Tethered to the bad

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago

20220613_115125.jpg



Last week I came across a post by a chap which stood out, but not in a good way. It was a post into the photography lovers community, run by @derangedvisions, and contained plagiarised images. I headed right over to the fellow's post feed and the first thing I noticed was a post image that said PLAGIARISM in big red letters; the post title was Plagiarism and Content Etiquettes. That piqued my curiosity as the post that I'd first seen was one that included plagiarised images.

I ended up addressing the fellow's plagiarised post with a downvote and left a comment as to why I did so; I also addressed the post on plagiarism as I felt he had no right to earn rewards on the topic considering he was a plagiarist himself. Here's the thing though, the reaction was extremely vitriolic.

Rather than discussing his mistakes with me and determining what he could do better moving forward, he reacted...well, I guess he reacted in an entitled and quite poor manner with comments suggesting that I should shut the fuck up and two posts that say the same thing, as below. Disappointingly he placed them into two different communities which isn't really acceptable in my opinion.


image.png


I am not at all phased by the things he said about me above, they are meaningless coming from this individual, and I've been called far worse by far better than him, but it made me think about the broader ramifications of behaviour such as that displayed by this fellow; the plagiarism and also the reaction to being caught out for being a plagiarist.

I've been around the blockchain for over five years and in that time have seen many come and go. In that time I've also seen the rise of hive-users from particular countries that, initially, were not present. That's great, as we need to build the blockchain and new users do just that. It's difficult though, to get noticed, gain a foothold, build the right relationships and to be sustainable. I know it's difficult because I did it myself when I first started. But I think, through the actions of people such as this chap I refer to above, it becomes even more difficult for those who hail from the same part of the world. They start from a position of disadvantage right away.

I'm not saying that everyone who comes from this fellow's region is doing the wrong thing or would act in a manner unbecoming such as this chap, far from it! I'm saying that behaviours like this can, and probably do, tarnish the reputation of the others by default. Sure, we all base people on their individual merit, but do we?

Unfortunately the actions of the few will invariably become tethered to the many and, in the case of Hive, that will bring uncertainty, caution or outright avoidance from users on accounts they deem as questionable. Perception is a person's reality.

The individual above has been dealt with by my downvotes and that of many others, however several people have said it's likely he'll start another account, if he hasn't already, and continue on his way.

I agree, but that makes me wonder why people from his own country don't take a stand against their compatriots that abuse and rort the system as this user has. Through doing so they would send a message to others who might be thinking (or doing) the same bad practices which would have a positive effect, and it would send a message to other users that the bad behaviour isn't tolerated and not commonplace - I think that may go some way towards demonstrating quality and show care-factor for the blockchain and the rest of the Hive community.

I know there's good and bad right throughout the world and that will be reflected here on the blockchain also. We all have choices to make and the user I refer to above made a few: To Plagiarise, which gives a big fuck you to the rest of the community, to be vitriolic and hateful towards me and to show no ownership of, or remorse for, his bad actions. I also know that not everyone that comes from his part of the world are like that...But I can't fathom why those that do the right thing don't address people like him when they are exposed and why they accept being tethered to the bad when most are doing it right.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

Perhaps because they're worried they'll be attacked with such vitriol as well. I think a lot of people choose to remain quiet rather than risk being the target of abuse themselves. I'd say it's also because it's a small account that hasn't been around that long - perhaps not many people have seen it or, given his post is zeroed out, figure no more action is necessary. I guess it's the bystander effect.

It's been a disappointing week for plagiarism on the blockchain, especially with the other account we all kinda fell in love with and that is now in question.

It's far more courageous to say 'I'm sorry for my mistake' whether it's intentional or not, or voice polite disagreeance, than shirtfront like that with such viciousness. IT does say a lot about the person in question. I've certainly had little hissy fits when I've been reprimanded for unintentionally breaking rules, but I would never speak to anyone like this. I always wonder how his parents have raised him and indeed what the culture is like, especially for men, who seem to the the vast majority of ones who retaliate so aggressively.

Sometimes it's like that game of whackamole here - no sooner than one is dealt with than another pops up in it's place. Focussing on the good folk here keeps me sane, that's for sure.

 2 years ago  

I value ownership and, as you say, a genuine comment taking responsibility and showing remorse, asking how to do it better, will go a long way towards repairing damage, or at least moving things in the right way. It often garners support from me. Vitriol...Well, that clearly does the opposite.

Plagiarism affects everyone on the blockchain as it takes rewards from those who do the right thing and makes the blockchain look like a terrible place, a joke. It should never be tolerated and should be called out by everyone that respects the blockchain.

Just on your comment about reprisal abuse...This is what's wrong with society. People don't stand up against the bad, don't intervene for fear of personal loss...Thankfully some do though, imagine a society in which no one stood tall against bad behaviour. It would be chaos, more chaos than we have currently, I mean.

Plagiarism affects everyone on the blockchain as it takes rewards from those who do the right thing and makes the blockchain look like a terrible place, a joke. It should never be tolerated and should be called out by everyone that respects the blockchain.

Amen!

 2 years ago  

Ah I’m missing the stuff going on! What account was involved in plagiarism?

Thenortherner was the other one.

Ouch. I had even delegated some Hive Power to help him get started. He does this? Delegation removed!

 2 years ago  

I think if the post is muted all comments placed afterwards are also muted. That's my understanding anyway.

 2 years ago  

I remember you recently told me that you do the delegation thing for newbies and it's admirable. The problem is this sort of thing happens, not with all but with some, and that can then taint the situation moving forward for the others. It's a bit sad really as some of them are legitimate and may go on to become valuable members of the community; others like this eloquently-spoken gentleman will not.

Well, I edited the welcome comment and added a new reply. It seems I have also been muted in OCD. Odd.

 2 years ago  

Yep, good plan.

You remember when you said about delegation in response to this post where I asked for opinions about the rewards on my #weekend-engagement concept? This situation is why I don't delegate to new users.

It's always a gamble.

Some are active, but don't create content which interests me. Not their fault. I wish them well.

Some never follow up after posting an introduction, apparently abandoning the platform. Lost keys? Not interested? Hard to say.

A few reveal themselves to be just awful people.

But those few who have the real potential, and make some real effort... I think that possibility makes the rest of the trouble worthwhile.

I'm pretty optimistic for a bitter pessimist.😂

 2 years ago  

I've been there, done that Jacob...I did it for a while, have supported people for a while...These days I pick my mark and am selective. Your optimistic pessimism is a credit; I hope you don't get too abused for it.

It is a lot of work for little gain. I feel like the parable of the sower at times, with little fertile soil to be found. It's one of the reasons I am taking a bit of a break from that project right now.

Wowzers ! I didn't know you were all those things !

😆

It's late, I'm sitting here sipping some coffee called Black Silk and entertaining myself reading a few posts. This is new coffee for me and I think it will not be my favorite ! It is strong, which I don't mind sometimes, but maybe it would be better for a latte than drinking black.

That was a lot of unnecessary potty mouth going on there ! Oh well.... some folks can't take any constructive criticism or advice and just seem to cut off their own noses to spite their face..... and their ability to thrive on Hive.

Takes all kinds I suppose.

 2 years ago  

Wowzers ! I didn't know you were all those things!

A man of many talents it seems. (I don't like to brag.) 😂

This eloquently-spoken gentleman has demonstrated his quality and people will see him for what he is and shy away, or gravitate to him because they value what he has to say. I think more of the former, and less of the latter of course, but I could be wrong; I am, after all, a spermface, so what do I know?

Hmm, hat coffee sounds nice...Black Silk sounds sensual and raunchy. (Don't ask me where that comment came from, I have no clue!) I guess one needs to try different things before one makes a choice on good or bad.

I'm just about to head out and grab some stuff at the supermarket and will get lunch at the same time, a coffee too. My tastebuds are screaming KFC Zinger burger but my head says, warm chicken salad. Lol.

Wow, I am shocked that you had this experience when confronting someone. I wonder if this person behaves the same in real life or just when hiding behind a keyboard.

 2 years ago  

I wonder if this person behaves the same in real life or just when hiding behind a keyboard.

I'm not sure to be honest, but either way, this person is clearly lacking in something within himself, many things probably, and has a lot of lessons to learn.

Imagine being his wife or girlfriend and doing something he didn't agree with? I shudder to think at the treatment she may receive.

He is an entitled, selfish and egotistical little boy and the blockchain is better off without him. The problem is he probably has five other accounts and will be back to do taint the blockchain some more. This is why people like this, the many new accounts that pop up, are untrusted and unsupported.

This person is for sure dominated by their own ego and I also wonder how he reacts in real life. I have a 4-year-old who has similar tantrums and it reminds me of this behavior. Although my 4year old will grow out of this behavior with some guidance. I find it a shame that Hive is being attacked on so many fronts with new accounts and an army of plagiarists intent on farming the rewards pool without putting anything into it. I too am suspicious of new accounts until they increase their reputation a little at first.

 2 years ago  

It's a big problem really and those who suffer the most are the new accounts that need support, but don't get it due to other's being cautious, or just so over the abuse that they wilfully ignore the new accounts. I can't really blame them.

It’s such a bad thing to read and this doesn’t only affect him but all of us having roots of the same destination. It’s such a shame seeing one of us using inappropriate words on this blockchain. I’m not up to a year here and all I’ve done is being careful because I don’t want to fault anyone through my post.

I’ve been hanging around and I’ve been reading post of some of the old guys here learning how everything goes. I won’t say am perfect now but at least am becoming better day in day out.

I’ll end by saying we apologize on his behalf and his mistakes shouldn’t really have a bad image on us all. Thank you.

You don't have to apologize on his behalf as it's not your fault. He's a grownup, he makes his own choices and you're not responsible for him.

 2 years ago  

I agree, a few have issued default apologies; I don't need it and they're not responsible for the actions of another person.

 2 years ago  

The only person needing to make an apology is the individual himself, but he will not, I know that.

There are many respectable and worthy users over your way, not everyone is a low-quality, entitled, selfish person with low self esteem and lower values as is the person that made these comments.

The problem is that the actions of those few bad actors help form a perception with others in the community and that will be difficult to change I think. This is why I don't understand why you folks don't come down hard on account like this, downvote and comment, to show your disgust and put them in their place. It would go a long way towards showing quality if you all strongly denounced those doing the wrong thing. I also believe everyone in our community should be doing the same, not just those few brave enough to hit the downvote button and address those doing the wrong thing.

That makes me wonder why people from his own country don't take a stand against their compatriots that abuse and rort the system as this user has.

Let me just start by saying sorry on behalf of my countryman. My attention to this was drawn by a comment left on my post by @monioluwa.

I'd like to call your attention to the actions of a fellow Hive member who happens to be part of your community in Ghana. He goes by the name "desiigner" or so.
Please try to reach out to him and let him know that his actions will not only affect him but everyone else from this region.

Like I told @monioluwa, I don’t understand why he went to the extreme of using this deranging words when all you were doing was correcting him. We all, especially newbies are subjected to correction and continuous correction because Hive is a big ecosystem and it takes time to get things right. That doesn’t excuse the actions of @desiigner. At this point, the die is cast. He has caused too much damage beyond coming back from, but the least he can do is apologize for going off at someone who was just trying to help. His apology probably won’t mean anything now because he has shown everyone the kind of person he is.

A lot of us are just starting out and like you said, his actions are sure going to affect us inadvertently. I think myself, @zzzinnn and @smariam even participated in your weekend engagement concept last week so maybe you run into us there. For some us, we have already made a few friends and are engaging with a lot of people in the community so maybe for our sakes, the community can see that we’re not all bad and that there’s good among us. To be honest, he’s the only person from around here I’ve seen like this.

Other people from around my area who have seen this are probably going to decide to stay out of this in order to not get pulled into his mess or be struck down by the backlash. Maybe I’m making a mistake myself coming here about this, but I believe that is the right thing to do and here I am. I stand for the right and he is beyond wrong for what he has done. The downvotes and everything thrown at him are justified. But please, if anyone will vet people from around here, vet us based on what you see the rest of us doing, which is nothing less than producing quality and adding our quota to making the Hive Blockchain a better place.

 2 years ago  

The apology is not yours to make, although I appreciate the sentiment. The apology should be made by the person who plagiarised and spat in the face of the rest of the general community through that action. I don't need an apology from him, it would be insincere anyway, I just want him to go away and never return which I'm sure he will.

