The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran; Pt 8

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


"You would know the secret of death.
But how shall you find it unless you seek it in the heart of life?
The owl whose night-bound eyes are blind unto the day cannot unveil the mystery of light.
If you would indeed behold the spirit of death, open your heart wide unto the body of life.
For life and death are one, even as the river and the sea are one.
IN the depth of your hopes and desires lies your silent knowledge of the beyond;
And like seeds dreaming beneath the snow your heart dreams of spring.
Trust the dreams, for in them is hidden the gate to eternity."

In this part, The Prophet talks about PLEASURE, BEAUTY, RELIGION, DEATH
.
Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet was published in 1923, written in prose poems.
It is about Al Mustapha, a wise man, who was exiled and now is ready to go home.
The people he has spent 12 years with, ask him to share his wisdom before he embarks on his journey.
.
Hope you enjoy the reading.
Or if you would rather read it yourself, you can find it on the Gutenberg Project
.
Back Picture: Photo by Engin Akyurt from Pexels
Video Tools: CrazyTalk 8, Movavi


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

This is weird. We moved house in March, and when I packed our stuff for the move, I actually found this book. I had never seen it before, so maybe it was left by the owner of the house. However, when I asked them, they had never heard of it! So this week, I was unpacking yet another box and came across the book again. Still a mystery how it found its way to me, but I guess this is a sign that I should read it. :)

Ok, that just gave me the chills!!
That is weird ;D
Let me know what you think if you read it..