Learning about Ecency and cursing about taxes

It is LATE right now for me. I'm not even sure how I'm physically awake. I'm not even sure IF I'm physically awake, but some of that might be the weed and booze. Anyway, I'm here, and I just finished slogging through a juggernaut of an auto repair post, and apparently I need to wind down from that, so here I am getting some things done at almost 2 in the morning, like I was 25 again. Or even 35.

I shouldn't be up so late, it's going to interfere with me getting things done tomorrow, like paying my taxes. I'm choosing to pay my taxes this year, and if I get it done before the end of the month, I'll save on a pretty hefty fine. I've always paid my taxes late, because I can make more money by investing that money than they charge me in late fees, up until they start charging foreclosure fees. It used to be I only had to pay every 3 years with this scheme, but last year (or the year before) they started charging me an extra penalty EVERY year, so the math is less favorable. My taxes aren't that high, and I don't make a ton of money for doing them late, but a few hundred buck is a few hundred bucks, especially if it doesn't cost me anything in labor time.

I shouldn't be up so late, but it's okay. I'm still not finding as much screen time as I would like (is that a fucked up problem to have?), and I am still using this time pretty well. I've been wanting to see if I can schedule posts from Ecency, and it turns out that I can. I found out that I can also post simultaneously to a community and to my blog, which I don't think I could do before. Still not an easy option for changing the cover photo, so PeakD is keeping a lead there. PeakD doesn't let me schedule, while also simultaneously posting to a community AND my blog, so that's a little strange and annoying, have to try that on Ecency. Ecency DOES gives me a bunch of points for using their interface to post, so I like to send at least a few from here. Not that I'm using Ecency points for anything at the moment, but if you hadn't noticed, I'm the kind of guy that picks up EVERY penny I see.

I don't care it's head's up or not, if I found money, that was good luck. Head's up, or heads up? Who cares, that did it, I'm sleepy NOW.

The post scheduling seems to be working out great so far. The screen time I'm missing the most is for content creation, but I'm getting better at making time for it, and I have a few day's queue scheduled, so that isn't awful. I'm still not scheduling rants at the moment. I prefer to leave them randomly, like fruit falling from a tree that makes you wonder, 'Is that worth picking up and eating?'

I'll keep it short tonight. If the Hedge Witch sees me coming to bed tonight, she's going to think I'm sleepwalking. It feels weird posting under 600 words outside of D.Buzz, is that normal? Probably just the exhaustion talking.

Stay safe and ready out there, kids!

Sort:  

Scheduled simultaneous posting is a success! Ecency definitely wins that battle!

 3 years ago  

PeakD Ecency Blog I'm getting confused with all the Dapps or what they are called. I'm using PeakD, wondering if I should check out the other stuff, but what for lol...now I just confused myself and it is noon here lol.

 3 years ago  

I do 95% of this with Ecency.

It can be a tad daunting. Ecency is great for earning extra tokens, and their mobile app is definitely the best way to go on cheap mobile devices. PeakD is still my favorite when I'm at my desktop, but it's too crowded on my little phone.

I recommend checking out the other front ends, if you have some time to kill. For me, it's been a great way to explore the features of Hive.

 3 years ago  

I enjoyed reading that Paradoxtma. It's early so reading something shitty right now would suck, you delivered.

I think it was me who was preaching Ecency at you in the first place. Yeah man, scheduling.. communities, all that stuff.

What do you mean changing the cover photo? I'm seeing people these days assign different images other than the first one seen as a cover, is that what you're talking about?

I don't understand misleading cover images

It was indeed you who first pitched Ecency at me. It's my go-to on mobile, but I still lean toward PeakD on my desktop.

I was indeed referring to seeing a photo other than the first one as the cover photo for a post. PeakD had a nice easy option for that now, though I haven't seen if it actually works yet. If I remember right, I'll find out shortly.

Glad I didn't wreck your morning, my karma ledger is enough of a mess already 🤣

 3 years ago  

You can also post to your blog as well as the community with PeakD. I've got this post queued up and it lets me do it, though I often don't include it in my blog. I don't really like the difference between the two!

image.png

Taxes are a pain in the balls, especially when it comes to the crypto taxes as well. We've paid them every year but this year is our first year paying on them. I've made, on the books, a fair amount more than the cost of paying back taxes. Not bad but still a pain.

The schedule post option has been great! I use it very often, when I have the time to write multiple posts. I love it, and with some of the other front ends it doesn't show you what you have scheduled so that's a little tedious. Thankfully it's limited to Leo and some of the others that I don't post in too often.

I like the easy slider that PeakD has for simultaneous community/blog posting, but they said the feature is not supported for scheduled posts when I tried it. With PeskD, I have to schedule the post for just the community, then add them to my blog after they've posted. Ecency lets me do that all at once now

I was referring to property taxes in my post, though I have done similar juggling with income tax in the past, and probably will again in the future. Much of the rest of the country doesn't have the same property tax burden we have here in NY, where about 5% of my gross income goes to paying the taxes on my modest home and land. By paying late and investing the money, I usually make enough cover at least 10% of that cost.