. They are people that run the nodes that actually keep the blockchain running. They come together and update the codes and run new versions, and they keep progress flowing.

Recently, Steemit Inc. was sold to Justin Sun of Tron. He purchased the business Steemit Inc. and all of the Steem that it was holding. This is not to be mistaken with the Steem Blockchain, but just a business that is also on the blockchain.

The witnesses made a move to protect the blockchain and performed a soft fork to secure Steemit Inc's stake and prevent Justin from making any big moves with his new stake and changing the blockchain (witnesses made the first move).

All of this was done under the banner of Steem Blockchain protection. This morning I woke up to the announcement that Justin and the Steemit team were actually making a move to protect the blockchain and performed a hardfork. (Steemit Inc makes a counter move)

How do we determine who is the one that is actually making moves for the benefit of the blockchain and all of the people that are on it? Well, if you watch the video..I am sure that you will see what I think.

I am just saying that this action from Steemit Inc. was absolutely forced by the witnesses. I know this is just what they wanted to prevent, but they actually caused this.

There is now no way to ever know what Justin Sun was actually going to do with the Steem Blockchain, either hostile or not, because now this is what we have. It is the effect of a response, and we will never know different.

I wasn't going to make a video about this, but man, it is such low hanging fruit I had to. There is only one thing that I would ask from my fellow Steem Users.....

As we are on the ground watching planes drop bombs and essentially destroy or change things that we have always known....we have two choices..... to get upset with each other and choose sides and start throwing pieces of rubble at each other...

or..

We can love each other as humans and just pick up the pieces and rebuild.

I hope this online stuff doesn't flow over into your physical life. There is alot that can be learned here, both about blockchain technology and people. Can we fight our human nature?

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

At least the manual curation maybe easier now. Steemauto turned off and many other websites like smartsteem and others like a protest to all this. As a manual curator, I'm sure it will be at least easier to curate without automation. I supported the soft fork and this is what we have now. I think that was a protection and still. Maybe steemit inc also thinking that they are protecting, but at least the thing that was done was done by witnesses chosen by the community, not by only one company.

@tipu curate . Tipu service seems also not working.

It will be hard anyway to build everything again. I don't know what will happen. Crazy world.

Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate hearing everyone perspective for sure.

I watched your video here : https://open.lbry.com/@lbrynews:a/My-Response-To-Steemit-Inc.-And-the-witnesses-3-2-2020:9 are they having your permission to use your content ? They copied even the text from here. Or that's your account in LBRY ?

Thank you. That is not me and they do not have my permission.

If there will be a KYC procedure will you support it?

I think the idea of KYC is maybe jumping the gun a bit don't you think? haha

I think people already finished the race. Now I think again and may be it is a pointless question. It won't end the infinite account creation. But thanks for interest.
(think about billions of little ants eating your salad before you) =P

Bro...my salad 😔 haha

Forget it.

I cant really read your tone. I was joking haha no worries. Be well

You have spoken with so much wisdom

Thank you for speaking exactly what I had in mind.
All i see are people acting out of fear. It was totally unnecessary to be hostile at JSun and lock up his stake without a chance to discuss.

I can really see both sides. It all really does make sense. I think it has just turned into the kind of thing that now everyone has to sleep in the bed they made.

I agree.

I'm with you to love each other as humans and found what I valued most about being on Steem is the communities and will keep on building there and adding what value I can to the blockchain.

I agree. You know what is funny....the people come and go, but it is the concept of the community that keeps moving forward. People are continuously interchanged within the community over time, but it is a basic idea that holds them all together. Why would people think that the community would struggle with change?

Thanks for putting yourself out there with this. I think there is a good lesson to learn. If the "big fear" of the witnesses was valid, then their efforts didn't really work. I prefer to hope for the best and let things play out. Ultimately, this could put STEEM on a whole 'nother level, and that would be amazing for our community. Thanks @freedompoint.

For sure. I think this was a good move to put some juice into the ecosystem. I can't wait to see how it plays out!

Very interesting view of the situation. Let's hope for the best

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this! Not too long. Peace!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment