Spacewalk // Ewan Dobson Fingerstyle Cover

in DTube3 years ago (edited)


I recommend learning some fingerstyle if you ever hit a brick wall with your playing.
I played with a pick for many years and knew nothing about fingerstyle
until I discovered a player from Canada named Ewan Dobson.

I was mesmerized by his intricate bass lines and fluidity and studied him visually for a few years before I even attempted his music.
I made a start and one day it all came together.
It changed my life actually.

I learned a handful of his songs by ear and that gave me the courage to leave the dead-end job I was working in the Uk.
in 2015 I set off to Asia with just my guitar and a few grand. Hoping to scrape a small living doing what I love.
2021 and I'm still here drinking coconuts ( avoiding the sun now ) and still going :)

This is the tune that got me interested.
Spacewalk. 6/8 timing with cool bass plumps.
You can find Ewan on youtube - Ewan dobson.
Stay cool and follow your heart.
And thanks for your support.
Woo!


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

That was incredible! Covering Ewan Dobson songs is an impressive feat, and you performed flawlessly.

I stumbled on Dobson years ago on YouTube when I was first getting into fingerstyle. He's so unique, I can recognize his music 8 notes into a song ha ha.

Great work bro.

Awesome. Glad to hear that you know his tunes. What's your favorite track?
Legend of the Brown Goat is incredible. I may attempt one day.
Was fortunate to see him live in Wales UK some years back.
Cheers for swinging by man.
Woo.

I actually can't remember the name of my favorite track when I first found him I downloaded a couple dozen of his songs with a YouTube to mp3 app. The songs saved as "track 1 track 2 ect." When that phone broke I never was able to find my favorite one again. It was "track 6" lol.

I really liked "winter by the sea" it's on one of my Playlist I listen to often. I don't know if I've heard legend of brown goat. I'll have to go agave a listen

Wicked. I feel ya man.
I can throw you a few recommendations.
Machinery, Level 40 , A lovely light, Wash Away, blood and Ice... just to name a few :)

Hey dude I think you accidentally downvoted the stuff, am I right?

Yeah I haven't purposefully downsized anything since I've been bavk

No worry same bruh 🙃

Love me some Young Jeff, still full of hopes, not knowing about the cryptojourney he was embarkkng on. Just to be sure, it's pre produced and pre recorded right? Very clean

Cheers Ed man. That young Jeff is 37yrs old there :D
Pre aliens, government, and other things.
Clueless about cryptos and such too :D
That was a live take with my amp behind my phone.
If I remember I restrung the Faith guitar and was just testing the sound but I performed a clean take which is rare with Dobsons stuff :)

Love to the family man. Have a good day.

this was flawless bro well done. Love to you to ^^

Who is that handsome young man? 😗

Haha :) Cheers G. Sending good vibes man.