You Can Run But You Can't Hide

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago (edited)

simon-wijers-Rv-kXv1rojw-unsplash.jpg

Now what the hell is this background screening thing? So I'm about to start a new job soonish and I'm still not done with all the hellish ugh! Yesterday I received this form that I need to fill out thoroughly with very specific details about my past.

My previous manager contact info
Home addresses for the past x number of years
People that I buried
Refused entry to a country
Any Act of Violence
Educational Background

etc.jpg

I'm not worried about the educational background and home addresses at all. I'm confident that I won't provide inconsistent information that will cause any alarm. I know my previous nomadic lifestyle is a bit abnormal for regular peeps but still I wasn't refused to any countries. I overstayed somewhere but that was it. I'm now free as a birdie.

I mean I shouldn't be surprised and shouldn't even be ranting about this. I'm perfectly aware that a company checking on you is already an ancient process. They probably just want to know if you are going to be a threat to them and potentially to society overall. I mean this doesn't scare me because I know I didn't misbehave ... did I? I don't have criminal records or was never ever caught doing bad things.

I'm a peace-loving diabolika and trouble is not my middle name. This background screening process should not concern me at all. But I just feel like a lot has changed since 10 years ago (ahh yeah of course duh!). I remember that I used to fill out job application forms putting in a bunch of names and contact numbers for "character references". And of course, I made sure I've already oriented my friends beforehand with what to say (that I work my a$$ off everyday without complaints. And that I'm also smart. And I have a good moral character) in case the background checker calls them.

Nowadays, all these capitalistic firms have been meticulous with the background screening process. I heard that some of them even check all your public profiles including social media. Isn't that downright breach of privacy? Well good thing I've already deactivated most of my social media and public profiles in all job portals. But still, there's no escape from this Orwellian nightmare. It feels like we are under total surveillance all the time. Not that I have something to hide, I just don't feel comfortable at all being checked on in exchange for my soul.

Don't get me wrong, I'm grateful for having a new job now. Okay but honestly, I am a bit worried even though I know I don't have a reason to be. The thing with my last job, even though I was allowed to resign in the end, I didn't have a good relationship with the management during my last days (mainly for being blunt and diabolic). So yeah, I'm a bit anxious that this background screening company might call my last employer and that the managers might badmouth me or something (there's one way to end this... ). Sigh, anyway, overthinking is killing me. I can't control everything so I figure that if things don't work out, them it's time to shop again. It's time to move forward and find a new job who will see my values instead of the number of bodies I've hidden. So I guess, I'll just let things be for now. I learned the hard way that there are absolutely no guarantees in life. And it's always better to have a survival Plan B.

img: @unsplash and etc

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Yeah I hear you on that. The development of the social platforms was to spy on people and make money off it. Zuckerborg was an MIT/CIA graduate. The project he was working on at MIT was the precursor to Fakebook and the day before Fakebook was launched and all that, the project he was involved with at MIT was cancelled without notice and all the staff members let go. The next day or following business day, what ever it was, was the beginning of Fakebook and social media as we know it where people voluntarily divulge information that was historically private and hard to figure out. I don’t look forward to the next job I take and if they ask me that type of stuff. I deleted everything I had on the mainstream platforms and only use hive but I do keep a job website profile going. Get some occasional offers and things to explore so it’s good to keep the feelers out there. I most recently got contacted by a company that I really want to work for but want to take it one step at a time. My job is 110% secure right now so I don’t know if I want to make a move but I don’t want to get stuck in a rut.

I think you’ll do fine, but I get your hesitation. I had one of my professors bad mouth me on a reference check despite him telling me that he would give me a good reference. I was fucking livid!! And the worst part about it was that I had to work with him afterwards and he acted like nothing happened at all. What an absolute dick. I still feel betrayed by him to this day. The shit he said was totally wrong and just a way to not lose me as an employee. Fuckers.

It’s always best to have a backup plan, it’s never good to have to resort to one but we do what we need to! It’s best to be prepared than caught unawares.

I miss the times when me and my friends didn't even have Facebook. We just hang out even if we don't have money - oh college dayz lol!

My job is 110% secure right now so I don’t know if I want to make a move but I don’t want to get stuck in a rut.

I hear you there. With my previous job I felt like I had to quit because of the people who were mentally taxing. And now I'm facing this looming anxiety due to uncertainty. I can't wait to start my new job! I hope everything will turn out fine (background check).

I had one of my professors bad mouth me on a reference check despite him telling me that he would give me a good reference.

So sorry to hear, that sucks! I can't imagine you still had to work with him! You must be so strong. Now I realize that other people have had it worse.

This helps me appreciate what I have.

It's such a pain. For my current job I had to get a police good conduct report from Germany. Since it's Germany the request had to be notarized and pre-paid by bank transfer.

I guess I shouldn't complain. For a previous job I had to list every address for the past 10 years and phone numbers of people who knew me there. I'd been homeless and fairly nomadic so it took days to complete. It would be impossible if I tried it again. My 2 years on the road pretty much prevents me from doing the paperwork necessary for a security clearance.

I thought it's only me who thinks jobs have become stricter these days when it comes to background check!

For a previous job I had to list every address for the past 10 years and phone numbers of people who knew me there.

I will try my best to keep this new job because I think soon they will probably do the same. I really don't have addresses to put the last 10 years. This process makes me feel stuck in a job and a place - unless I really make good money in the future and not having to work again.

Part of my City to City tour is to help me keep track of all the places that I stayed. If I ever have to do that type of paperwork again, I want to have all the info in one place.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more