AI Is Lots Of Things And Some Of Them Its Not

Free The Glutens! It's one of my favorite phrases to yell out at inopportune moments. It is not something that AI excels at turning into 1930s Soviet propaganda posters however. Recently I subscribed to MidJourney and in the span of three days managed to use up about 60% of my month's worth of computer time.

That's not MidJourney's fault, I haven't picked up my camera in days, been playing with the AI instead. Along the way I've made some things I like, some things I find interesting, and some things that my lack of familiarity with the instructions does not suffice to explain. Like Lord of the Rings Arnie. I didn't do that one but the what and why of it so escaped me that I had to upscale it.

I'm a firm believer in the fuck up til you figure it out method of learning and have approached AI art with that ethos. So far it's working great.

So the one above was supposed to be the Hollywood sign on fire. Think this falls into the 'close only counts in hand grenades and tactical nukes' category. It's like it understands the shapes of letters but doesn't quite grasp their relationship to one another.

Maybe it's not just letters... Spent a good bit of time trying to get the perfect cigarette smoking Santa but never quite got there.

Been experimenting with giving it random phrases or series of words just to see what it spits out. Some work better than others, with "missile toes" being the most spectacular example of not working. Just don't tell it anything naughty, like 'squirrel doing cocaine,' because apparently cocaine is banned in AI land too.

Sometimes you just gotta go full word salad. I've seen other people get some amazing results but mine have mostly been in the WTF category. Explanations for the one above would be greatly appreciated.

Space monkeys for Jesus! Seems like everybody is posting their best AI art these days but what I really want to see is the 'something went wrong' stuff.

Anybody else had AI art go awry?

Sort:  

Yea...
I got a Foxgod :D

image.png

An headless sheep.

image.png

🤣🤣🤣

Now I'm curious what prompt you gave it to get foxgod :D

It seems to be good at making things that are almost passable at a glance but then the closer you look the weirder it gets.

Dear AI, show me the one, true, almighty.
It was "foxes in the city" :)
It got some nice ones too, but the Foxgod rocks!

nVRkBl4EVdoqP6QzZAML--grid.jpg

 last year  

All hail fox god!

 last year  

These are certainly some interesting creations! I may give this a whirl in a few weeks to see what it can come up with. It would be fun to have it generate a bunch of images then write posts based on the image.

One thing that’s wild is how much it looks like an oil painting.

Lol, thank you! You should, it's a good bit of fun. That'd be a good way to get around writers block :) Part of the reason I subscribed was I regularly come up with ideas for post topics but have no photos to go with them, can just make something a lot more easily now. Still haven't done that yet but we're getting there.

I know, right? Some of the things I saw people make on there were super realistic but I never managed that.

This cracked me up big time. It's clearly fun and I think you got some great ones for the WTF category for sure. I haven't played with it yet, but you've given me some pointers on what fun it can be if you're creative with the words. Gotta wonder what that AI is thinking about you though in return 🤣 missile toes, classic!

Lol, I was dying playing with some of these, it's been fun. You should give it a try, midjourney lets you play with it a bit before you have to pay and even then the cheap subscription is only $10/month.

Gotta wonder what that AI is thinking about you though in return

Almost scared to think about that 🤣

That's what it gave me for missile toes. It's almost like it didn't even quite know where to start.

 last year  

Top right looks like cock and balls rocket lol

Hahaha yes! AI doesn't do hands either. Midjourney is still a vast improvement on the earlier types. I kinda like santa smoking from his nose

I mean AI doesn't have hands so I could see the concept being a little hard to grasp :) The issues with lettering is what gets me, it obviously understands them on the input side but somehow that doesn't translate to the outputs. I'm kinda scared to think what it was like before. Lol, me too, although the extra almost-cigarette floating by his ear kinda throws me off.