Why I Hate Being A Leader In Every Group Activities?

Good day, everyone. The time check in the writing was already 11 PM, and I was ready to sleep late again. Nothing new, as my system already accepted this unhealthy routine to be more productive. I need to grab this moment to write again, as it is my resting time today after managing our business interview and community immersion. And after I publish this (which is today as of writing), I will do our script in our infomercial.

image.png


I've been out blogging for more than a week because I am engaged with the accomplishments I need to submit for our final term. In the past few days, I admit that I was pretty overwhelmed. One of the things that added more to my busyness is about being a leader in three subjects such as Introduction to Business Administration (BAM 191), Understanding The Self (GEN 002), and Science, Technology and Society (GEN 003). Therefore, as I want to do my regular activities, I must sacrifice them to get good grades. There's a subject code behind those subjects stated, but I decided to use the broader term because I don't want to confuse my readers.

image.png

According to Google, "leader means the person who leads or commands a group, organization, or country." Meaning, I am responsible for leading or commanding them to accomplish our duties. To accomplish the group's duties, an individual must participate and show their skill in contributing to what the group needs to achieve. Sorry to say this, but most of my groupmates are dumb, and difficult catching up. I was not yet starting, but I already thought it would be my source of headache.

IMG_20221126_205933.jpg

Not included in the photo, but I'm the one who directed them

For this final, I am tasked to lead not just one but a total of three groups. I already passed my two missions in managing them, and I just recently assigned what they need to do for our final infomercial requirements. I belonged to four groups, but I'm not the superior in one of the groups I haven't mentioned since it works a whole section. Not a good leader, but every time I am tasked to lead, I will always do my part.

I posted this blog a month ago, and I told her that it's not in my plan to be a leader in our major subject. My professor called me to lead my members, and it seemed I didn't have a choice. Ironic since the highest and best-performing student in SJ 45 will show the underperformed members in the mentioned section. I already know it will be time-consuming and needs a full focus to achieve it. But still, I was crammed because of their irresponsibility.

IMG_20221116_093205.jpg

Business Interview Takeaways

As a leader in our business interview, what are my responsibilities?

  • Scheduled our activities
  • Edited our audiovisual presentation
  • Made 99% of the hardcopy

If you are curious if the schedule I gave was accomplished, I can't say Yes. On the other hand, I finished what our teacher assigned because I didn't have a choice.

In terms of my members, what did they do?

  • Two of them interviewed the business owner
  • Two of them transcribed the exact audio
  • One of them searched for the business that we will interview
  • They didn't do my order to do their parts in the hard copy, so I can only do the editing

Business Interview Struggles

In groupings, we can't always avoid these kinds of people, which more likely affects the performance of the leader's goal, which is to pass the requirement ahead of time. Here are their characters and traits that make it me difficult to attain our goals.

  • Seener - These are the members who only used to "Seen" my messages but are not responding.
  • Not doing their responsibilities - It is still related to the character I previously mentioned. However, their only difference is that this kind of member responds to my messages but does not fulfill their obligation due to personal reasons.
  • The "Later Leader..." When you are expecting something from their work, as they update you that they will pass it later, they fail to fulfill their promises.

I'm a thoughtful person, so I always understand them and why I decided to do their obligation. However, I still need to prioritize other things, such as writing and enjoying my life. Personally, there are two members that I want to remove as they are not responding to my messages. It seems they don't have any plan to participate, as they thought finding a person to interview was already enough.

After I passed our two requirements before the deadline, I disclosed that I would still include them from the group even if they didn't contribute anything from the hard copy. It was very unfair on my part. But as I said, I'm thoughtful, and I gave them the piece which I knew would not spend much time. That's the only consideration I can provide to them. I feel like I became desperate to get their attention.

I said I only joined them in the group because of awe. We had a bit argument (little trouble) in the group chat after I expressed what I felt, and I didn't think twice about defending my side after saying something, which made me a bit upset. They made frustrating and realistic dramas for me, and sorry for not telling it as it seems more controversial> But what about me? Do you think that I'm just playing here? I have the simplest task I know they can do, but I didn't receive any response.

It's easy to say that I prioritized my study over working as they thought my struggle was lighter than their problem. Imagine working on the presentation where I worked for more than three days and sacrificed my personal and work life, but we will only get a fair score because of our emotional problems. But you know, they have made a great contribution to this interview. However, I still find this decision unfair. That's why you can't blame me; I only feel pity for why I chose them.

I have time to do it, yes. But you know what? I am only forced to do it because it is what I promised myself. My parents have high expectations, and I don't want to disappoint them. Sorry if I said it if that's the only thing I can feel. I joined them as I find it a bit unfair. I still appreciate their efforts, so I joined them. Do you think that my emotion is invalid?

Community Immersion

IMG_20221124_144404.jpg

It was good that we could submit it, as most of them participated when I told them that we would interview at a specific time. I also ordered them to join me in creating the soft copy in the computer shop, and I'm so happy that most of them participated. I want to write it in my upcoming blogs if I have enough time.

Infomercial

image.png

This is the last and is currently in the making. I plan to invite them to the house this weekend to film our part in more uniform. I asked permission from my parents as I invited them to the group activity, and she agreed. It's not in my nature to invite our classmates, so I guess that is the reason she didn't attempt to disagree. Meanwhile, I made a favorable alternative on our side, knowing they can do it. I hope I can write it in some time.


Screenshot_2022-11-26-21-28-50-981_com.miui.gallery.jpg

Screenshot_2022-11-26-21-28-58-206_com.miui.gallery.jpg


As you know, I've been out blogging for about almost two weeks due to busyness. Not only inactive in Hive, but in read.cash site too. But as you see, I didn't aim to forget taking random and will tell behind those stories in some time. Sorry if the blogs I will write in the upcoming days happened two weeks late. The only thing that I could do through the days while I was away in writing blogs is to write short posts in DBuzz and Noise.


image.png

Anyway, thank you for reading, everyone. This is my entry for (the name of community). I hope you are all doing fine. Always remember that there's no enough reason to give up as long it is still visible that there's still hope. For more microblog and blog updates, follow me on these accounts.

noise.cash and noise.app: boringwriter
read.cash: kingofreview
All Hive Accounts: iamboring

Sort:  
 last year  

A quality of a good leader I think is one that knows the shortcomings of the people around them but tries to bring them up and together so that everyone’s strengths are brought out. I think instead of saying they are dumb or not good or helpful, try to figure out what they are good at and work on strengthening the group to bring out each persons strengths.

This certainly doesn’t always work but it helps shape a good leader I think.

try to figure out what they are good at and work on strengthening the group to bring out each persons strengths.

That's what I said to them. Some of them are busy at work and not participating when I initiated a brainstorming. Nonetheless, they still did a great job!

Hahaha... that's why after college I stopped being a leader. I've been doing it since grade school to college so I'm so done. 😂

Ah student life. Good luck. You can do it! That's a good way to learn how to be a better leader in the future. Experience is the best teacher.

Imagine, if being a group leader is hard, what more if someone becomes a teacher? And also how about being a mayor and so on and so forth. It is not easy to lead many people. It takes time, experience and good communication. Plus we all have the internet now, everyone can find tips on how to be an effective leader instead of a boss. 😉

I just did being a leader when I was in SHS. I improved so much throughout the years! Yeah, it's hard to lead, especially your classmates are struggling to participate in what I tasked. I wish that I could improve more in regards to leadership!