The damage he, and people like him, cause to those from the same general localities is untold, meaning vast. It is a shame as there are many trying to do the right thing and as you say, they are not all bad. But I think you understand how the perception of it can taint the way the community see others right? It's a pity.

I've addressed others like him and whilst the reactions weren't quite as vitriolic as this person's, the reaction to being caught out and addressed for their bad actions has been consistent, that is, predictably aggressive and unapologetic. I'm sick of it and it certainly goes a long way towards affecting how I perceive others. I tend to base my judgement upon the individual and not generally, although people like this fellow make it a little more difficult to do so.

But I think you understand how the perception of it can taint the way the community see others right?

I do understand, that is why I’m left speechless. I just hope that the rest of us have built relationships and reputations good enough to show the community that we’re different and to not be tainted or be slapped with the backlash of his actions.

 2 years ago  

Most here will generally treat others as individuals and base their opinions on the actions of the individual I think. Sure, there's that general perception scenario of course and that will have an effect but I guess people just need to do what they can to present themselves well and hope that speaks well of them.

I have been thinking about what this guy has done all day long and I still can’t begin to fathom any excuse that could warrant this kind of behavior.
I have checked to unfollow him and it turns out I wasn’t even following him in the first place.

Even though I was the one who introduced him to the hive platform, I did it because I take hive(hive blog) to be a place where I learn more about blockchain and the web3 and I thought it would be great if he joins and also learns.

I’m not aware of this behavior of his and if I were aware, he would have been the last person on my mind to introduce to this platform.

It was already bad enough that he plagiarized but his utterances are just unforgivable.

The damage has been done and our whole community’s name has been tarnished but I hope the hive community won’t let the rest of us who are working hard to build our reputations suffer the consequences of this bad one.

To judge a whole community because of one individual is wrong. Obviously each of us have their own opinion but as far as I'm concerned, I judge each person by their own actions. So mo worries.

Just make sure to guide newcomers and even those that are older here, to avoid this kind of behavior. This should be a collective effort and we're going to have a good community. He's not the first to behave like this, we've seen it before, but it's our responsibility to avoi this kind of behavior in the future.

To judge a whole community because of one individual is wrong. Obviously each of us have their own opinion but as far as I'm concerned, I judge each person by their own actions. So mo worries.

It’s nice to hear this. I thank you for your kindness and not generalizing lot based on one person’s behavior. Hopefully most of the community will share your train of thought and will get back to engaging with our content as normally as before all this.

I would put more measures in place to sieve out whom should join this platform. I will also be giving the maximum education needed to newcomers that I introduce before they start putting any information on here.

Once again thanks for your kind words.

Hopefully most of the community will share your train of thought and will get back to engaging with our content as normally as before all this.

Who's been engaging with you and others before, will do it in the future as well. You haven't done anything wrong, as far as I know, so why punish someone for something that others have done. As long as you stay inside the line of rules, you're fine.

I would put more measures in place to sieve out whom should join this platform. I will also be giving the maximum education needed to newcomers that I introduce before they start putting any information on here.

That would be awesome. I know there are communities on Discord, it would be great to help whoever needs guidance as we're as strong as a community, as the weakest link.

This guy is not the first and definitely not the last, there's always a smart a** that thinks he's entitled to whatever he thinks he's entitled to. It's our job to stop them.

Keep up the good work and you'll be fine.

Duly noted.
Thank you.

Loading...

For the fact that, this user wasn't remorseful is out of it. That was an height of a nonchalant attitude from the so called user who thinks he can have his way through.

So many newbie do not want to go through the effort, but wants to cut corners which is very wrong. You want to make money? Then, you have to work for it, instead of taking someone's artwork or creativity.

For me, I would have done the same thing because I don't like people who plagiarized. It means those ones working the stress out to form quality content are stupid, whereas, they are the ones who aren't making use of their heads. It's uncalled for, especially on a Blockchain like Hive.

Sorry for the wrong words he used on you because you were doing the right thing which he took to be other way for him.

 2 years ago  

I'm not worried about the insults he vomited out at me, like I said, I have been called worse by people that matter far more than this piece of dirt. But his actions, the plagiarism and the way he has dealt with it, reflects on others, by default and pushes people into perceptions that may not necessarily be correct for all and sundry. It's a shame.

