I won't be Poshing for a while

In case you missed the news, Nigeria has banned access to Twitter from devices within the country. I could access with VPN service but I chose not to because screw that.

rage-6212659_1920.png

The cited reason for banning Twitter is that it is a platform that supports misinformation and crap like that. In reality, the ban was because the President had his tweet taken down and doesn't like to be made to look weak.

The beef has actually been a long time coming and there had been previous attempts by the current regime with the social media attack. It is pretty ironic when you consider that his tenure in office is based on the manipulation of truth, social media and brute force.

Due to this situation, I'll not be posting links to my hive posts on Twitter and earning Posh tokens.

This is a rather unfortunate situation for me because I was trying to get into the top 5 of the token holders. I'm still not sure what I'll ever do with the tokens but I like stacking them and watching them grow.
The other problem is that I'll be missing out on all the live Twitter scoops as they drop. I've largely depended on social activities to "predict" the market, but for now at least, I'm cut off from that source of information.

So that's my situation and my cup to bear for the time being. Nigeria is a curse that keeps on cursing and I feel very helpless being here. The plan is to get the hell out and soon that will be achieved.

Until then, I'll focus all my attention on Hive, particularly when I go back to my system later today. This is an opportunity to grow my account and make even more friends on the network.

Sort:  

Not the most ideal thing to happen.

But, I do like more and more entities let Twitter know their place. Personally, I think more countries need to do a "kicked Google out" like China.

Unfortunately, that just means out of the frying pan and into the fire for most people like us.

It really sucks man. I'm missing out on a hefty chunk of crypto social activities.

You really aren't missing much.

I find crypto twitter toxic. And maybe more people will come to Hive and other "decentralized" options when more countries exercise their sovereignty.

The country is messed up.. I am tired of everything that regards this country.

Enjoy making friends bro. Thank you for the weekend tho

Yeah that's all I can do.

That's crap. Try and circumvent that if you can.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I could access with VPN service but I chose not to because screw that.

Why not?

Just use this as a chance to set up a good VPN.

Problem solved.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Maybe on my laptop when I'm back home next week. It's too risky in my phone

Honestly, what's the risk of using a VPN?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If I turn on a VPN on my phone and open binance, it could fuck some shit up, especially if it bounces off some server int the US.

Yeah, that's fair man.

Maybe just take the time to set it up and test it properly on trivial websites like Twitter first.

But with all the government shit going on in Nigeria, I still think you should take the time to fully set up a working VPN to surf via a regulatory-friendly country.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah there's no way around it now tbh. I just got down with my wedding and stuff, so I'm not back in work mode. Once I'm more settled, I'll get around setting up something reliable.

All the best with it mate.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 3 years ago  

That sucks man. You’re kind of better off in my opinion but I’m just cynical about twitter. I don’t like them but I do know they have their purpose. This is what’s wrong with the internet, people can just decide to block a website for a whole country on a whim. Shit!

It's fucked up man. Very very annoying.

 3 years ago  

Sorry you're forced to deal with all that. Terrible. You say the plan's to get the hell out, any idea where you might go?

I'm looking at a bunch of options in Europe. Somewhere like Lithuania and other cheaper countries. I'm at the point where anywhere will do right now.

 3 years ago  

I'm in your cheering section.

What the fuck man, that's outrageous.