Introducing the Ranting, Complaining or Talking Community!

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share a fun update of sorts. New community!

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Need to Vent?

We had a pretty rough day yesterday that you can read about here. In that post @riverflows brought up a valid point. There wasn't a community for ranting!

Now I know this could be a pretty dangerous community in some regards however we all need a place to let loose some anger or put down words that don't really fit into other communities. There are lots of good free-write places and others where you can write things but I didn't feel great bringing my negativity to the place. Apparently the topic was sort of on-par with what they had for a prompt however I still felt bad doing it.

In comes the ranting community! I think this could be a fun place to just let loose some things that have been on our mind. We all have something of the sort! You don't even have to do it on your main account, you can create a fake account just to put your thoughts to writing. Have a dedicated venting account if you want! I don't have any real restrictions set up for the community besides:

  • Nothing Racial!
  • Adults Only (since we don't want kids to see some of this stuff lol)
  • No downvotes if you disagree with somebody. The purpose of the place is to just have free reign to post things, respecting those minimal limitations. This isn't a hard and set in stone rule but being a dick about these minimal rules will get you muted.

The other thing people could use it for of course, is just shooting the shit! I know there are a hell of a lot of places for that on here so I don't know if it will be used for anything related to that however I don't want it to be restrictive to just ranting and complaining. Post about the most random things you want, I don't care, have at it! I can't guarantee anything here will be rewarded but that's not really the point. Engagement and a place where you can talk if you want is the point.

I've set up a few mods for the community, though I don't know if they really even care but it's still there if anyone wants it!

https://peakd.com/c/hive-196233/created is the link to the community, which you can of course access by clicking on the green community button on the top of the post.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,040 PRE tokens, with a market value of $35.13. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

I hope people use this as an outlet.

 3 years ago  

I know me too! Sometimes it's just an entertaining thing to read and interact with. Obviously the concept is a coping mechanism as well, it's good to get thoughts out there.

I think this sounds great, but I think it would be fun to also encourage downvoting. It can itself be a form of venting, and you can't downvote a post negative, can you? A good rant should almost make a person want to vote it down, they could be seen as a badge of honor 😂

 3 years ago  

Hmm good point here lol let's see what others think of that! I don't care, I just don't want things to get out of hand and people turn things from here to more down votes outside the community. Can't guarantee that won't happen as some people can't handle disagreements but let's see!

 3 years ago  

Get some bro! Nice work my man...I'll have a post or two in here for sure.

 3 years ago  

Sounds good man, I'm hoping that more people turn to it for what they need!

 3 years ago  

I'll do a post in the next few days, draw some attention to it. It's hard for small accounts like us to grow communities, I know as I have three very small ones, but stick at it.

Me too. It's just now there's a community, I'm feeling unusually calm and unranty. Won't last though..

 3 years ago  

Your calmness shall pass into rantiness at some stage. I know this.

Yep, you know me!!! I am just glad I have an excuse to do it now, you know, for the sake of community and Hive, you know?

 3 years ago  

It's all for the community Riv...Your generosity is boundless.

 3 years ago  

Certainly for community and Hive! :)

Great idea. I believe this could be just what Hive needs. Maybe it could have its own token and all posts decline payout except for rewards in this token. It could end up being bigger than Leo.

 3 years ago  

Yeah that would be cool indeed. I don't know if the pad would be as high as leo but it's got promise I think! Good idea for declining rewards. Can't down vote something that's got it declined lol. Or set to 100 burn.

I could donate some BEE tokens if that is the direction you would like to take it.

 3 years ago  

I will see how it goes! I'm trying to create another project that will have a token so I need to focus more if my extra hive on that. Of the community takes off though, I think it would make sense!

I think this community could be a safe space to vent indeed, will definitely give it a follow, and I'm curious to see what content will appear.

 3 years ago  

Thanks! I'm glad you will check it out. I want to think that all kinds of varying content will show up so let's see what folks come up with.

Excellent. Now I have nothing to rant about. Sigh.

Can we have a challenge?

 3 years ago  

I was thinking of hosting two challenges. One to create a logo for the community and one to generate interest in the community. I wanted to do the logo one first or do you think that should be second?

 3 years ago  

I dig it @cmplxty, very nice. @angryman @lucylin, I've never seen either of you rant but in case you're thinkin about it.

 3 years ago  

Thanks man! I'm sure some folks will be interested in using it. I have some topics lined up for it, just need to take the time to write them lol. Would be nice to get a fair amount of subscribers eventually!

 3 years ago  

If you don't mind one at a time, I'm in. 👍🏿

There isn't a community really just for comedy. A rant channel is perfect.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Oh for sure! I'm all about slow and steady progress. That's how I've accumulated the hive I have! Trying to ramp up a little bit in some regards but you can do what you can!

I would love to see people posting comedic stuff here, would be awesome!