Knowing (Plus word games with my girls)

So what happens, when you ask your daughter to choose a word, that can be used as a prompt. It’s been another busy day and I really want to just wind down, by writing. My brain goes blank when I try to think of something and blank is not really a topic I feel compelled to write about.

1621B1EC-212C-43A3-A8B9-A6219822CDC2.jpeg

My eldest screams out “peanut butter”, hmmm I’m not too keen on that one. Peanut butter is something that she just randomly says ever now and then, I guess it’s just her thing. It certainly is one of her favorite things to eat.

How about “if” she calls to me, “I’m not sure you really get what I’m trying to do”, I reply. But she does, she’s just trying to play with me, so we focus on words that leave little to the imagination, like ‘the’ and ‘at’. But I wanted something more inspiring.

So all my girls chime in and suddenly, there are so many words flying about. My youngest insists I write about hope, my eldest says abuse but then quickly changes to tea cups. Quite a jump, I must say, which I find quite intriguing.

Then my youngest suggests that I write about ‘lighting up the world’. Which is more than one word, but it certainly inspires me. She says this as she turns on some fairy lights that hang above our beds. Bathing the truck in a warm light.

Then generosity is put forward, followed by heart. Hmmm, where to start really. It fascinates me, where these words have come from, why they have chose them. But as I sit here writing them all down, along with my thoughts, they fall asleep and I am left not knowing why.

B3A6DD53-F5F5-4F7C-B062-C14459061BCB.jpeg

And then it hits me, “knowing”, now that’s a word that packs a punch these days. Because let’s be honest, what do we really ever know? They say, that the wisest people, are those who admit to knowing nothing. Perhaps it is the letting go, of needing to know, that makes them wise.

I like to be informed, so that I can grasp what is happening in the world around me. But sometimes that desire to know, to get to the bottom of things, can do more harm than good. Especially when we obsess over it. I’ve seen it happened, friends who get caught up in the need to proof that they are right, that they know more or are closer to the truth.

It’s healthy to be inquisitive, to keep asking questions, it’s something we need to encourage in one another. Just don’t let it take over, to the point where you disengage from your own life. Where you forget, what it means to actually live.

I guess it’s about knowing when to stop, to remember to keep smelling the roses, so you don’t lose sight of what is really important.

I get it, in this age of disinformation and with so much, finally coming to light. It can be quite easy to get swept up in the knowledge that is finally, being shared. But there are so many versions of the truth that have been woven together. That I think we really need to think about, how it is that we really know something?

For me, it is a feeling, a strong sense that I experience, where I just know if something feels right or wrong. It’s my gut instinct and I have always trusted it. But I am also aware that we can be heavily influenced by all that we consume, so I would love to know, what does it mean to know something?

FE273D2B-CC13-411D-BF44-B0CA175691CC.jpeg

A5D3865C-A52A-409F-AA54-CECA12E8A368.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice post, made me think about the things....the truth and what i really know....
Well to me seems like knowing something is really acknowledge the thing exist....and only proof i need is to my brain/heart/spirit is telling me - yeaah thats seems to be right...but at the same time if i have that knowledge doesnt mean i do believe in it...also i have more feelings knowing that something is wrong and i do believe in that....
Knowing something is strong feeling we all have that at some stage, we should not ignore it but also we should not fall into the trap.....we should stay open minded and always be open to change/expand our knowledge....
Over the years i've notice that if you know more and more you actually dont know more and more...sounds funny but its true....
We wont be able to know everything and go to the bottom of each rabbit hole and that is the truth to me....we should focus on the things that are influencing our lifes and work on them to change for better....know whats happening but do not believe, be prepared to change your plans according to the situation, do not stick to the path you know...go with the flow and the world will work with you together....you will get through...
In current world there is so many so called truthers that trying to make money on the truth/knowledge by making click bit headlines and trying to get your attention...you need to be very careful with all the information and do your own research.....
but at the end of the day we need to live our lifes to the fullest, we need to know how to be a human, interacting with other souls...restricting your access to the internet defo helps with that.....
Peace and Love!
In Lak'ech!

Our belief can also bring things into existence, our thoughts are that powerful, so what you believe in is really powerful, hence this desire to control our thoughts, with heavy propaganda. It´s an interesting time to be alive, all gloves are off now I think x

 last year  

It’s remarkable what the little ones will do when we ask them things like this. Going from abuse to tea cups is quite a jump lol.

Knowing is certainly a good thing but I agree that we need to take it with a grain of salt. We can’t know it all so knowing enough to be satisfied is important I think. We can’t know the ins and outs of everything but if we can manage to have enough information about a particular topic or thing, I think it’s enough to get by without being clueless or a savant.

Some people have such a strong need to kn ow, that sometimes they settle for things too easy almost. There is so much information out their now, to keep everyone distracted really. The main thing is what we are doing right now, how we are living our lives. Whilst also being informed.
Cheers @cmplxty xxx