Wow. This is shocking. I just went through his post now and the user is not even one of the people I'm following, thankfully. This is the first time I am seeing his posts and good to see that he has been muted in all his posts.

A simple apology would do. I don't want to agree that he didn't know what he did wrong. I believe he knows and he expects people to be okay with it and turn a blind eye. This is sad... Really sad.

This is why it's important to read before joining a platform. I am sure whoever unboarded him must have told him Hive frowns at this. There is no one I bring on Hive that I don't tell the importance of proper sourcing and using your own content. This is not good at all. Rather than respond like a reasonable person he decided to react and made a fool of himself.

Like you have said, it's sad because he would probably have created another account by now under the pretext of a different person and hope to go unnoticed doing the same thing again.

I sincerely have no words and I'm deeply sorry because the action of this one person would rightfully reflect on others but I take solace in the fact that I don't even know him neither have I even followed him. Such a person shouldn't be associated with. It's sad.

 2 years ago  

Actions like this usually demonstrate a person's character and that's exactly what this person did. He had an opportunity to rectify his problem, to learn from the mistake and move forward, but instead he decided to default to his natural state, nothing more than filth.

That's why someone like that can never grow. With an attitude like that? He would be learning from his mistakes a hard way...

I always appreciate your guidance sir and I agree not everyone will take it but for the sake of us that would, please don't stop.

 2 years ago  

People like this fellow will always moan and grumble about getting nowhere in life; they will always blame others, attack others, tear others down...rather than lifting themselves, taking ownership and responsibility for their forward progression. As time passes they will look back and do the same, never for a moment looking at themselves and seeing that they are to blame.

People like him would never look into the mirror. Everything is everyone's fault except their own. This is why not everyone deserves pity because we don't know how terrible they have been with the learning process.

Simply no excuse for this type of behaviour, used to support new arrivals now prefer to support when more established members which is sad, yes once bitten twice shy!

 2 years ago  

Yeah, it was a bit silly when the other course of action, ownership, would have gone in his favour.

I understand the reluctance to support the new members, I have been burnt many times doing so and I'm not willing to do it these days.

Patience runs out as does time, way too quickly! Plenty are doing formal training and assistance, don't want to learn then enjoy the backlash.

 2 years ago  

don't want to learn? Then enjoy the backlash.

Yes indeed.

 2 years ago  

It's not just you. I got into the biggest shit show the other day with some dude defending the plagiarist I explained plagiarism to. He wrote a whole post about me. I wasted a lot of time trying to teach class to a goldfish.

And then this. I wasn't aware that behavior existed here. Maybe it's just me.

 2 years ago  

I just read the exchange and saw how it escalated. I fail to understand why people bother, or feel that they have the right to do so. Sure, everyone can have an opinion but I don't think it needs to be vitriolic.

Humans really are garbage. I'm looking forward to their extinction so the planet and it's fauna and flora populations can recover then get on with things.

Pretty much what riverflows said.

And maybe hoping that some social ostracisation will do the same thing.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Those who plagiarize don't really see the value of Hive/PeakD. They also lack self-respect, and probably have absolutely 0% of originality when it comes to their traits. And when they get caught they also have the audacity to talk shit lol. Pathetic

 2 years ago  

probably have absolutely 0% of originality

Indeed, and certainly no originality when it comes to shit-talking. 😂

People underestimate a good shit-talker, talking shit isn't easy, especially when it's "original" 😂

 2 years ago  

Yeah, this guy is shit at talking shit, and probably just shit in general. Like, runny stinky shit with lumps in it.

and probably just shit in general

Gotta agree with that hahaha. 😂

 2 years ago  

Ah the plagiarism is wild sometimes, especially peoples reactions when you call them out on it lol. People act like they aren’t aware that globally, plagiarism isn’t accepted but it’s been that way for decades, maybe hundreds of years lol. It’s unfortunate but I think the greater harm is that when people get away with that for a while, it leaves an impression on people and it makes it worse.

 2 years ago  

So many nutbags, so little downvote power remaining. It'll recover though.

 2 years ago  

Ah that was a fun interaction on that dudes post lol.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, it was actually. I enjoyed it.