Think Caffeine #64 : Making a Mess

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago

Been a long time I made a mess..

draw3.jpg

I don't recall how long has it been since I digitally draw, paint, or even create art. Maybe it's been about a year, maybe more. About a few days ago, I got myself cheap brushes and also watercolor. I know that there are many great artist on Hive, so sharing this is actually a bit embarrassing.

My mom told me that the thing I made above was not that great compared to something I made years ago when I was in elementary school and even during my middle school. Here's a comparison today vs 9 years ago.

draw1.jpg

draw2.jpg

I like sunflower so I was thinking to draw it. I use unsplash as reference to draw them. There are plenty great sunflower picture but that's the best I can come up with.

draw4.jpg

For the first time after weeks, I feel so happy making this mess.But before this, I was coloring a book that I got from a box cereal. So, I was already mixing some colors. And well, though I was not satisfied with it, I can always try again tomorrow. Especially that I need to find eraser. I suppose with erase, the sketch would turn out better than this.

draw5.jpg

To me, making a mess a.k.a spending my time creating something is therapeutic. I should have done this sooner but again, sometimes I am too lazy to act out on my wish list.

draw6.jpg

I wish to be able to paint using watercolor without the need to give a black marker to the edges. I like to give a black marker to everything I made cause it made the picture more visible. There's certainly room for improvement from this 8th grader painting. But yes, today the point is, my mood is lifted. Maybe next time when you are sad, try drawing or painting?

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

No need to be embarrassed, just be happy that you did get back to it. :)

I am smiling because it always amazes me how much I have in common with ppl I don't know. You remind me of myself, even though we come from different places and are some years apart.

I thought about "painting" again too, but standing in front of the only available water colors at the supermarket I went cheap on them and passed in the end. I just don't feel it anymore even though it comes in my mind once in a while. I draw a Koi fish lately while being on the phone but that's about it.

And by the way, take a look at some famous artists, your "8th grader" painting is not worse than what some of them are creating...art is a matter of opinion 😉...and the black lining...could have been me 😄.

 3 years ago  

I hope one day you'll feel the urge to make some mess :D I am honestly running out of options for cheap hobbies and entertainment that I can try. If I were to have more means, I'd definitely do something else such as 3D printing and 3D designing. But oh well... everything in life takes money and time xD

Thank you for the compliment too! I seriously need to get eraser again so I can draw something else. Cheers and have a great day!

 3 years ago  

I hear ya, José is into 3D as well, it was always a wish of him, but yeah its all about money somehow. Have a great day too, and sry for being a little...hmmm...maybe annoying by mentioning you...what you do is just worth to be mentioned once in a while 😄.