Sometimes life doesn't work out well

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago

Image on Pexels by Alexander Pasaric

Link to main image

When the next disaster happened to me I had a plan of action in place. I already knew what I was going to do, potentially how much money I will get out when leaving and where I am going next.

Life doesn't work the way your plans does.

Doing their usual magic when the company finally ejected me, they paid out half of what they should have. Justifying it in a way I can only undo with a good lawyer. While they are hoping I won't get a lawyer because the gain won't justify the expense I have to find a way to replace the loss since that is just the amount that would get the thing I actually want to going.

I now needed money to cover the running cost of establishing a self defense school. Even if I started by giving classes at the student's home, I still need to cover some printing, traveling and marketing. Some things simply need to be in place if I were to survive legally.

Plan B came to me, suddenly. I were sitting upright in the middle of the night, combing through events and ideas to find a way to do what I want most. I remembered my son in law made and sold sandwiches to office personnel. He had multiple issues and after ignoring all of the good advice we gave him he gave it up. Or he were just too lazy

I realized, I can do just that. I can make and sell sandwiches in the morning and schedule classes in the afternoon. The sandwiches will keep food on the table and cover the small expenses while I find and sign up students.

The moral of the story. Get a plan B for your life. If you have to use it don't give up if it doesn't work.

If you can't finance it, bootstrap it. The simplest ideas can be the most profitable in the end.

Divider enkel lyn.png

Thank you for reading my post.
I appreciate your support.

I live because I know I will die.
Live life to the fullest.

Sort:  

Not sure if where you live it's possible to earn money by selling scrap metals. Most people don't even contemplate this or haven't even heard about it. It's usually dirty, quite physical, and mostly people keen to the streets do it on small amounts.

Biggest scrap metal company in the world belongs to the Bin Laden family, just a curiosity i thought i might add.

If it's allowed for general public and in small quantities, then money is just waiting for you to pick it up and take it to the scrapyard.

I've been doing this, sometimes as a part-time job, or simply as an honest, ecologic way of earning some cash while getting fit. Separating metals one from another, hammering here and there to get that lil bit of copper... Eventually you'll get in shape. Specially if you go around pushing a shopping cart loaded to the top with lead, iron and some other heavy metals.
Bear in mind, thats not how you're gonna get rich.
Working with a open-top truck or van works out, but u spend gas, so you need to be efficient.

Once you arrive to the scrapyard, you wait your turn, weight the different metals and get paid by the weight.
There's nothing to discuss. 1kg/pound/wtv = $xx.xx
Sometimes the scales are manipulated.. But oh well... Just go to some other scrapyard.
No bosses, no need to apply for the job, anyone can do it as long as they can carry the metals and hold an I. Usually scrap metals can be obtained by salvaging stuff from the garbage or abandoned places.
Regulated prices, no taxes unless you start delivering by the ton. At the same time, you're helping out with the recycling process for this metals.
I could keep going, after all, that's how i learned to survive economically while keeping myself away from bosses and lige sucking jobs.
Even if it's not your thing, i hope it brings some fresh ideas on how to earn some money legally without getting hired by anyone.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for your thoughtful advice @ruralio and thank you for the reblog. I know the scrap industry very well. Around these parts there are lots of scrap collectors.

I am taking your advice to heart though. I'll find a way to stay away from bloodsucking bosses.

 2 years ago  

Great point! Scrapping is definitely a solid income. I would scrap with my dad after some jobs and it was good money for work that people don't really want to do!

 2 years ago  

It's always best to have a plan B and C if you can! Life is full of challenges and the times where we find ourselves in a considerable bind is when we don't have backup plans to take care of us when we need them to I think!

 2 years ago  

Having backup plans helps